We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Florence Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rivoli Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Ranked #66 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Florence Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Convenient location near train station and walking distance to historic sites, restaurants and shopping. Restored convent with old-world feel, rooms were clean and spacious, very good service with buffet breakfast and lovely garden courtyard. Wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    725
    596
    144
    38
    20
See reviews for
344
709
48
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

This hotel is in a good spot as not only is it walking distance from the train station and bus depot, but walking distance to main tourist area.
Efficient check-in, older style reception area which in front of extends to a bar area and lounge area.The lift will only take two people plus suitcases, and don't worry about the creaks as it works fine!We were in room 215 which included a balcony which had a round table and 2 chairs and overlooked a lovely courtyard area.Walk into room and to the left is a small table and two sofa chairs, to the right is room for suitcases and cupboard space to hang clothes and also drawers, there is also a safe here to put your valuables.There is then a step down to the bedroom with the bed (2 singles joined together) to the left, and directly in front is a work desk which includes cupboard space to incorporate the bar fridge, and on top of desk is a TV.
The bathroom is very small ( very typical in a lot of European Countries), but has everything you need including a hand held shower hose over the bath. For the small size I was amazed they also squeezed in a toilet and bidet! The room was quite clean and tidy although the maid did not come and clean on the Saturday whilst we were staying there.The included buffet breakfast is in the Restaurant (Benidicta) used for fine dining in the evenings, a nice area where you can eat in or outside. The service was quite good but felt there was a lack of variety, and in some areas a lack of quality (cost cutting?). Also if you wanted extras like an omelette or freshly squeezed juice it was an extra 5 euros. The hot item supplied were scrambled eggs,bacon and sausages.
Overall I thought the breakfast provided lets down the Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony overlooking the courtyard are the best and quietest, unless the restaurant exte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Room was spacious, breakfast was so nice with friendly staff. The room was viewing Via della Scala which takes you to most of Firenze attractions :). We really enjoyed the stay.
The whole hotel was very well scented :).
Overall we have enjoyed our stay in Hotel Rivoli & will be back again one day.

Note: We have been checked in 1st in room (312) which was a shocking moment as it was really hot & very compact. So please by aware not to be checked in room 312.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShadyRadwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We have just returned from 3 nights in this lovely hotel. The staff were very friendly and the room was well furnished and very clean. We ate in the restaurant on the second night. The food was fabulous and excellent value for money. Unfortunately it was closed on Sunday evening or we would have eaten there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is your hotel if you are going to Florence. The rooms were nice and comfortable and the staff is certainly very helpful. They even changed the mattress on 1 bed which we found a bit hard. Breakfast is excellent and the staff at the breakfast room is very helpful. Overall we enjoyed our stay at the hotel and will not hesitate to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mihir K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We spent a 2-night stay at this hotel in mid-July with my husband. Our booking was made directly with the hotel's official website, it was an early bird offer for a classic room. However, we were given a 2-storey accommodation at the backyard, it looked like a makeshift place attached to the hotel. Everything inside the room looks extremely old and never been renovated for some 30 years, the sofa in the lower storey was already sagged when we first entered the room.

The passage outside the accommodation to the hotel building was not covered, it was rainy, and we got wet despite purely trying to go to the hotel's restaurant for breakfast. We also had to passed through the entrance of a glazed partitioned function room and met strangers every morning (who were waiting outside the function room for the event to open) before reaching the hotel's restaurant.

The accommodation was nothing like the classic rooms being introduced on their official website. It is entirely not appropriate to build a room like this for stay by hotel guests. It was a total disappointment and ruin our impression of Florence.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chan_XOXO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peyton, Colorado
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

I arrived to check in, they said it was a mistake and that hotel was booked, but they could get me in another one close by. The "other" hotel was sufficient, but not as nice as the original, yet they charged me the original price! I read the same thing happened to another traveler. The room and the bathroom were very tiny, but it was comfortable enough & clean. When I return to the states I will contact the corporate office to report the problem.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Catherinefrmcolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#72 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#53 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#78 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Adriatico
Grand Hotel Adriatico
#102 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,487 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#65 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#30 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivoli Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivoli Boutique Hotel

Property: Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Address: Via della Scala 33, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#59 Business Hotel in Florence
#66 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#82 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivoli Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the old town of Florence, the Hotel Rivoli offers class hospitality with charm, as well as spacious and elegantly decorated hotel rooms and suites. The Hotel Rivoli is a 4-star superior hotel that is set inside a restored 14th-century Franciscan convent, where guests can breath the charming and unique atmosphere of this ancient historic building in the city of Florence. The restoration has highlighted the architectural details dating back to 1500 such as arches and vaults, coffered ceilings and stone columns. Guests are welcomed in an enchanting setting full of cozy atmosphere, embellished by refined common areas, which are conceived as an oasis of tranquility away from the hectic pace of the city. The Internal Patio, which was obtained from a complete renovation of the Franciscan cloister, is now dedicated to relaxation and wellbeing, featuring an unforgettable 20 sqm-whirlpool that is also open during the winter with a constant water temperature of 36° C. The location could not be better, a few steps from the Santa Maria Novella railway station, the Duomo Cathedral, Ponte Vecchio Bridge, opposite the ancient and famous Officina Profumo di Santa Maria Novella, and the most important museums. In addition to the interior elegant and spacious patio, the Hotel Rivoli guests can enjoy the quiteness of the small "garden of medlar", an exceptional lounge where to spend moments of real relax; in summer time the garden is available for breakfast and dinners prepared and served by Benedicta Restaurant , 3 Michelin forks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rivoli Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rivoli
Best Western Florence
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing