We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“highly recommended” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rivoli Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Ranked #66 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
camarillo, ca
Level Contributor
175 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 420 helpful votes
“highly recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2012

I will try not to duplicate the other reviews, which are accurate. Yes, it is within walking distance of the train station, but the hotel also offers a valet service for your car (no street parking!) which ranges from 22-28 euros, depending on the size of your car. The breakfast buffet is amazing, and complemented by the individually made coffees to order... go ahead, get a cappucino with a little foam heart. (note: a 'doppio' is a double espresso.. beware! this is premium octane).

There is a beautiful central courtyard where you are welcome to bring panini, etc to eat (there's a nice, sandwich shop on the same street), and a large jacquzzi (tell the front desk you want to use it, and they'll bring you decadently large towels and hoody bathrobes).

What was amazing was just how friendly all the hotel staff were. These folks are no doubt inundated with tired and crabby tourists every day all year round, and I never saw or heard a cross word; everyone went out of their way to be helpful: I felt like a was on a cruiseship.

Just so I don't sound like I was paid for this, I will point out 2 small negatives: there is no door to the shower, and the water comes through the door and out into the middle of the bathroom. Roll up a towel along the opening to block the water's flow. Also: bring your own shampoo goodies. I traveled light that weekend, and all they had was a combo shampoo/conditioner which left my hair molto frizzy.

Nice extra: the bowl of apples in the lobby, with the sign saying they'd already been washed for your convenience.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank miznina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneRivoli, Responsabile reception at Rivoli Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 26 December 2012
Dear Guest,
it is a real pleasure to read your comments, I shared with all my collegues and all of us are proud about it.
Thank you also for pointing on the "negatives", yes, we are not perfect but thaks to our guest comments we try hardly to do our best to improve us.
Hoping to welcome you again at the Rivoli, from all of us All the best for the next 2013 !!!
Daniele Torrini
Ass. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    727
    596
    144
    38
    20
See reviews for
344
710
48
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012 via mobile

I have not much to say about this hotel. It is overall excellent and has great service. The room i had stayed in was very good. It was very clean there were barely any stains i could see(even the bathroom was clean). It is very quiet and a good place to stay if one wishes to catch up on sleep etc. It is in a good location. To be more specific, it is about 5-10mins walk to the train station and also close to good dining places and tourist attractions. Power sockets were hard to find but after a bit of searching i managed to find enough to charge my eletronics. To sum it up, this hotel is a great place to stay and im quite sure i would come back if i could
#213

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nemexi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012 via mobile

The hotel is a quick walk from the train station and short walks to all the sites. The hotel is very modern with beautiful marble bathrooms and a nice jacuzzi and nice size rooms. Breakfast is amazing with great choices even eggs and bacon. It was a wonderful stay at a great price with wonderful staff.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneRivoli, Responsabile reception at Rivoli Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2012
Dear Mr Paul,
thank you for sharing your comments with the Tripadvisor World.
It's always a pleasure to have a positive feedback from our guest, this shows us the right way for our efforts.
Hoping to welcome you again at the Rivoli, Merry Christmas and happy new year from the staff of the Rivoli.

Daniele Torrini
Ass. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

Location is very central to all the major attractions in Florence and only 5 minutes walking distance from Santa Maria Novella. The exterior of the hotel is unimpressive but the hotel's interiors are extremely charming, as it dates back to the 14th century when it was a convent. The original ceilings in the lobby are are interestingly beautiful! The front desk staff was very efficient and friendly, as were other members of the hotel's personnel we encountered throughout our 5 day stay. You must purchase a code to use the wireless and when I encountered problems getting a solid connection the woman at the front desk was very helpful in fixing the situation for me. Breakfast is also included, which is nice because we found there are not a lot of restaurants open early in the morning in Florence. There are bakeries where you can get coffee and pastries, but not much more than that. The breakfast is served in a very nice room adjacent to the garden - there are a lot of food selections and the endless coffee and steamed milk were very good! The room we stayed in was large (especially by European standards) and the beds were comfortable, although the bathroom was pretty tight and could only really accommodate one person at a time, so prepping for the day required some planning. One of the highlights of the hotel is the courtyard garden with a small heated whirlpool, which we found perfect for sitting on the edge after a long day of walking and soaking our feet. I recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor which was fine for us, however the elevator is slow and tiny (2 people ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MileHighGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level Contributor
122 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Rivoli in Florence. We enjoyed ourselves so much last December that we decided to make a return trip, and we were not disappointed. The staff are exemplary: professional, friendly and helpful. Their command of English is excellent and nothing seems to be too much trouble. The hotel is spotlessly clean, is in the perfect location for the tourist, being walking distance from the rail station and right next to Santa Maria Novella. You can walk to the Duomo in about 5 minutes. The breakfasts are good and the facilities are perfect. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Florence.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gianlorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneRivoli, Responsabile reception at Rivoli Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2012
Dear Guest,
thanks for choosing the Rivoli again for your stay in Florence, it is always a pleasure and a very good surprise receiving such a nice comment!
I hope I will have the chance of welcoming you again in our house.
From the staff and me besty regards and Arrivederci!
Daniele Torrini
Ass. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

I've been traveling to Florence for over 20+ years and have stayed in many good hotels. That said, I have to say that the Best Western Rivoli was by far the best of them. The hotel staff is friendly and professional. The hotel itself is nearly restored and incredibly charming. There is a small garden and a terrace with a pool. And the breakfast is top notch. Note: Best Westerns in Europe are nothing like the Best Westerns in the USA and Canada. They are individually owned and operated and are of a much high quality. It's also centrally located and only a 5-10 minute walk from the Ponte Vecchio and all major sites. If you are looking for charm, comfort and a bit of peace in crowded Florence I'd stay here. Matthew B.

Room Tip: Ask for the quite back rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MattSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Wonderful stay at the Best Western Rivoli. The staff were excellent; helpful, friendly and a fountain of local knowledge! The room we stayed in was reasonably well appointed with a view over the heated spa pool and courtyard area all of which are lovely.
One note of advice, when in Florence keep your bathroom door firmly closed! Unfortunately as with all of Florence the drains are well known for their 'puzza' aroma. The bathrooms though are, as you would expect from Italians, very well appointed with excellent facilities!
The hotel is well situated to enjoy all the sights of this fabulous city & all are within easy reach either on foot or via the wonderful local buses and, with the SMN Station for both bus & train travel only 5 minutes walk away, the rest of Italy is also easily accessible.
The Rivoli buffet breakfast is designed to suit the tastes of all manner of travellers from faddy Brits, to our cousins across the atlantic and those from across the length & breadth of europe and the Orient too - there's normally something for everyone.
Florence is not inexpensive but there are some wonderful little places to eat within easy reach of the hotel where you don't have to dread the il conto, per favore moment!
Thank you for a wonderful stay and I look forward to returning in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#72 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#53 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#76 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#70 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Adriatico
Grand Hotel Adriatico
#103 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#28 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivoli Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivoli Boutique Hotel

Property: Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Address: Via della Scala 33, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#59 Business Hotel in Florence
#66 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#82 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivoli Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the old town of Florence, the Hotel Rivoli offers class hospitality with charm, as well as spacious and elegantly decorated hotel rooms and suites. The Hotel Rivoli is a 4-star superior hotel that is set inside a restored 14th-century Franciscan convent, where guests can breath the charming and unique atmosphere of this ancient historic building in the city of Florence. The restoration has highlighted the architectural details dating back to 1500 such as arches and vaults, coffered ceilings and stone columns. Guests are welcomed in an enchanting setting full of cozy atmosphere, embellished by refined common areas, which are conceived as an oasis of tranquility away from the hectic pace of the city. The Internal Patio, which was obtained from a complete renovation of the Franciscan cloister, is now dedicated to relaxation and wellbeing, featuring an unforgettable 20 sqm-whirlpool that is also open during the winter with a constant water temperature of 36° C. The location could not be better, a few steps from the Santa Maria Novella railway station, the Duomo Cathedral, Ponte Vecchio Bridge, opposite the ancient and famous Officina Profumo di Santa Maria Novella, and the most important museums. In addition to the interior elegant and spacious patio, the Hotel Rivoli guests can enjoy the quiteness of the small "garden of medlar", an exceptional lounge where to spend moments of real relax; in summer time the garden is available for breakfast and dinners prepared and served by Benedicta Restaurant , 3 Michelin forks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rivoli Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rivoli
Best Western Florence
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing