We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stimulate all your senses in Florence in springtime”
Review of Hotel Brunelleschi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Brunelleschi
Ranked #23 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Brunelleschi immensely. It is in my opinion the best situated hotel in Florence.Right in the midle of everything and at the same time "secluded" on tiny Pzza Elisabetha. The reception is very friendly and helpful and the concierge managed to get us excellent tickets for AIDA conducted by Zubin Mehta; the performance was part of Florence annual May music festival. From the time of check-in until check-out we could walk to everything we had planned. City tourism and home buying has three things in common: Location, location and location! A tip for visitors to Florence: Purchase your tickets for museums and gardens on the internet before travelling. It will save you hours of agony.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jens Bo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,917)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,898 - 1,904 of 2,917 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights. Girl at the front desk says "We have upgraded you to a Classic Executive room" which I learn later is doublespeak for "We have given you the room next to the extremely loud elevator that runs all day and night and also, by the way, there is a bunch of construction and loud men yelling and clanging starting at 7am daily" room.

I would have said something but we were so tired from our travels and had already unpacked before realizing the elevator noise.

So that about sums that up. Oh wait. The shower. I am 5'4" and 108 lbs. When I tried to lift my arms to say brush my teeth or use the soap, my elbows hit the walls. I would have taken a picture but of course that would be in appropriate. There is no way on earth anyone any bigger than myself could fit in that shower stall to take a shower. Women, maybe you can use the bidet to shave your legs because I don't know how else you plan on doing this?

The room itself has clearly been renovated recently and it was very clean and nice, albeit tiny compared to other rooms I stayed in, but if you're going to spend money on renovation, you might want to consider soundproofing.

Another thing that bothered me is that we had a lot of laundry to do. We like to do our laundry on european vacations so that we can pack light instead of bringing a bunch of luggage. We had to ask the front desk guy FIVE times where a self-service laundromat was as he just kept telling us to fill out the form in the room for hotel laundry service. It was bizarre. We kept asking and saying "self service" and he kept saying "yes, fill out the form and you will have it by 9pm tomorrow night". So, by our calculations, starting at 3 euro per piece of underwear, it would have been about 300 euro to do all of our laundry and we would have to wait for 36 hours?

OR we walked 2 blocks, did our laundry for 7 euro in 1.5 hours, and went on about our day in fresh, clean clothing.

My recommendation to hotel management is to train your staff to treat customers as they would like to be treated, rather than trying to nickle and dime every single penny out of their pocket. I guarantee a front desk clerk could not afford to spend 300 euro to do their laundry, so why insist on that direction?

Also, had to walk around a hallway and go up one elevator, then carry luggage up 5 steps and take a second elevator. One day, the elevator was out of service and we couldn't figure out how to get to our room.

Oh and Internet is a ludicrous 18 euro per day so when you're doing your laundry around the corner, there is an internet cafe next door.

TWO PROS: I do give credit where credit is due. The concierge, while a bit stern and no-nonsense, made reservations for us at 2 places and was quick about it. I appreciated her service.

Breakfast was included in our rate and the buffet was a pretty good spread. They had lots of healthy options and they even had soy milk. The waitstaff were all very nice and courteous and they really made our morning get off to a great start. They'll even make you a cappuccino since, in their own words, "you don't want to drink the stuff" from the coffee warmers on the buffet table.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Loved this hotel, the decor in the rooms is amazing, very stylish and contemporary. There was some building work being done but not too bad. Breakfasts also very good and recpetion staff very helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eaf_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

The hotel is old and dirty ,We were awakened by noises in the morning that began at 6 am.
The breakfast was poor and the food of poor quality.I think this hotel needs a new management!!!!
The city is beautiful, we went to dinner at the restaurant Beccofino, near the historic center. the food was delicious and the service very professional.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHotelBrunelleschi, Direttore generale at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2011

Dear Sirs,
I have had the opportunity to learn about your comment on Tripadvisor which had my best attention. The Hotel is just a few weeks away from being fully refurbished with just a few weeks before the scheduled finished, at the end of May. This being the case, all 95 rooms in the Hotel are BRAND NEW, with work now only taking place on the periphery of the Hotel, starting at 10:00am and finishing at 5:00pm; for these reasons I would like to better understand which noises your heard at 06:00 am. In terms of the problems with the breakfast, we have all of our customers fill out a client satisfaction form, in which we have never had complaints regarding the service of breakfast in the hotel, either in the comment in Tripadvisor. For the above mentioned reasons I am kindly asking You to give me more detailed information about Your experience with our breakfast.
I always remain at Your full disposal for any further information or need You may have and hope to welcoming You back in Florence soon.

Best regards,

Claudio Catani - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

we had a fantastic stay at the hotel in April. We were there for 4 nights. The rooms are superb and the service and location was unbeatable.

This is truly a treasure in Florence.

we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adityapittie1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

One of the most welcoming hotels we have stayed in - our family includes a toddler and a teenager. The room, room service and breakfast facilities were all excellent. The best thing was the location, even though it is right in the heart of the city, you are not disturbed by the bustle of life outside your window.

Room Tip: 116 or a room with a view of Pza De la Repubblica
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freelandroaders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Hotel is in the heart of this beautiful city and is finely furnished. We travelled with our daughter as a birthday treat for her. The hotel surprised her with a lovely cake.
Hard to fault apart from the renovation work to the tower which will be finished in June 2011. We requested a room change as we did not wish to have scaffolding as a view and we were upgraded to deluxe without question. The rooms are top rate and furnished beautifully. The staff could not have been more helpful. We will most certainly visit here again. You get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Room 420 has a lovely outlook towards the Duomo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterb1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#52 of 411 in Florence
1,466 reviews
Uffizi
San Firenze Suites & Spa
San Firenze Suites & Spa
#4 of 411 in Florence
647 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Santa Croce
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
#53 of 411 in Florence
1,651 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#33 of 411 in Florence
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brunelleschi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brunelleschi

Address: Piazza Sant'Elisabetta, 3, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Florence
#12 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#16 Family Hotel in Florence
#20 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £122 - £454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brunelleschi 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 4-star Hotel in Florence overlooking Brunelleschi's Cathedral is firmly established as one of the best and most famous hotels in downtown.The highly sought-after Uffizi Gallery, together with many other Museums and other primary attractions, are all within close distance. The 96 bedrooms and suites are equipped with all amenities and features of a charming property such as direct dial telephone, Internet Access, Satellite TV and in-room minibar. Wireless connectivity is available throughout, including our conference areas and the American Bar. The 4-star Brunelleschi Hotel originates from the recovered invaluable historic structures of the ancient tower named 'Pagliazza' and the medieval church of San Michele in Palchetto. For those who love going back to the past, our very own Private Museum, with exhibits unveiled during the reconstruction project, is a moment not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Brunelleschi, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Brunelleschi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunelleschi Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing