We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, very friendly and a great location,”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Machiavelli Palace
Ranked #201 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 2 February 2009

Machiavelli Palace is a very pleasant, perfectly acceptable small hotel very close to Santa Maria Novella station in Florence - (no, we didn't see any pimps and prostitutes!) The location and price were both excellent, the room very, very clean with sheets changed every day. The fridge was welcome, even in January, to chill your white wine. The concierge was a charming mine of information on local restaurants and local transport. The Lampara restaurant, much recommended in the guide books, is about ten doors down towards the station. Breakfast was adequate; cereals, yoghurt, meat and cheese, rolls and croissants, coffee. Look for the terrace on the third floor of the hotel.

Pisa Airport now has a very efficient shuttle-bus service into Florence's main station - the Terevision bus, (no, not Television, that's what I thought!) Get a return ticket - even the railway ticket booth encourages you to use the bus. We did all the tourist things, but at the suggestion of the hotel concierge, we took the No. 7 bus out to Fiesole from the bus station, (it's part of the train station). Get your bus tickets from the tabacchi next to the hotel, it's very cheap. Lots of great Roman ruins and an amphitheatre in Fiesole - a very easy trip out. We visited Florence in January, and the restaurants were happy for my husband and myself to split a lunchtime 'tourist' menu between two of us - perfectly adequate at lunchtime and cheap. Overall, eating in Italy is expensive!
I would definately use the Machiavelli Palace again - big signs against smoking everywhere!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lelius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATLPALAC, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Machiavelli Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Thanks on behalf of the entire staff for your kind review. These comments lead us every day to improve and work better in order to satisfy the wishes of our customers. We hope to see you soon and thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

493 - 499 of 1,208 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2009

Strongly advise against staying at this hotel.
The pictures shown online do not match the hotel, staff are incredibly rude and unhelpful, hotel is dirty, rooms full of cigarette smoke.
We arrived, checked into our room and when requested another room (non- smoking) were refused.
Of all the hotels we stayed in Italy and some of them weren't so great - this was the worst.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sk09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APM-GUESTSRELATION, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Machiavelli Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2012

We are pride ourselves on our property upkeep and attention to detail, but clearly we were not up to standards on your stay and for that I am truly sorry. I have shared your comments with my management team for review and will take your cue from your complaints to improve service. We hope to see you again so soon, and to regain a positive comment, as most of the customers has given us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2008

We stayed one night at the hotel which is just 5 minutes away from the Santa Maria Novella train station. Lovely location along a stretch of shoping area and cafes. BUT there are lots of foreign touts of African and South Asian descent, making it seem a little uncomfortable at times but, it is an issue common to the Florence I saw as a tourist.
The hotel staff was wonderful, when we arrived at 7.30 am, they allowed us to get the room early which was wonderful because the railway station had a colorful assortment of crazies and wierd-looking dudes asking for money or just staring you down!
No complaints because the hotel met our short stay needs.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank puxadoraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATLPALAC, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Machiavelli Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Thanks on behalf of the entire staff for your kind review. These comments lead us every day to improve and work better in order to satisfy the wishes of our customers. We hope to see you soon and thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2008

The room we were given at the Hotel Machiavelli Palace in Florence was an average sized room - the lighting was cosy and the high curtained window was nice. Bathroom was a decent size and the shower was really good. The bed was extremely comfortable and the mini fridge was a welcome change from the other hotels we had stayed in - somewhere to keep wine chilled for a change! The staff were mostly friendly aside from one woman at the front desk who seemed rather cool and a little unfriendly, but this wasn't enough to deter us. The breakfast was ok - quite a bit of choice in comparison to a lot of budget hotels, but the cereal didn't seem very fresh. The location of the hotel was brilliant as Florence is a very walkable city - was a good spot to be based in the city for our four night stay.
The only real downside was that the WiFi internet connection was not cheap, and it didn't even reach our room - which was on the first floor.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rainbowstripe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATLPALAC, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Machiavelli Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Thanks on behalf of the entire staff for your kind review. These comments lead us every day to improve and work better in order to satisfy the wishes of our customers. We hope to see you soon and thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2008

We had an excellent short holiday in Florence and the Palazzo Machiavelli did a lot to make our stay a happy one. The charge for our four-night stay was very reasonable; the staff were attentive but unobtrusive; the room was spacious and comfortable, the breakfasts were ample with plenty of healthy options, the location is very central. While on Via Nazionale be sure to visit also the excellent "I'Brincello" restaurant at number 110.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanderv0gel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATLPALAC, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Machiavelli Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Thanks on behalf of the entire staff for your kind review. These comments lead us every day to improve and work better in order to satisfy the wishes of our customers. We hope to see you soon and thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2008

We had a recommendation for Firenze to find a good location as it is not easy to get around. Travelocity had a great way to find the location which we determined to be near the train station. Location is good advice. We were able to walk with our bags to the hotel. An easy 5 minute walk, even with my wife's large bags.

We wanted good location and we got it. Very close to everything we wanted to see and all kinds of great shops and restaurants.

The staff was the best and very helpful for our first time in Florence. They helped us get reservations and recommended great restaurants.

Breakfast was excellent which was an important meal since we seemed to miss lunch constantly.

The rooms were not like a Marriott or Hilton, but then we didn't want that. This was a very old building with a lot of history which is very cool to learn. Just sleeping in that room made you feel part of it. There was some road noise which my wife complained about but then she has to find something negative.

Overall I loved the place. We stayed 3 days and enjoyed it very much. We'll go back...

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SBRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATLPALAC, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Machiavelli Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Thanks on behalf of the entire staff for your kind review. These comments lead us every day to improve and work better in order to satisfy the wishes of our customers. We hope to see you soon and thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2008

Friendly front desk staff. Big room and bathroom, very clean.
Close to train station and shops.
Plenty of great places to eat near by.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lamb55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATLPALAC, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Machiavelli Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Thanks on behalf of the entire staff for your kind review. These comments lead us every day to improve and work better in order to satisfy the wishes of our customers. We hope to see you soon and thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Sempione
Hotel Sempione
#137 of 409 in Florence
464 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Atlantic Palace
Hotel Atlantic Palace
#134 of 409 in Florence
1,186 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
#83 of 409 in Florence
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Delle Nazioni Hotel
Delle Nazioni Hotel
#187 of 409 in Florence
1,366 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Palazzo Vecchio
Hotel Palazzo Vecchio
#155 of 409 in Florence
599 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#62 of 409 in Florence
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Machiavelli Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Machiavelli Palace

Address: Via Nazionale 10, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £42 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Machiavelli Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Florence and built on a Templar church, just a few hundred metres from Santa Maria Novella train station and the Fortezza da Basso, the Hotel Machiavelli Palace is the ideal location from which to explore the city's secrets and reach all the major museums and monuments on foot in only a few minutes.Multilingual staff 24h.Rich buffet breakfast.Air conditioned.Exchang service.Wi-fi service and internet point. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Splitty, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Machiavelli Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machiavelli Palace Florence
Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing