We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sexy modern hotel a bit out of town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Starhotels Michelangelo
Ranked #130 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Great hotel with an ultramodern, lowlit lobby that makes you feel like James Bond and a great breakfast. A bit of a walk to the important sites of the historical center but the city bus C this departs from practically outside takes you there in just a few minutes. Ideally placed for Fortezza da Basso, Cascine. The rooms are generously sized and very comfortable. The wifi had major problems when I was there which compromised work I had to do, though.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank MegaraMcT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for spending your time in describing the stay in our Starhotels Michelangelo. We’ve shared with all the staff your good impressions and comments, which help us to do always the best in our work. We’ll expecting to see you again.

Best regards.
Gaetano Gatti – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (823)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 175 of 823 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed here during business for 3 nights in June 2014. From the outside, the hotel leaves a lot to be desired and doesn't present the best vibe. However, the inside and especially the rooms, more than make up for it. Friendly staff, very large room with modern amenities, a King bed, a sitting area, and a Huge bathroom. Breakfast was European standard; staff was very friendly - special kudos to the bartender.

Only negative is the hotel is quite a walk away from city center and the historic era near Ponte Vecchio. But it is walking distance (about 1/3 of a mile or so) from the Train Station at Santa Maria Novella. This is the only thing preventing me from giving it 5 stars.

Room Tip: Try for a corner room - they seemed to be the largest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,
we thank you very much for your kind review of our hotel. We are happy that you’ve valued positively the experience by us.
We’ve shared with all the staff your good impressions, which help us to do always the best in our work.
We sincerely thank you for your time and hope to have the possibility of welcoming you once again in Starhotels.

Best regards.
Gaetano Gatti - General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel during a brief visit to Florence. It was a great place and we really enjoyed the room and the breakfast. This was an add-on trip to a business trip I took to the south of Italy (Naples). Hotel was a bit of a hike from the train station (about 1 mile) but we found it fine using maps. After resting, the walk was not bad at all to Piazza Santa Maria Novella, where a lot of sites and eateries are located.

Had a nice view of the main road and a light rail system, but the noise was not present inside the room. There are a few small shops and eateries nearby for snacks or burgers.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Guest,
I’m glad to hear that your stay here in our Starhotels Michelangelo was pleasant and measured up with your expectations. We are proud of it and happy to have contributed to making your stay in our beautiful city a memorable one.
We thank you very much for choosing us for your stay and we hope to welcome you again once again in Starhotels.

Best regards,
Gaetano Gatti – Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The bed was comfortable, and breakfast was really nice. they had an Air conditioner which actually worked ! unusual for Europe.All in all a great location too. We enjoyed our stay there. We came in with Globus tours and were treated really well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest,
I thank you a lot for the positive comment regarding your stay in our Starhotels Michelangelo. Your comment makes us feel so proud and helps us to do all our best to enhance the quality of our service. We are waiting for you in one of our hotels of the chain.
Best regards,

Gaetano Gatti – Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

This was part of a tour package, so I cannot comment on whether the price is reasonable, but it certainly was a very comfortable hotel and we enjoyed our stay. The rooms were a little more spacious than in Rome, and the windows open for fresh air. The staff was exceedingly nice from servers at breakfast, to bar, to front desk. A little out of the way of the city center, but the trolley stop is right in front, or it is a quick taxi ride for about 7 euros, or a longer walk along the river Arno. There is at least one great ristorante, Paperorosso, just two blocks away, on Montebello and Garibaldi

1  Thank ellenh63
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
General M, General Manager at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Guest,
I’m glad to hear that your stay here in our Starhotels Michelangelo was pleasant and measured up with your expectations. We are proud of it and that makes us to do always the best in our job. We thank you very much for choosing us for your stay and we hope to welcome you again once again in Starhotels.

Best regards,
Gaetano Gatti – Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

A very good hotel at Florence and I must have been lucky to get the room at a very good price or they must be selling low. It's a star hotel and is very close to the station while the location of the hotel is away from the hustle and gives a good feel of the beautiful Tuscan city. The hotel is a bit far off from the historical centre but considering Florence to be a small city, you are never too far off and can be covered even by walking. However, you have the tram and bus stop right near the hotel. Reception staffs are very courteous and truly serves with a genuine smile especially the lady who took care of my check in. The room was very good, modern and the breakfast was a good elaborate spread. I will surely recommend staying in this hotel

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank kaushik76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest,
I thank you a lot for the positive impression regarding your stay in our Starhotels Michelangelo.
Your comment makes us feel so proud and helps us to do all our best to continuously enhance the quality of our service. We are waiting for you in one of our Starhotels.

Best regards
Gaetano Gatti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I recently had a very enjoyable 3 night stay. The hotel has good sized, clean, quiet rooms and the excellent wifi connection made my stay easier. Breakfast was good too. I walked to most of the attractions from here but there was also a bus stop nearby and a tram stop almost in front, only one stop away from the central train station.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for spending your time in describing the stay in our Starhotels Michelangelo. We’ve shared with all the staff your good impressions, which help us to do always the best in our work. We’ll expecting to see you again in Starhotels.

Best regards
Gaetano Gatti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze
NH Firenze
#91 of 410 in Florence
1,132 reviews
AC Hotel Firenze
#159 of 410 in Florence
1,235 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze Anglo American
NH Firenze Anglo American
#119 of 410 in Florence
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Starhotels Tuscany
#105 of 410 in Florence
780 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
c-hotels Ambasciatori
c-hotels Ambasciatori
#267 of 410 in Florence
135 reviews
San Lorenzo
Mercure Firenze Centro
Mercure Firenze Centro
#99 of 410 in Florence
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Michelangelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Michelangelo

Address: Viale Fratelli Rosselli 2, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Florence
#80 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#124 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £68 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Michelangelo 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Michelangelo puts you at the heart of historical Florence.Our 119 hotel rooms have been recently refurbished in a chic, elegant, contemporary style. Conveniently located near to Florence's central train station, you're also a short walk from the famous Ponte Vecchio, with its glittering goldsmiths shops. All provide a relaxing base for your weekend or long-stay in Florence. Inside, we're set up to combine business with pleasure, with 7 conference rooms for up to 230 people and a stunning restaurant and bar, Assaggi, where you can savour your destination in true Tuscan style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TravelClick, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Starhotels Michelangelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Michelangelo Florence
Starhotels Michelangelo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing