We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could not be more disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Machiavelli Palace
Ranked #193 of 421 Hotels in Florence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Could not be more disappointed”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We requested a 4 star hotel in the centre of Florence and this is where the travel agent sent us. The travel agent (USA American Express) let us down. Rated 3 stars at the door, but really a 2 star at best. We were received by a very rude lady at reception who got very annoyed when we asked if we had a view, and when we requested the times for the trains to Lucca ("I am busy, go to the internet and find it yourself). The room was horrible (pictures available). I had a single bed in which I (6 ft) did not fit and the mattress was very uncomfortable. Although we paid in advance for two rooms and two nights, and had no refund, we left the hotel soon after checking in, as it would have ruined our stay in Florence. Reception had even the courage to ask for a 6 Euro tax when we paid 1000 dollars to walk in and out. The price was very steep for such a precarious type of accommodation and terrible service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mach78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    462
    301
    99
    68
See reviews for
212
483
66
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Great base to stay in Florence, if you can ask for a balcony it has fantastic views.
So close to the station and gentle stroll into the city.
The basket of fruit was a nice touch and we also had a mini bottle of wine left for us after a few days with them. ( they may of noticed that we had enjoyed a couple of evenings drinking the red on the balcony).
Yes, hotel little dated yet clean, but it's all about the location especially if you have no car which isn't easy to get around Florence.
The trains are cheap and convenient .
Breakfast , continental and basic.
But overall good stay and loved it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
449 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Old Hotel located a short walking distance from main train and bus station. Room was small and everything in the room like TV, Bathtub, Bathroom, etc. are small. For example if you weight more than 250 pounds you will not fit in the tiny bathroom shower, unless you leave the doors open and make a mess in the floor. From the other side their staff is as professional as you can get, rooms are clean and location is excellent. Very close to the Market area, with very good restaurants.
With a major investment in a modern remodeling job this place could be a 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Ask if they have larger rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 27Ruben27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Nice room, great coffee and marvelous location! Just a short walk to the train station, and walking distance to any site in Firenze you want to visit. We had a triple room, with one double and one twin bed, the room was spacious and clean and the bath was clean and nicely appointed. The only downside was the wifi, which worked great as long as we sat in the hallway, but dropped the second we walked into the room. But that seems to be the case almost anywhere in Italy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helms4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We only stayed in this hotel for one night, but the value for price is unbeatable. Huge rooms with bright decor, a nice and big bathroom, great assortment for breakfast downstairs. Overall really comfortable stay and centrally located (right near the central train/bus station). I would definitely recommend anyone to stay here if visiting Florence!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prithvi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlemmermeer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Hotel Machiavelli Palace is a very good hotel. Comfortable rooms. Excellent breakfast.
Staff is very friendly; and reception staff gave good tips for lunch (closeby Minimarket).
For us it was very important that the hotel is centrally located. The pedestrian area starts around the corner and everything is in walking distance.
We will certainly stay in this hotel again in june 2014.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kees_and_Ria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This quirky hotel ticks all the boxes for a convenient tourist hotel in Florence - easy access to all central sights, friendly and helpful staff, clean and comfortable rooms (the beds are great with crisp fresh linen), a perfect reasonably priced base for exploring this beautiful city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Atlantic Palace
Hotel Atlantic Palace
#137 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Sempione
Hotel Sempione
#141 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Corona D'Italia
Hotel Corona D'Italia
#125 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Paris Hotel
Paris Hotel
#122 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#80 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Ester
Hotel Ester
#175 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Machiavelli Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Machiavelli Palace

Property: Hotel Machiavelli Palace
Address: Via Nazionale 10, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Machiavelli Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Florence and built on a Templar church, just a few hundred metres from Santa Maria Novella train station and the Fortezza da Basso, the Hotel Machiavelli Palace is the ideal location from which to explore the city's secrets and reach all the major museums and monuments on foot in only a few minutes.Multilingual staff 24h.Rich buffet breakfast.Air conditioned.Exchang service.Wi-fi service and internet point. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Machiavelli Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machiavelli Palace Florence
Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing