We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Rude Staff”
Review of Hotel Brunelleschi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Brunelleschi
Ranked #24 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Location, Rude Staff”
Reviewed 28 September 2011

I had high hopes for this hotel based on other reviews on this site, and I loved the location and my room was small but nice and with an exciting view out my window. The serving staff was very nice and breakfast was better than average, but the front desk staff couldn't have been more rude, in fact I felt as though my presense in the hotel actually bothered them. I have never experienced anything like it before... anywhere. I go to Florence twice a year and will likely never stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room with an outside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHotelBrunelleschi, Direttore at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Dear Guest,

I have had the opportunity to read Your comments about the stay You recently spent at our Hotel Brunelleschi and would like to thank you for your positive opinion about our breakfast, our rooms and our serving staff.

We are sorry to hear that the front desk staff performance didn't exceed your expectations, seeing that we mostly receive high regards from most of our clients. An internal audit has already been taken; however, receiving additional information about this inconvenience would help us to better understand what did not work with our staff attitude.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon in Florence.

Best regards,

Claudio Catani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,045
    534
    110
    33
    32
See reviews for
537
1,536
83
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Longview, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2011

The hotel was very beautiful. The room was perfect, but the shower was a bit small. It was within walking distance to everything we wanted to see. The only negative about the hotel was we asked the desk to arrange a taxi for the next morning to take us to the train station and he said we could call from our room, we did ask a nice lady later that day and she took care of if for us. The breakfast buffet which was included with our stay was very disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon0927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

The included breakfast was excellent, very large spread. The rooms were very large compared to other European hotels, on par with the size of American hotel rooms. Only complaint was that our room smelled like smoke one night (it is a non-smoking hotel), and our shower would flood every time we showered. They are doing construction on the main staircase and elevator, so getting to our room was a bit complicated. Overall, great hotel, great staff, and I would definitely stay there again. The location was excellent - when you first arrive you may think it's inconvenient. But after walking Florence for a day, you realize what a great location the hotel has. It's very close to the Duomo, shopping, restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape town
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Once again we stayed at the Brunelleschi for 8 nights (3rd time) and each time gets better !!
With the new renovations the Hotel looks fantastic and position wise cannot get any better !!
My compliments to the professional staff ,Stefano,Antonella,Simone,Daniele and others for making our stay special. The inhouse restaurant also good .
Definitely will be once again my preferred place to visit lovely Florence.

Paul Orso (Cape Town - South Africa)

Room Tip: Choose anewly refurbished Room ,they are excellent and spacious,preferably on Via Dei Calzaiuoli
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paoloCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Great location, rooms are very small, bathrooms too modern...no counter space. Excellent location, but I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EileenS181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritt Island, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

My friend and I meet in Florence for a long weekend every September. We have stayed at several other hotels but decided to try the Brunelleschi this time. No doubt we will stay there again next year! Beautiful hotel in a great location. The desk staff may extremely helpful - much more so than other places we have stayed. We did not have the breakfast included in our rate and did not try it. We also did not eat in the hotel restaurant. Both looked very nice.

Room Tip: We were in 111 and thought the room was perfect - 3 windows and a large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doc_barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The high level summary is (for more info, see below) -

Pros:
* Perfect location
* Rooms are excellent; bed was *super* comfortable

Cons:
* Cold/rude staff
* Everything is expensive - wireless (~20 euro/day) , parking (~40 euro/day), breakfast (20 euro/day), cocktails at the restaurant (10-15 euros for well drinks)

Overall, considering how much you pay for a room here, you can probably find a better value elsewhere.

-------
* Don't drive to this hotel if you can avoid it, because navigating the narrow streets of Florence is an adventure. If you have to drive, make sure you have a GPS! AND make sure you're ready to pay 40 euro a day for parking!
* The hotel is in a PERFECT location - two blocks form the Duomo, with great local shopping and restaurants all around.
* When we arrived to the hotel, we were treated a bit coldly by the front-deks staff, which happens sometimes. When we got to our room, it smelled terrible, so we went back down to the front desk to ask for another room. The front desk attendant replied 'Hmm... maybe the maid forgot to spray it'. Forgot to spray it? Do you really say that to a hotel guest? So, he made a phone call to the maid and we went up with him to the room, and we see the maid furiously spraying air freshener, which didn't do much good. After that, and a bit more pleading, the front desk man finally gave us a new room

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eberger45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHotelBrunelleschi, Direttore generale at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Dear Guest,

thank You so much for Your comment which helps us in our commitment to meet our Guests’ expectations.

we are very pleased to learn how great you found our location and our rooms.

I sincerely regret to learn your comments about the Front Desk Staff attitude; we will consider them as suggestion to optimize the quality of the Hotel standards. Much has been made in the past and will be made in the future to improve the staff attitude by periodal training, in fact as shown by the TripAdvisor popularity index our rating has reached a result of 4.5 stars.

I definilitely hope that during your next trip in Florence you will come back at the Hotel Brunelleschi and get a chance to appreciate the attitude of the hotel staff.

Best regards,

Claudio Catani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#29 of 411 in Florence
1,632 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 411 in Florence
3,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#16 of 411 in Florence
1,204 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#17 of 411 in Florence
784 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#6 of 411 in Florence
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brunelleschi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brunelleschi

Property: Hotel Brunelleschi
Address: Piazza Sant'Elisabetta, 3, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Florence
#12 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#16 Family Hotel in Florence
#21 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brunelleschi 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 4-star Hotel in Florence overlooking Brunelleschi's Cathedral is firmly established as one of the best and most famous hotels in downtown.The highly sought-after Uffizi Gallery, together with many other Museums and other primary attractions, are all within close distance. The 96 bedrooms and suites are equipped with all amenities and features of a charming property such as direct dial telephone, Internet Access, Satellite TV and in-room minibar. Wireless connectivity is available throughout, including our conference areas and the American Bar. The 4-star Brunelleschi Hotel originates from the recovered invaluable historic structures of the ancient tower named 'Pagliazza' and the medieval church of San Michele in Palchetto. For those who love going back to the past, our very own Private Museum, with exhibits unveiled during the reconstruction project, is a moment not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Brunelleschi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunelleschi Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing