We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, great restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Ranked #71 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, great restaurant”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Rivoli for two nights. It is a beautiful hotel with clean, comfortable rooms, cozy seating arrangements and a nice courtyard, which unfortunately we were not able to take advantage of because it was raining. It is within walking distance to just about everything that you would want to see in Florence. The breakfast was good, which brings me to the point of the restaurant. We decided to eat at the restaurant the first night because we arrived pretty late at the hotel. We were pleasantly surprised by the menu and how delicious the food was. It was so good, that we ate there again the second night!

My only complaint was that they don't turn on the air conditioning until May 1st and the room was warm and stuffy; however, that seems to be fairly common in Italy because none of the hotels that we stayed in had their A/C turned on.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lkelly16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneRivoli, Responsabile reception at Rivoli Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Guest,

It's always a pleasure to see that you spent a little time to write on TA your opinions on the Rivoli.
I personally take care that all of us try to do the best to welcome and assist our guests.
The Hotel itself is a very particular building in the city center and, if from one side this might be positive other guest might not be happy ...but this is where we are!!
The restaurant is well appreciated from our guests and I hope you will have the chance of having a nice and romantic dinner in the Garden !!
Waiting to welcome you again at the Rivoli, best regards from all of us and ...Arrivederci!

Daniele Torrini
Ass. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    782
    617
    152
    40
    24
See reviews for
369
744
54
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

If this is a fur star hotel, I am a monkey's uncle. I am sitting here with the windows open because the room was stuffy and I might as well be sitting on the train tracks at Grand Central station. People shouting, endless Vespas, accordion music--hard to imagine we will get any sleep. The place is pricey, the rooms and bathrooms are very small, the decor is Comfort Inn. Save the money on this one and hunt for a nice three star alternative.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneRivoli, Responsabile reception at Rivoli Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Rena S.,

I'm sorry to read that our hotel didn't match your expectations.
This is a 4 star Hotel in the city center of Florence and you are right when you say you might have noise problems. Concerning the Air conditioning, we have passed from heating to AC in the last period and seen that this is not a modern building with the two systems working together, we need at least 48 hours to go from heating to AC system.
I'm sorry you were here in that range of time.
I hope you will give us a second chance to welcome you, waiting for this, best regards.

Daniele Torrini
Ass. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menifee, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I were at the hotel when my husband became very ill and had to be admitted to the hospital for 7 days. We are from California and were at a loss as the stress was phenomenal.
The hotel staff were wonderful and so helpful and soon became my second family. A day never went by where they would ask how he was. They're concern was very sincere. The day he became sick was the day we were to leave for Rome.They told us that our room was ours as long as needed and not to worry even though they were overbooked.
If I could give them a ten star rating I would. Please if your in Florence stay at this wonderful hotel.
It is within walking distance to all the attractions.
Elaine Hansen

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneRivoli, Responsabile reception at Rivoli Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Mrs Elaine,

thanks for your nice comment, I hope your husband is fine now. I'm really glad you felt here like home with your family, this is absolutely the best thing that a guest can write on us. Beside the nice location, the good size of the room and all the other things that might be positive or not, for us been a "temporary family" for you it has been an Honour!
Hoping to welcomeyou and your husband once again at the Rivoli we all whish you all the best for the future !

Daniele Torrini
Ass. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

A good choice of hotel if you want something you can trust. Staff were all very welcoming, breaky is limited in options but is a good continental style and good quality - well topped up by staff.
It's a small hotel with 3/4 floors with maybe 20 rooms on each floor so it felt more personable.
There is a jacuzzi swimming pool which I didn't see or use (as had no swimming gear - don't forget yours) but sounded like fun.
Air con was the only problem, as it wouldn't stay on. So remained stifling in the room, had a rear room so was quiet. Mossys were out so watch out, bitten a few times at night so bring sprays.
Good level of amenities in the bathroom and they were replaced each day - always a nice touch.
His and hers towels too and if you like it there was even a bidet to use.
One other note, the rooms are not very sound proof so expect to hear everything going on in the bathroom, and corridors but not other rooms. Slightly disappointing as you could easily be woken by people walking past your door etc.
Would go back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Reyno84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneRivoli, Responsabile reception at Rivoli Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guerst,
thanks for the nice comment ! I'm so glad you appreciated our hotel.
As you realized this is a very old and historical palace and during the days you were here we where switching the system from Heating to AC,
For the sound proofing of the rooms, I will talk about this with the owners and hope that tks to comments like yours something will be provided.
Waiting to welcome you in the next future, best regards.

Daniele Torrini
Ass. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

As soon as we arrived at the hotel, we spent the next few hours figuring out how and where we will spend our 2nd night. It was that bad an experience. We could only sleep for 4 hours on our first and last night @ Rivoli. Stay with me, to learn more......

The hotel location is convenient from train station. The hotel has very good lobby & garden area, but that's where the pleasantries end.

The rooms are very basic and no where near what one would expect from a 4-star, especially for the kind of price they charge. Internet connection was lousy which pains when you learn that it is a paid service.

Breakfast, appreciated by a few visitor on this blog, and also something that hotel takes immense pride in this service, but sorry to say, it was a yammer. Fresh juice / eggs to order is all on extra charges. I have seen better breakfast services.

The surrounding is very noisy as it is on the Main Street and the windows (although double) are not sound proof. Worse, their was no Aircon running, so if you close window you suffocate, if you open window the noisy will keep you awake.

You might be better off sleeping on the streets or train station platform, at least you will save the cost of staying at this lousy hotel !!!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Ujwala P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneRivoli, Responsabile reception at Rivoli Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,
I'm really sorry for what happened with your reservation; and I'm sorry you didn't like the other hotel of the first night as it's a 4 stars as we are, very central and charming.
I already ansewred via Best western, I hope you will receive it as soon.
Hoping to welcome you again at the Rivoli and offer you a better experience, best regards.

Daniele Torrini
Ass. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Booking online, I was afraid it would be tiny and uncomfortable like some other Europe hotels, but this Best western is really good. Very close to the train station, good restaurants, and most sights in Florence central. Free wifi, good service, good breakfast, good rooms, complete amenities. Our room had charming balcony overlooking the street. Adjoining room was convenient. It was raining during some of our stay but there were umbrellas we (five of us) could borrow in the lobby.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icedragonfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneRivoli, Responsabile reception at Rivoli Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,

thanks for the nice comment posted on TA. It's always a great satisfaction for our entire staff.
Hoping to welcome you again when will be a better season so that you will experience our Jacuzzi in the garden and have a good Drink relaxing in our garden, best regards,

Daniele Torrini
Ass. MAnager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden Grove
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This was our third hotel in Italy I found the staff very friendly, the rooms were good ideal location. The only down fall was our room was noisy it was facing the road. Also the shower is very hard to get into, not sure how the elderly get on. Breakfast was yummy like the idea of champagne!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joybea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneRivoli, Responsabile reception at Rivoli Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Guest,

thanks for the nice words on us ! The next time you will be here I will be more than happy to reserve you one of our rooms overlooking the garden and the Jacuzzi ! whi are very quiet and relaxing.
Concerning the breakfast, ou Restaurante Benedicta offers a very high standard of quality and I'm really glad you appreciated it !
Waiting to welcome you once again at the Rivoli, best regards and Arrivederci from all of us.
Daniele Torrini
Ass. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#83 of 412 in Florence
840 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#51 of 412 in Florence
1,957 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#78 of 412 in Florence
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#28 of 412 in Florence
1,653 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#43 of 412 in Florence
1,293 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Adriatico
Grand Hotel Adriatico
#109 of 412 in Florence
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivoli Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivoli Boutique Hotel

Property: Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Address: Via della Scala 33, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#60 Business Hotel in Florence
#66 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#82 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivoli Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the old town of Florence, the Rivoli Boutique Hotel offers class hospitality with charm, as well as spacious and elegantly decorated hotel rooms and suites. The Rivoli Boutique Hotel is a 4-star superior hotel that is set inside a restored 14th-century Franciscan convent, where guests can breath the charming and unique atmosphere of this ancient historic building in the city of Florence. The restoration has highlighted the architectural details dating back to 1500 such as arches and vaults, coffered ceilings and stone columns. Guests are welcomed in an enchanting setting full of cozy atmosphere, embellished by refined common areas, which are conceived as an oasis of tranquility away from the hectic pace of the city. The Internal Patio, which was obtained from a complete renovation of the Franciscan cloister, is now dedicated to relaxation and wellbeing, featuring an unforgettable 20 sqm-whirlpool that is also open during the winter with a constant water temperature of 36° C. The location could not be better, a few steps from the Santa Maria Novella railway station, the Duomo Cathedral, Ponte Vecchio Bridge, opposite the ancient and famous Officina Profumo di Santa Maria Novella, and the most important museums. In addition to the interior elegant and spacious patio, the Rivoli Boutique Hotel guests can enjoy the quiteness of the small "garden of medlar", an exceptional lounge where to spend moments of real relax; in summer time the garden is available for breakfast and dinners prepared and served by Benedicta Restaurant , 3 Michelin forks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rivoli Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rivoli
Best Western Florence
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing