We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attractive Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Ranked #70 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Midland, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Attractive Hotel”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We spent 4 nights at this hotel upon our arrival to Florence, Italy. It was tastefully decorated and the rooms were large. The bathroom was long and clean, but much warmer than the separated bedroom. We were close to the pool and courtyard and enjoyed both. Breakfast was included and served in the garden or restaurant and a good way to start the day. The receptionist was helpful and provided us with maps to nearby restaurants, attractions, and bus routes. This hotel is situated near the Santa Maria Novella square and a good start to walking to attractions. We would return to this hotel because of the many advantages provided.

Room Tip: The rooms with large terraces provided a lovely sitting area overlooking the pool and courtyard. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avron2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    752
    605
    148
    40
    22
See reviews for
351
726
52
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

BW Hotel Rivoli was conveniently located near the Florence train station and all of the top attractions were between a 5-20 minute walk. The hotel lobby had an old-world feel and the rooms were very nice. We loved the beautiful, romantic balcony and large bathroom. We did not have any issues with noise like many reviews mentioned but we were disappointed that there was not free wi-fi. The breakfast was good and had a variety to choose from.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MissAllison3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

As we arrived by train from Milan the location just few minutes from the train station was great. Also all the historical views are 10-15 minutes away and we could walk everywhere. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast is good, not the best of the world but also nothing wrong with it ( it was included in the rate. Internet was really slow and we got disconnected all the time. The room size was ok a little outdated but that's more a question of taste. It was very clean and the bathroom was ok too. The reason that I rate the hotel only average is that is was very noisy du to the staff. Our room was overlooking the courtyard and on top a a "storage" room closed with a heave metallic door, till very late in the evening and from very early in the morning the staff would access the storage and slam the door very loudly, every single time you would wake up. That was really annoying and definitely did' allow for a nice rest.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SvenZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I spent 3 nights at this hotel after a cruise. It's a convenient hotel with helpful and friendly staff. However, the room was smelly (something like sewage) on the first night. Luckily, it subsided on the next two days. Room is a bit small and over-priced. It is also noisy as you can hear people talking in the corridor and lift going up.

Other good points of this hotel were internet access at reasonable price and the spacious lobby which I spent hours waiting the train on the last day after checked out.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayyan428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Jefferson Station, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Not only did my husband and I love visiting Florence the first week of June, we felt right at home at this Hotel. The room size is very good, plenty of windows, the bed is very comfy and the bathroom is the largest I have seen at any hotel, Italy or US in a long time.
The hotel is around the corner from one of the beautiful Basilicas in the city. When you walk one block the Santa Maria Novella Square (named after the church), it is easy to find your way to almost any section of the city.
The complimentary breakfast buffet enabled me to eat healthy, delicious food that kept me going with plenty of energy to see the city. There are a number of beautifully decorated sitting rooms off the lobby and a computer with internet available to guests at a nominal fee.
Francesca is at the front desk during the day. She helped us with a couple of communication issues with a travel company from the US and was relentless until she got the information.
Thank you, Francesca for making me feel like I was a very important guest in your hotel!!
Paula Plotkin

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneRivoli, Responsabile reception at Rivoli Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Mrs Paula,

thanks for the nice comment and appreciation on our hotel and staff !!
The only thing that I can say is that I really wait to welcome you once again at the Rivoli so that I will be more then happy to have a nice Prosecco in one of our gardens with you !
Best regards and Arrivederci !

Daniele Torrini
Ass. MAnager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My husband was attending a conference at the Congress in Florence in May, and we stayed at the Rivoli for 5 nights. The location was very convenient, close to his meeting and to the train station, as well as for visiting the city sights. There is a good restaurant across the street, as well as a laundromat, which we made use of. Our room was lovely and large, with a modern, well-equpped bathroom. The service was excellent, as was the buffet breakfast and dinner at their restaurant. Would have been perfect, except for 2 things. The windows provide no noise insulation, and every night until well after midnight there were groups of people talking loudly in the alley outside our room (like trying to fall asleep in a college dorm with a party going on outside your door, even earplugs weren't effective). Then, very early in the morning you hear the church bells and workmen starting work. It is a very old, lovely, historic building, but think they need to upgrade to better windows. We did not hear any noise from surrounding rooms, just from outside. The other problem was that, while there was air conditioning, it was impossible to change the temperature of the room. We would try to cool it off but never succeeded. I think there may be government restrictions on energy consumption, but when you are paying this much for a hotel room, you would like to be comfortable. The wifi service was also very poor in our room. There was a small refrigerator in the room (with minibar items), which we used to chill our water bottles. There are great gelato places everywhere and almost everyone we encountered spoke English quite well.

Room Tip: Would ask for a higher floor, in the hope that the street noise might not carry so much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneRivoli, Responsabile reception at Rivoli Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Mrs Kathy,

thanks for the very appreciated suggestions, I will pass the to the owner and see if windows can be changed shortly.
Concerning the AC system, can be controlled by the room directly UNLESS the previous client asked to stop it directly from the central at the reception.
I'm very happy you appreciated our service, we try very hard to let our guests feel like at home and it's always a pleasure to read when this is appreciated.
I hope to welcome you again at the Rivoli and I' glad to say, from all of us a very warm Arrivederci !

Daniele Torrini
Ass. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

After doing extensive research to find a hotel in Florence that was centrally located and not too expensive we chose Hotel Rivoli for our stay in Florence with my husband and two adult children. The hotel is located right near the Piazza di Santa Maria Novella and the train station. The lobby area is nice - should know since my family slept on the couches because our rooms were not ready and we were exhausted from our overnight flight. We had two small rooms but clean and modern on the first floor near the garden area. We had a wonderful breakfast each morning tho the hotel should invest in a new toaster that doesn't take 20 mins. just to warm bread and one night we had a delicious dinner in the restaurant. The issues were the desk staff were not friendly as other reviewers have stated and the wifi. No hotel on our 10 day trip to Italy charged for wifi but this hotel did and it didn't even work!! Unless you stood in one location in the lobby and crossed your fingers but even then service was spotty. Don't understand how a hotel in a major city can have internet problems in the year 2014. We stayed in the middle of the country in a remote hotel in Tuscany and did not have problems with the internet. Other than the wifi problem and the coldness of the desk staff I would recommend this hotel. Everything in Florence is a 10-15 minute so very convenient location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneRivoli, Responsabile reception at Rivoli Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Mrs Patricia,
thaks for the poits you did. I'm sorry you had to wait for your rooms, but having the check out at 12 and check in at 2 pm, we try to assign rooms as soon as possible but, in this periood the hotel is really fully booked and it's difficult to have rooms ready in the early morning.Concerning internet , we are working to change the actual provider for WIFI, after this we will have it for free. Unfortunately we have been one of the first places in Florence with WIFI connection, and while this has been good for a certain time now, the charge for the service if actually difficult to explain, but this is due to the old contract with the provider which is now expiring.
Concerning the Staff coldness.... this seems to me a little strange as we all try to give all the best to our clients and it's one of our best skills seen from all the comments. I hope you will give us a second chance to give you a warmer stay in our hotel and show you that we took care of youur suggestions.
Best regards from all of us and Arrivederci !!
Daniele Torrini
Ass. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#75 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#53 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,875 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#82 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#71 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#29 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Adriatico
Grand Hotel Adriatico
#104 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivoli Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivoli Boutique Hotel

Property: Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Address: Via della Scala 33, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#59 Business Hotel in Florence
#66 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#82 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivoli Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the old town of Florence, the Rivoli Boutique Hotel offers class hospitality with charm, as well as spacious and elegantly decorated hotel rooms and suites. The Rivoli Boutique Hotel is a 4-star superior hotel that is set inside a restored 14th-century Franciscan convent, where guests can breath the charming and unique atmosphere of this ancient historic building in the city of Florence. The restoration has highlighted the architectural details dating back to 1500 such as arches and vaults, coffered ceilings and stone columns. Guests are welcomed in an enchanting setting full of cozy atmosphere, embellished by refined common areas, which are conceived as an oasis of tranquility away from the hectic pace of the city. The Internal Patio, which was obtained from a complete renovation of the Franciscan cloister, is now dedicated to relaxation and wellbeing, featuring an unforgettable 20 sqm-whirlpool that is also open during the winter with a constant water temperature of 36° C. The location could not be better, a few steps from the Santa Maria Novella railway station, the Duomo Cathedral, Ponte Vecchio Bridge, opposite the ancient and famous Officina Profumo di Santa Maria Novella, and the most important museums. In addition to the interior elegant and spacious patio, the Rivoli Boutique Hotel guests can enjoy the quiteness of the small "garden of medlar", an exceptional lounge where to spend moments of real relax; in summer time the garden is available for breakfast and dinners prepared and served by Benedicta Restaurant , 3 Michelin forks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rivoli Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rivoli
Best Western Florence
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing