We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Machiavelli Palace
Ranked #196 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have just returned from 4 nights in Florence and stayed at the Machiavelli hotel, the location is perfect for the train station and all restaurants and bars. We booked a room with a balcony so our room was on the small side because the balcony was so big but good for sitting out. We tried on a couple of occasions to use the hotel balcony but there was never ever anyone there!
When we arrived we were promised bath robes which we never had, requested them twice and eventually got them - we tried to order a drink from room service and firstly no answer on the phone and when we did finally get through, they asked my boyfriend to go down and show them how to use the bar......not good, therefore room service non existent!!

The bed I have to say was rock hard, very difficult to sleep on and walls very thin, we heard a lot of noise....we had to ask for more pillows because only presented with one which they did give us. The TV channels, basically there is only 1 English Channel.

Breakfast was simple, not much going on at all...could be better with their choices but it did the job.

Overall I would recommend to stay here for location purposes but it is very expensive for the room and service that you get.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HCJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

241 - 247 of 1,226 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Florence is an expensive city to visit and if you are planning to visit only for a few days - then the Hotel Machiavelli Palace may be suitable.
The hotel staff speak good English and are very helpful. Breakfast is complimentary and free wifi. In terms of location, it is 5-10 minutes to walk to the central train station and it is also 10 minutes to central Florence.
The hotel rooms are very very basic, small tv's, tiled floors. The bathrooms a very very small.
I found my bed to be very hard and wifi reception did not work well in the room.
Overall it is a very small basic room that may suit some. I do not think this hotel is 3 star

Room Tip: Go for a double room, the single room is far too small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T_Virdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This Hotel is literally a 2 minute walk from the train station. A 3 minute walk to the Duomo. We stayed here for a week. The staff were incredibly helpful and polite. The breakfast was the same each day but more than enough, ham, salami, bread rolls, etc. maybe not brilliant if you are veggie but the huge indoor market is literally around the corner where tomatoes etc. can be bought. We were very lucky and were offered the biggest room at first (actually 2 rooms and lovely bathroom) but we wanted a balcony so were offered room 505 - which had an enormous balcony with fab views over Florence. It is a 3 star and doesn't purport to be anything it's not. It was spotlessly clean with fresh bedding every 2 days. Bowl of fruit plus a bottle of wine as gifts which was so nice. Both beds (as we stayed one night in 302) were very comfortable. My husband is 6'5" tall and he was fine. Yes the shower was small, but you manage.

Room Tip: My advice would be to ask for a room on top floor (which is the 5th) with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamcat28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We requested a 4 star hotel in the centre of Florence and this is where the travel agent sent us. The travel agent (USA American Express) let us down. Rated 3 stars at the door, but really a 2 star at best. We were received by a very rude lady at reception who got very annoyed when we asked if we had a view, and when we requested the times for the trains to Lucca ("I am busy, go to the internet and find it yourself). The room was horrible (pictures available). I had a single bed in which I (6 ft) did not fit and the mattress was very uncomfortable. Although we paid in advance for two rooms and two nights, and had no refund, we left the hotel soon after checking in, as it would have ruined our stay in Florence. Reception had even the courage to ask for a 6 Euro tax when we paid 1000 dollars to walk in and out. The price was very steep for such a precarious type of accommodation and terrible service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mach78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Great base to stay in Florence, if you can ask for a balcony it has fantastic views.
So close to the station and gentle stroll into the city.
The basket of fruit was a nice touch and we also had a mini bottle of wine left for us after a few days with them. ( they may of noticed that we had enjoyed a couple of evenings drinking the red on the balcony).
Yes, hotel little dated yet clean, but it's all about the location especially if you have no car which isn't easy to get around Florence.
The trains are cheap and convenient .
Breakfast , continental and basic.
But overall good stay and loved it.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Cath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Old Hotel located a short walking distance from main train and bus station. Room was small and everything in the room like TV, Bathtub, Bathroom, etc. are small. For example if you weight more than 250 pounds you will not fit in the tiny bathroom shower, unless you leave the doors open and make a mess in the floor. From the other side their staff is as professional as you can get, rooms are clean and location is excellent. Very close to the Market area, with very good restaurants.
With a major investment in a modern remodeling job this place could be a 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Ask if they have larger rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 27Ruben27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Nice room, great coffee and marvelous location! Just a short walk to the train station, and walking distance to any site in Firenze you want to visit. We had a triple room, with one double and one twin bed, the room was spacious and clean and the bath was clean and nicely appointed. The only downside was the wifi, which worked great as long as we sat in the hallway, but dropped the second we walked into the room. But that seems to be the case almost anywhere in Italy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helms4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Atlantic Palace
Hotel Atlantic Palace
#135 of 410 in Florence
1,208 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Sempione
Hotel Sempione
#138 of 410 in Florence
470 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#79 of 410 in Florence
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Delle Nazioni Hotel
Delle Nazioni Hotel
#183 of 410 in Florence
1,378 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Palazzo Vecchio
Hotel Palazzo Vecchio
#157 of 410 in Florence
603 reviews
San Lorenzo
San Giorgio e Olimpic
San Giorgio e Olimpic
#243 of 410 in Florence
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Machiavelli Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Machiavelli Palace

Address: Via Nazionale 10, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £39 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Machiavelli Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Florence and built on a Templar church, just a few hundred metres from Santa Maria Novella train station and the Fortezza da Basso, the Hotel Machiavelli Palace is the ideal location from which to explore the city's secrets and reach all the major museums and monuments on foot in only a few minutes.Multilingual staff 24h.Rich buffet breakfast.Air conditioned.Exchang service.Wi-fi service and internet point. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Machiavelli Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machiavelli Palace Florence
Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing