We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Ranked #70 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ideal location”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

A hotel is defined by its location, facilities and staff. We hoped for a romantic weekend in Florence - we got it. The location is not central but a 15 min walk (I am disabled and walk very slowly) took us to the ponte vehicle. Facilities were great for us - didn't use the gym but the bar is well stocked and does a mean cocktail. The staff were wonderful, we were advised on the best ice cream shop in Florence (and therefore the best in the world), reservations were made in the places frequented by locals and throughout our stay, everyone seemed to know our names - it was admittedly a quiet time but we felt special in what was, after all, a business hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneRivoli, Responsabile reception at Rivoli Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Mr Mark,

thanks for your nice comment you decided to post here. REally glad to see that we met your expectations!! Sani, our bartender is really a "special" one!! Hope you will come back during the nice season (spring or summer) so that you can experience our garden where to taste Sani's Cocktails or one of our restaurant dinner!!
Waiting to welcome you once again at the Rivoli, best regards.

Daniele Torrini
Ass. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    752
    605
    148
    40
    22
See reviews for
351
726
52
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Clean, well kept, great front desk staff.
Walking distance to everything.
Spent 3 nights there good breakfast.
Surrounded by good restaurants.
Would stay again.

Francesca at the front desk was very helpful!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hammer_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneRivoli, Responsabile reception at Rivoli Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your nice comment ! I hope to welcome you again at the Rivoli.
It's always a pleasure to read a nice comment on us ! The next time you can try also our Restaurant Benedicta, which is a very good restaurant (that's what they say on TA and not only my personal opinion...). Maybe in the good season so you can have your dinner in or lovely garden.
Hope to welcome you once again at the Rivoli,

Best regards.

Daniele Torrini
Ass. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This great hotel is less than a ten-minute walk from the train station. Like many hotels in Italy, it has a modest entrance that disguises its expanse. We were warmly welcomed when we arrived and carried over throughout our stay. There is a lovely courtyard garden which was lovely even in the winter season. Breakfast was ample and cappuccino was served with a special flair. The folks working in the breakfast room were particularly friendly and warm. I especially appreciated the lady at the desk who advised me on shopping at the little grocery store down the street. The location is excellent--great restaurants are around the corner and you can get anywhere in Florence without having to take a cab or even public transportation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anniea1b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneRivoli, Responsabile reception at Rivoli Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Mrs Annie,

thank you for your nice comments, we really appreciate that you spent some of your time commenting an TA your stay with us.
We try to give our guests an attentive service and glad to see that this has matched your expectations.
Waiting to welcome you in the next future, best regards and Arrivederci !!

Daniele Torrini
Ass. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
134 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Really excellent hotel good location for both sightseeing and the bus and train station. Ideal if you take the bus from the airport - a lot cheaper than a taxi and very convenient. Parking in this area is worse than London so try to avoid if you have a car. Ideal Hotel if you want to stay in Florence with good quality without paying a fortune..

The area outside has many café's etc. and some nice eating places without going too far. It could be a bit intimidating at night but take the usual precautions and you see some authentic food and people. The centre is the place for atmosphere but prices can be much higher- so you pay your money and take your choice. If you would rather be more central and don't mind paying a lot more OK, but if you are on a budget (its not cheap) don't mind a bit of walking (how could you visit Italy and not do a lot of walking?)then the quality here is really good. Air-con a real plus as well.

Recommended

Room Tip: Noise not a real problem but try and stay away from road facing rooms as always - not too bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Man_o_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneRivoli, Responsabile reception at Rivoli Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Guest,

thanks for writing down your impressions on our hotel.
It's always a pleasure to read that our guests appreciate our Hotel and job.
I hope to welcome you again at the Rivoli in the next future and for now all of us just thank you and greet with a warm Arriverderci!

Daniele Torrini
Ass. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Although I've never stayed in a Florence hotel before this one, I can't believe that any other could be better. From the minute we arrived, we were warmly welcomed by the front desk staff (I should have remembered some of their names), one young lady of whom had the most amazing ability to remember our name and room number. Of course, the Rivoli is a smallish hotel, that added to its charm. It is very conveniently located, and the highlights of Florence are easily accessible by foot from its front door.
Our room (double, with a good-sized bed) was very comfortable and the housekeeping staff were pleasant and quietly efficient.
We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfasts in the very pleasant restaurant. Yes, the default coffee served to North Americans was less than great, but the cappuccinos were absolutely outstanding. I would KILL for one them right now!
We enjoyed several dinners in the "Benedicta" as the restaurant was called, and they were the very best of our time in Tuscany and Umbria. Forget what you may hear about "hotel restaurants". This one is truly outstanding: wonderful food served by a first-rate, enthusiastic, friendly staff.
I can't wait for a return visit to Florence and the Rivoli.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneRivoli, Responsabile reception at Rivoli Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear Mrs Joyce,

I'm really glad reading that your first experience in Florence was so positive, and I'really proud that part of this sensation was given to you from our staff and Hotel.
We really like our job and like to let our clients feeling at home.
Please, don't kill anyone for a Cappuccino !!! Try to resist and come back as soon as you have the chance and I will be more than happy to ask my collegues to prepare you a special one !!
Waiting to welcome you again at the Rivoli, best regards from all of us !

Daniele Torrini
Ass. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
metro NYC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The Hotel Rivoli is a pleasant surprise. The hotel is in a renovated 14th century convent and has a very unassuming appearance on a side street about 150 yards from the Santa Maria Novella train station. The small but elegant lobby has a fountain and lush greenery. The breakfast room is just past the courtyard which has some fairly large trees in it.

We were in a family room for 4, which consisted of 2 bedrooms. The room was quiet with a large bathroom (there were 3 emergency cords in the bathroom, including one on the wall next to the toilet. Don't assume it's the toilet flush and pull on it) . The beds and pillows are firm but not uncomfortable. Furnishings are attractive. Wi-fi is not free (5 euros/day) but generally reliable. The breakfast buffet (included with the room) was a full, hot meal with eggs, cheeses, meats, breads, fruit, cereals, yogurt, juice and pastry. We found the coffee not be very pleasant but the staff will cheerfully make cappuccino instead.

The front desk staff is very courteous and professional. If you want to see the Uffizi and/or Accademia, e-mail the hotel ahead of time and let them reserve the tickets for you. It's actually cheaper to let them do it than book it yourself. You also won't have to stand in line for hours.

There are some very nice restaurants on the same block as the hotel with moderately-priced, tasty fare. And gelato shops everywhere.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank z3mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneRivoli, Responsabile reception at Rivoli Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guest,

thanks for your very nice comment ! We try hardly to satisfy our clients expectations and I'm really glad when I read that we match some of the expectations! (beside the coffee that I will try to improve).
I hope to welcome you in the next future at the Rivoli, for the moment I just say from all of us Have a great 2014 !!

Daniele Torrini
Ass. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventnor City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Hotel Rivoli in Florence was very nice and the front desk staff was exceptional. Francesco was wonderful as well as two of the male front desk personnel whose names I do not recall. They all were so helpful for the 2 nights we were there. The breakfast was also very good and the staff there very pleasant. Our room was pleasant and clean.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneRivoli, Responsabile reception at Rivoli Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Mr Ronnie,

thanks for leaving here your nice comment. I'm really glad you enjoied your stay in our hotel, and I passed this comment to all my collegues. We try to do our job at the best and it's always a great satisfaction when a guest spend part of his time to write it here letting us know.... I hope to welcome you again in the next future, from all of us Best regards.

Daniele Torrini
Ass. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#75 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#53 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,875 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#82 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#71 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#29 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Adriatico
Grand Hotel Adriatico
#104 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivoli Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivoli Boutique Hotel

Property: Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Address: Via della Scala 33, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#59 Business Hotel in Florence
#66 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#82 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivoli Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the old town of Florence, the Rivoli Boutique Hotel offers class hospitality with charm, as well as spacious and elegantly decorated hotel rooms and suites. The Rivoli Boutique Hotel is a 4-star superior hotel that is set inside a restored 14th-century Franciscan convent, where guests can breath the charming and unique atmosphere of this ancient historic building in the city of Florence. The restoration has highlighted the architectural details dating back to 1500 such as arches and vaults, coffered ceilings and stone columns. Guests are welcomed in an enchanting setting full of cozy atmosphere, embellished by refined common areas, which are conceived as an oasis of tranquility away from the hectic pace of the city. The Internal Patio, which was obtained from a complete renovation of the Franciscan cloister, is now dedicated to relaxation and wellbeing, featuring an unforgettable 20 sqm-whirlpool that is also open during the winter with a constant water temperature of 36° C. The location could not be better, a few steps from the Santa Maria Novella railway station, the Duomo Cathedral, Ponte Vecchio Bridge, opposite the ancient and famous Officina Profumo di Santa Maria Novella, and the most important museums. In addition to the interior elegant and spacious patio, the Rivoli Boutique Hotel guests can enjoy the quiteness of the small "garden of medlar", an exceptional lounge where to spend moments of real relax; in summer time the garden is available for breakfast and dinners prepared and served by Benedicta Restaurant , 3 Michelin forks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Rivoli Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rivoli
Best Western Florence
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing