We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further!”
Review of Hotel Brunelleschi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Brunelleschi
Ranked #23 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Mauritius
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Look no further!”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Brunelleschi is a great hotel, centrally located (2 mins walk to the Duomo) yet tucked away in a quiet, peaceful street. The rooms were well appointed and quite spacious by European standards. The interior decoration was modern & tasteful and the beds were very comfortable (great for people who suffer from back pain, like me!). Breakfast was of good quality, with a wide choice to suit all tastes. My only concern was perhaps one elevator which felt a bit wobbly but it did the job. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Brunelleschi Hotel and we'd definitely go back there again without hesitation. It's a safe choice, and again, a really fantastic location (everything is within walking distance), which is for me a critical criterion when travelling with young children.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,042
    533
    110
    33
    32
See reviews for
535
1,534
83
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

A beautiful hotel and definitely the best location we could have hoped for.
We had a lovely room (229) - beautifully designed with a large bathroom and powerful shower. The service was very good and the staff were very efficient and happy to help with any questions or requests. I’d highly recommend this hotel and hope I’ll be able to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mythologies123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

A wonderfully central hotel, great to get back to when you are exhausted from all the walking you will do in Florence. Service was very good and they had a good selection for breakfast, room service is also available. They were very kind to let us do on-line check in for our departure home and it was most appreciated. Beautiful interiors and though our bathroom was compact, the space was well thought out and we had everything that we needed.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the lift to avoid noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danda1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed in this lovely boutique hotel for four nights. we couldn't have asked for a better location, so accessible to everything, yet hidden in a small quiet lane away from the crowds.
Our room was great, modern and clean.
The breakfast included in our room rate was an added bonus, great variety, very fresh and abundant.
The staff were extremely helpful and charming..
Highly recommended !

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Basger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

The hotel is located two small blocks, alleys away from the main piazza, next to restaurants, small shops, places of intperest. It has been recently redecorated with great taste with contemporary decor, that is well set against the ancient buildings. Everythig works, air conditioning, modern tv, bath services and plumbing.
The staff is very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast is very food with many options.
Drinks at the bar are a bit pricey, but worth the setting.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms overlooking the adjacent street, I'm sure al have a sensational view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viaticatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Florence is a world away and this hotel makes a very welcome and comfortable oasis from the crowds of tourists which visit in their millions. The hotel is very well fitted out and manages to bring together italian style without the italian city manner! Close to all the hotspots but quiet enough to get a great nights sleep I would have no hesitation in recommending to a friend.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandDTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We booked this hotel for 2 nights on our honeymoon in June.
We had a Classic Executive Double and thought for the price we paid we were going to get a WOW hotel.. The hotel itself is in a great location in Florence, accessible to everything. From the outside is is a beautiful old building built by a famous architect whose name escapes me. We landed into the hotel about 12, room wasnt ready as we expected so left our bags there. We landed back at 3 - had to wait for about 10 mins and the room was ready. Reception were helpful enough, although they asked us were we here for a special occasion - i mentioned it was our honeymoon thinking that maybe we'd get a free upgrade to a suite.. no such luck.. instead we got a sales pitch about upgrading for an extra 100 euro a night to a suite ! We didnt even get a free bottle of champagne.. No freebies in Italy for honeymoon couples I discovered !!

Anyway, the room itself was lovely but small enough, however they were going through renovations at the time which meant that the normal stairs to our room was inaccessible, we had to walk for ages up a maze of stairs to get to our room.. thank god for the guy who helped us with the bags !

Nearly Forgot to mention the renovations - as did the hotel when we booked!! - they were making renovations to the round tower when we were there so lots of noise and dust during the day - not pleasant when on your honeymoon.

The breakfast was lovely and served in a relaxed breakfast area.

All in all.. A fine 3 star experience but for 4 star prices.. if i'd known what we were going to get for our money.. i wouldnt have gone to Italy !!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHotelBrunelleschi, Direttore generale at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
Dear Mr / Mrs,
My name is Claudio Catani, the general Manager of the hotel. I thank You very much for Your comments which give me the possibility to clarify the following :
1. I am sorry that your room was not ready at 12:00; The check out time is 12:00 that makes mandatory to put the check in time at 02:00 pm. We are always very happy to give a complimentary early check in upon availability in case the room is ready before 02:00 pm or to grant an early check in with a small supplement. I am not able to verify the paperworks of your reservation to check which kind of early check you expected from us (the one upon availability or the one with a supplement) as if you didn’t agree a granted early check in you should not expect it

2. The stair situation is something which normally is not a problem; I would like to add a passage of a travel agent’s review stayed in the hotel during this summer : …..”With an older building like this, the rooms were on several different levels and guests have to take a couple of different elevators to reach some rooms, though it was not an inconvenience and our group enjoyed the hotel as part of our wonderful adventure in Italy that spanned two weeks..”

As far as Your comment on our star rating I am kindly asking You to share with me all the negative issues experienced as, according to your review, from a negative side I can see the expected early check in (to be verified which early check in you were expecting) – the stairs and our refurbishment works which were taking place in the area of the Tower (outside the hotel).

From the other side the positive comments are : Location, Helpful Reception, Breakfast, Lovely room small enough (the size of the room are clearly expressed in our web site in sq. feet).

With my warmest regards,

Claudio Catani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#30 of 411 in Florence
1,629 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 411 in Florence
3,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#16 of 411 in Florence
1,202 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 411 in Florence
780 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#6 of 411 in Florence
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brunelleschi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brunelleschi

Property: Hotel Brunelleschi
Address: Piazza Sant'Elisabetta, 3, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Florence
#12 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#16 Family Hotel in Florence
#20 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brunelleschi 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 4-star Hotel in Florence overlooking Brunelleschi's Cathedral is firmly established as one of the best and most famous hotels in downtown.The highly sought-after Uffizi Gallery, together with many other Museums and other primary attractions, are all within close distance. The 96 bedrooms and suites are equipped with all amenities and features of a charming property such as direct dial telephone, Internet Access, Satellite TV and in-room minibar. Wireless connectivity is available throughout, including our conference areas and the American Bar. The 4-star Brunelleschi Hotel originates from the recovered invaluable historic structures of the ancient tower named 'Pagliazza' and the medieval church of San Michele in Palchetto. For those who love going back to the past, our very own Private Museum, with exhibits unveiled during the reconstruction project, is a moment not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Brunelleschi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunelleschi Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing