We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Ranked #65 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Amstelveen
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights in july 2014 and we very much enjoyed our stay.

Due to traffic the hotel is may be slightly difficult to reach but then again it was high season. The hotel is nicely located on the edge of the historic part of florence and within walking distance of the hotel.

The staff are very friendly and willing to help you out with what ever question you may have. We had our car valet parked by a company that is close by which worked out really well.

The rooms are modern and clean with a nice soft bed and a large bathroom. The courtyard of the hotel is nice and has a jacuzzi (which we didn't use). The only thing that could be improved is the breakfast. For a best western hotel i would have expected a little more choice and slightly better quality.

Based on our two nights here at approximately 105 euros a night this is a very nice hotel which has an excellent price quality balance.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WouterAmstelveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneRivoli, Responsabile reception at Rivoli Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

thanks for the nice words spent on us, we are really glad to read that you appreciated your stay in our house. I'm sorry that you didn't use the Jacuzzi in the garden, the next time you will be here I invite you, after a long day visiting the town, to relax with a nice drink in our garden by the whirlpool.
Concerning the breakfast we offer on our buffet fresh and local products, but we will use your comment to improve our offer.
Hoping to welcome you once again at the Rivoli, Best regards from all of us !

Daniele Torrini - Ass Manager
& Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    742
    600
    147
    39
    21
See reviews for
350
717
50
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

I admit when I saw Best Western attached to the name Hotel Rivoli I thought it would be sub par. I was so wrong. The staff was great, helpful and accommodating. The hotel was charming and the pictures previously reviewed didn't do it justice. The restaurant for dinner was fantastic and the free hotel breakfast was to die for....the pastries were so good! The courtyard setting was peaceful. The rooms were simple but of good size and clean. I would stay there again and again.
Good location too.
If I were to critique anything it would be that the wifi should be included in the room rate.
Thanks Hotel Rivoli for making our first trip to Italy so wonderful.

Room Tip: I asked for a room inside overlooking the courtyard. The windows could be opened too...slept like a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneRivoli, Responsabile reception at Rivoli Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Mrs Diana,

thanks for the nice comment posted, I'm so glad you decided to stay at the Rivoli during your stay in Florence. We try to do our best and it's always a pleasure to read that our efforts have been appreciated from our guests.
I hope to welcome you again in our House, from all of us. thanks again an best regards.

Daniele Torrini
Ass. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Callao, Venezuela
Level Contributor
196 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

I really enjoyed to be at this hotel, which has an excellent location, very close to the train station and interesting sites to visit. I could easily go for walk to the shopping areas, and historic sites. We were there just for one night, but In general was a good stay, the room was spacious and clean. For me was a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMVoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneRivoli, Responsabile reception at Rivoli Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Guest,

thanks for the nice comment!
I hope you will have the chance to come back to the Rivoli and spend a little longer time in our house, so to discover and appreciate all our best services.
Waiting to welcome you again at the Rivoli, best regards.

Daniele Torrini
Ass. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I read the comments from this website before I booked this hotel and I was not disappointed. Close to everything especially the train station. We took the train from Milan to Florence.
I was happy with the room and the bathroom size. The hotel is close to everything. There are two mini stores a few steps away where you can buy water or snacks. Restaurants are everywhere. There is a gelato place we frequented just around the corner.
The area is safe . We would always walk back to our hotel late at night from touring and there was no problem.
The breakfast restaurant is clean. The food is good. The staff was very attentive.
The elevator is small which is typical in Europe. The hotel is clean. The room and bathroom are both modern. The beds are firm and comfortable.The linens are white and crisp.The towels are thick.
The only problem is the WiFI. The connection is poor. I would always lose signal .The WIFI is not free.
We walked a lot. The Duomo, San Lorenzo church( where the leather market is ), the Accademia where Statue of David is, are walking distance If you feel like walking more which we did, we went to Ponte Vecchio bridge which is the only bridge that the Germans did not destroy during the war , and we walked to Santa Croche. At the back of Santa Croche Church is the old leather school . You can watch how the leather goods are made and also you can buy leather goods there. Bring cash so you don't pay the tax.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank imp2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
148 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel. It was a perfect location for us. It was a block from the rail station where the airport bus dropped us off so we just walked there. It is about 3 or 4 blocks to il Duomo and the center where you will want to be and yet it was on a side street that was out of most of that hustle and bustle. There was a nice little restaurant right across the street that we really enjoyed... ate there twice. Bar Tiralla or something like that - excellent food without the high pressure sales of the restaurants in the center. We paid for a superior room and were glad we did. It had a sitting area, bathroom, and bedroom that overlooked the courtyard. The room was clean, QUIET, had a safe, and the bed was comfortable. If you want to be off the road and have less noise, get a superior room. The restaurant breakfast was great with made to order coffees, pleasant staff, and outdoor courtyard seating. Very pleasant way to start the day. The desk staff were friendly and courteous. The hotel itself is really unique with wood ceiling in the lobby and multiple nooks and crannies to relax in. It never felt crowded. There was only 1 very small elevator but it is an old building so I understand that. One complaint is that we got a less than desirable exchange rate at the front desk when we exchanged money but other than that I would stay here again and tell others to do so as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nerzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

The hotel is located minutes from the train station and walking distance to all the important
sites and shopping in Florence.

The check-in was very cordial and welcoming- very professional. The main entrance to the hotel is small yet tastefully decorated as are the surrounding rooms on the first floor.

Our room was on the third floor overlooking the courtyard and it was very quiet. I could hear no noise from other rooms.

The beds were excellent and the mattresses were some of the most comfortable I have slept on
in any hotel-European or American.

The bathroom is very clean and there were no issues with the plumbing. The bath towel size is very large and there were plenty of towels. The towel rack is moveable so it is easy to access towels in the shower-tub.

The tub has a pull cord in case of an emergency. The height of the tub wall may be a problem
for a person with mobility problems. A small stool and also a mat in the tub would be useful for individuals with mobility issues. The tub wall height is the same as a Paris hotel we stayed in, yet in Stockholm, the shower was easy to get into.

The water pressure was excellent in the shower- a hand held nozzle very typical in Europe.

In the front of the room there is a panel with digital options- one for emergency, another for notifying Maid service not to be disturbed and another to regulate the air conditioning.

The air conditioning is very good, but it is relatively loud( although no louder than other hotels).
It seemed difficult to regulate- this could have been my issue. I had to shut it off during the night- the only way to keep it off was to remove my card from the light slot. However, the room would then become warmer during the night. The air conditioning can only be shut off completely and turned on again by the front desk. This isn't a big issue- I just found it difficult to regulate the air temperature so it would remain cool for the night and still shut it off.

The breakfast is good- pastries cereal, bread, coffee and the staff is very friendly. We enjoyed sitting in the courtyard eating breakfast. The sky was wonderful to look at during breakfast. We didn't need to eat lunch and ate a small snack in the mid day, and at night ate a big dinner.

The pool is small but not overchlorinated and the whirlpool is excellent. The water temp is just right and not too warm.

The wi fi works but it is slow. I found that I had to often relog in. The wi fi in Italy( at least in this area) is not very good. There was a computer on the first floor which may be easier to use- I didn't try it.

Overall, this is an excellent hotel and I would stay there again if I visited Florence.

Room Tip: A room on the third floor overlooking the courtyard is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

A small, unassuming entrance from the street belies what is a reasonable sized hotel.
It is a very old building, so has a maze of corridors.
Room was clean and a reasonable size. Breakfast buffet offered a reasonable cold selection.
The main benefit of the hotel is it's great location - 5 minutes from the train station and an easy stroll to the river, sites and shops.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DB_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#72 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#53 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#78 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#68 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#31 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Adriatico
Grand Hotel Adriatico
#102 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivoli Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivoli Boutique Hotel

Property: Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Address: Via della Scala 33, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#59 Business Hotel in Florence
#66 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#82 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivoli Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the old town of Florence, the Rivoli Boutique Hotel offers class hospitality with charm, as well as spacious and elegantly decorated hotel rooms and suites. The Rivoli Boutique Hotel is a 4-star superior hotel that is set inside a restored 14th-century Franciscan convent, where guests can breath the charming and unique atmosphere of this ancient historic building in the city of Florence. The restoration has highlighted the architectural details dating back to 1500 such as arches and vaults, coffered ceilings and stone columns. Guests are welcomed in an enchanting setting full of cozy atmosphere, embellished by refined common areas, which are conceived as an oasis of tranquility away from the hectic pace of the city. The Internal Patio, which was obtained from a complete renovation of the Franciscan cloister, is now dedicated to relaxation and wellbeing, featuring an unforgettable 20 sqm-whirlpool that is also open during the winter with a constant water temperature of 36° C. The location could not be better, a few steps from the Santa Maria Novella railway station, the Duomo Cathedral, Ponte Vecchio Bridge, opposite the ancient and famous Officina Profumo di Santa Maria Novella, and the most important museums. In addition to the interior elegant and spacious patio, the Rivoli Boutique Hotel guests can enjoy the quiteness of the small "garden of medlar", an exceptional lounge where to spend moments of real relax; in summer time the garden is available for breakfast and dinners prepared and served by Benedicta Restaurant , 3 Michelin forks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rivoli Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rivoli
Best Western Florence
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing