We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab place in the middle of it all”
Review of Duomo View B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Duomo View B&B
Ranked #425 of 675 Florence B&B and Inns
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“fab place in the middle of it all”
Reviewed 28 June 2011

The first thing about this hotel was the location 4 floor above the main street (no cars allowed). Our room was at the back of the street so was very easy to sleep. the accomadation was great good size room with breakfast served in the room. the shared bathroom was perfect, we never bumped into anyone and had to wait! the room was clean and the host was great. showing us good places to go and offering advice too.

The best thing about the hotel was the Duomo was straight on the doorstep and for the great value price of the room it was definately more than i was ever expecting!!!

overall a great place to stay and would recommend to everyone!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimberleycrispe7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    61
    22
    10
    17
See reviews for
22
124
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Very welcoming owners, fluent in Italian and English. We were made very comfortable in our room, especially the comfortable bed and bountiful breakfast. The location offered a high view of the Baptistry and Duomo. We were central to many of the sites in Florence and so it was easy to get around. The rooms double as art galleries, and are very spacious. The bathroom facilities are clean. I'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Read the reviews critically!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leonardicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2011

The B&B Duomo View was centrally located in the heart of Florence city and accessible to most galleries and other sight seeing spots within 5 - 15 minutes walk. There was an elevator which helped getting up to the 3rd floor especially with our bags and my aged mother. We were given a room facing the duomo and cathedral which was great. Although, you must be prepared for the noise that may carry as many young people like to hang on at the square. After the first night you should get the hang of it. Food was also at each corner, so that was easy. People in Florence are friendly and I would probably rate it the best city in Italy to-date from my entire tour of Italy. Our host Fillipo was excellent and spent time giving us first hand orientation of the place as well as arranged our reservations to the museums at no extra charge. The breakfast provided was plentiful as well. Thumbs up Fillipo for your kind gesture.

Room Tip: Rooms wit the view of Duomo comes some noise level
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

This bed and breakfast is the perfect spot to stay! The location cannot be any better, as youre in the heart of the action right when you walk out the front door. There is the market right around the corner, and the best gelato right down the street!

The room was great with a private little balcony (though a chair would ne nice to sit out there). The bathrooms were clean as well, always a must!

The beat part was the hospitality. Our host took the time to make us feel like we were family during our stay and pointed out places of interest in detail on the map. The breakfast comes into your room at the requested time in the morning and it is just great!!

I can't recommend this place highly enough!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingcat86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2011

This B&B doesn't just have a "Duomo View", it is literally located in the middle of Piazza San Giovanni. Our room looked directly on to the Duomo - it was stunning. You couldn't ask for a better location! It is worth noting that the Piazza is a buzz with people until the wee hours of the morning, so light sleepers may find the location a bit noisy (personally, I wasn't bothered by it).

Breakfast consisted of pastries, cookies, toast, juice and choice of coffee/tea/hot chocolate - a good start to the day. Finding the B&B is not difficult - less than a 10 minute walk from the train station.

Iilippo was a very helpful and friendly host throughout our four night stay. Returning to our room late one night to find a complimentary bottle of wine in our room was an unexpected, delightful surprise! Thank you for the memorable stay!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mda007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Duomo View for 2 nights. The hotel is located in the Piazza San Giovanni, which is where the Duomo is located. You are minutes walking distance from pretty much all major sites and it is about 30 mins walk (but there is a bus that runs, but you will still have to climb the steep slope of steps to get to the top) to Piazzale Michelangelo which will give you a stunning panoramic view of the city.

The hotel itself is very quaint, but the room we had was massive!! There were what appeared to be smaller rooms, but I can only judge based on the one we had. It was decorated fairly modernly.

Service was wonderful and the gentlemen who runs the hotel was very friendly. Breakfast is included and is served to you in your room (which we found wonderful). It is typical European style breakfast - hot fresh pastries, rusks, juice, and your choice of coffee, tea or chocolate milk and various jams. However, it is one man serving 5 rooms breakfast (one morning all guests wanted breakfast at 8:30 a.m.). If you are in a hurry you may want to ensure a 5-10 mins leeway in order to get breakfast in time. But really, who is in a hurry in Florence! Breakfast is only available between 8:30 and 10:30 (maybe 11, not sure 100% positive).

Our stay was wonderful and we really enjoyed the hotel. Great location with a great value!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissRis13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2011

My other half and I just got back from a trip to Florence and we stayed at the Duomo View. We flew to Pisa and then got the train to Florence - which really couldn't have been easier, even for one non-Italian speaker and one thinks-he-can-but-actually-can't- Italian speaker. We decided we would walk to the hotel to stretch our legs and see what we could see on the way. Found the Duomo easily, but we did struggle to find the hotel. It wasnt signed very clearly from the outside, but there were lots of helpful vendors around and one even rang the hotel for us to get directions, which was very kind indeed. When we found the hotel, we were rather impressed (nb, lots of steps or a rickety looking lift to the 3rd floor of the building!). The gentleman on the desk was lovely, very helpful and friendly. We were shown to our room which, sadly, didnt have a view of the Duomo, but it did have a small balcony. Room was clean and bright, even having to my great relief a hair dryer. We went straight out for food and more exploring, and when we got back we fell into bed and because the room was at the back of the hotel, it was quiet and we slept soundly. I neednt have worried about sleeping too long though, I somehow didnt consider the huge cathedral and bell tower right beside the hotel which woke us nicely at 8am! We both had a shower, the shower room beside our room was adequate, but the one near reception was much better. Breakfast was great, brought to our room and lots of choice, rice cakes, croissant, pain au chocolat, crisp bread etc etc and coffee, well worth the extra 10 euros we paid. We were glad we were up early enough to be in the shared shower room first however,as it did look at bit manky as we were leaving after lots of use. It had a fabulous location, (as suggested in the name). Overall, great little b and b and a fantastic price! Would deifinately stay again! :)

Room Tip: Amazing location, suberb price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma_190983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
B&b Casa di Dante
B&b Casa di Dante
#388 of 675 in Florence
65 reviews
Duomo
Bed and Breakfast di Piazza del Duomo
Pitti
Promenade
Promenade
#505 of 675 in Florence
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
San Frediano Mansion
San Frediano Mansion
#318 of 675 in Florence
222 reviews
Duomo
Al Duomo
Al Duomo
#320 of 675 in Florence
181 reviews
San Lorenzo
Soggiorno Pezzati Daniela
Soggiorno Pezzati Daniela
#237 of 675 in Florence
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duomo View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duomo View B&B

Property: Duomo View B&B
Address: Piazza di San Giovanni 6, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #425 of 675 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Duomo View B&B 1.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located, overlooking the most beautiful side of Piazza San Giovanni, the Duomo View B & B is the ideal place to stay in Florence.Located in the beautiful new pedestrian area of ​​Piazza Duomo, B & B is located less than 15 minutes from the train station Santa Maria Novella and from the bus terminal and Terravision, the airport is reachable by taxi or with our private transfer in about 20 minutes.Also the main monuments and historical sites of the beautiful Florence, are less than 20 minutes' walk away in no one can, in fact, reach the Uffizi, the Accademia Gallery and the Ponte Vecchio and Palazzo Pitti.A 'contemporary atmosphere surrounds guests in the large rooms, most of which have views of the facade of the Duomo of Florence, with its precious marbles, Brunelleschi's Dome and the Baptistery of San Giovanni. Weekly in the summer season, guests will have exclusive access to one of the most unique terraces of the city during the manager's cocktail.The whole room is decorated with contemporary art exhibitions of photography or hosting young talent from Tuscany, all on their first solo exhibition. The property, in fact, want to offer a space for all those young talents who do not always have the opportunity to be able to show their works to the public.The B & B CATHEDRAL VIEW is also the only one to offer premium services at low cost prices.For travelers, a new concept of exclusivity[Nggallery id = 1]Its history dates back to the end of the fifteenth century.The building was part of the archbishop's palace, in fact the front of it was demolished to make room for the view of the Baptistery. Then later became part of the building work of St. John, who is the former parsonage of the opposite Baptistery of St. John, in fact, stillToday you can see on the inside of the rough and the courtyard that retains the characteristics of the fifteenth century.The environments in his time were important part of the reception of models ecclesiastical canons of his time.Located in the beautiful new pedestrian area of ​​Piazza Duomo, B & B is located less than 15 minutes from the train station Santa Maria Novella and from the bus terminal and Terravision, the airport is reachable by taxi or with our private transfer in about 20 minutes.Also the main monuments and historical sites of the beautiful Florence, are less than 20 minutes' walk away in no one can, in fact, reach the Uffizi, the Accademia Gallery and the Ponte Vecchio and Palazzo Pitti.A 'contemporary atmosphere surrounds guests in the large rooms, most of which have views of the facade of the Duomo of Florence, with its precious marbles, Brunelleschi's Dome and the Baptistery of San Giovanni. Weekly in the summer season, guests will have exclusive access to one of the most unique terraces of the city during the manager's cocktail.The whole room is decorated with contemporary art exhibitions of photography or hosting young talent from Tuscany, all on their first solo exhibition. The property, in fact, want to offer a space for all those young talents who do not always have the opportunity to be able to show their works to the public.The B&B Duomo VIEW is also the only one to offer premium services at low cost prices.For travelers, a new concept of exclusivity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Duomo View B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duomo View Bed And Breakfast
Duomo View Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing