We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“in fact big disappointment”
Review of Residenza Castelli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residenza Castelli
Ranked #124 of 675 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“in fact big disappointment”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We chose the place because of good opinions and room descriptions. It was a mistake. The room looked completely different, was very small, withe microbathroom. It was impossible to close the window completely. Their maids enterd our room twice without knocking. Good things: location, location, location. And a very nice manager - a person who greated us at the beginning.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tp1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    62
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
142
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
144 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed for one night during a 2 week trip to Italy. It was our nicest accommodation during this particular trip. Booking was easy and efficient. I had emailed a couple of properties the night prior and Residenza Castelli promptly returned my email that evening. We drove to Florence from Umbria. The guest house was a bit tricky to locate, but the staff were available by phone to assist. We had secured two rooms and both were large, clean and nicely decorated. The location was amazing. The only negative was not all the jets in our shower worked correctly. I would definitely return to this hotel, however.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank spazgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Great location, just a couple minutes from the Ponte Vecchio, but on a quiet side street. There is no front desk, but checking in and out was a breeze. The folks who run the hotel were timely and wonderful. The room was spotless and a good size for Florence.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricS33037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The room, service and location were fantastic. Very kind, friendly, caring and helpful staff.
Super clean, modern facilities with everything you need. Because of its wonderful location just a stone throw from Ponte Vecchio Bridge, however, the only one small issue was that it tended to be slightly noisy at night and a lot of trucks in the early morning bringing deliveries to the stores. I was there 5 nights and got used to it after the first night. But if you are a heavy sleeper then it wont be a problem.

Room Tip: Rooms farther from the main street will be quieter. (There are only 6 rooms in the entire facility)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This our first time in Italy. My wife and I loved this hotel. It's tucked away in a courtyard across from a beautiful church just off a main street that leads to EVERYTHING. The staff was amazing. They recommended some of the best food that we had on our whole trip. The staff went out of their way to help us print tickets and get a taxi and were always very nice and excited to help. This place is perfect for first timers to Italy. We speak very very little Italian so we were glad that this place is run by people that could speak english- (and help us a little with our Italian!). Super fast wi-fi and a unique shower.
We could tell that one of the owners were very proud of this place because they seemed to have thought of everything to make our stay as easy as possible. Not fancy- just clean and modern and overall good vibes. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I booked this hotel via booking.com at around 10.30pm. The hotel replied to my email before 8am the next morning confirming my booking and providing directions - fantastic.

Got to the hotel, and was welcomed by 2 friendly young staff members. We were early so they took our bags, gave us lots of advice and maps and we popped out until the room was ready. The location is superb right in the heart a mere stumble from Ponte Vecchio but neing tucked up a little square you feel away from the hustle and bustle.

Our room was located behind the reception, small but perfectly formed. We had a view of the church across the square and whilst we were there we could hear an opera singer performing - lovely. The room is well decorated and equipped with fantastic toiletries and snacks. Snacks galore in fact and a kettle (for all those little Englanders) for making your own breakfast.

Apart from not being able to work the tv (someone had turned it off at the mains and there wasn't a remote to change the source so therefore it would not display Sky) I cannot fault this place. Again on check out they were super helpful. Other hotels better watch out!

Room Tip: We had the room behind reception which was private and had a fabulous view across the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londonbornandraised
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2013

If you would like to be in the walking distance from all historical and culture places, this is the perfect place to be accommodated. It is a little bit difficult for visitors with cars to get close to the place , but if you contact very helpful staff, they will arrange the garage and help you to transfer the luggage. Our big thanks to Lorenzo and his reception staff!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12michaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
#170 of 422 in Florence
404 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#77 of 422 in Florence
592 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Della Signoria
Hotel Della Signoria
#48 of 422 in Florence
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
La Torre dei Salterelli
La Torre dei Salterelli
#43 of 675 in Florence
164 reviews
Uffizi
B&B Olga's House
B&B Olga's House
#128 of 675 in Florence
208 reviews
Uffizi
Soggiorno Antica Torre
Soggiorno Antica Torre
#207 of 675 in Florence
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Castelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Castelli

Property: Residenza Castelli
Address: Piazza Santo Stefano 1, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 675 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residenza Castelli 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residenza Castelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing