We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, terrible staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Brunelleschi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Brunelleschi
Ranked #21 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good hotel, terrible staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

I got to stay at the hotel for 2 nights, and at first it all seemed very good. The rooms are very clean and have a modern design, the breakfast is good, and the location is perfect. One bad thing of this hotel is the staff, speacially the men. They are not polite, as some other reviews say, they do not say good night or greet you in any case, nor do they smile. Cold, snobish and doing everything as they were doing a huge favor, against their will. They just look like they might be underpaid and are not happy with their jobs. Overall, a good hotel, but service unworthy to be rewarded in any area.

Room Tip: It gets a little noisy at night, so ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Telos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Direttore generale at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Dear Mr Telos,

thank you for your so positive comment about our rooms, the breakfast and the location.
We are very happy to understand that you had good memories to take home with you.

We sincerely do not understand your comment about the male staff.
The feedbacks we usually receive about our service are very good and our Guests use to have a very high satisfaction about the staff attitude.

Any further detail you may send about your experience would be very helpful.

In the meantime I assure you of my best attention at all times and I remain, dear Mr Telos, with my best regards,


Claudio Catani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,980
    522
    106
    32
    30
See reviews for
505
1,499
81
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
313 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

What a beautiful hotel, which has been recently refurbished. The medieval tower (which was also once part of a womens prison) have been cleverly linked with glass to a superb modern indulgently luxurious hotel. It has a stylish mix of old meets new, and tastefully done. The service was impeccable. The room (superior executive) was large, presented beautifully, with a giant & comfortable bed. The bathroom was great with a huge shower & wonderful soft bath sheets to use.
The staff were efficient & friendly. The breakfast rooms were elegantly presented with huge crystal chandeliers & high quality linens for table dressing. The food choice was vast, and included smoked salmon & prosecco wine. We were offered a complementary 3 course dinner in the ground floor restaurant, as we booked for 3 nights. We were more than satisfied with the quality of the food, although additional drinks were relatively expensive.
If we return to Florence we will definitely try to stay at this hotel again.
The hotel is just a few yards from the Duomo, but tucked away in a very small piazza. The Uffizi, Ponte Vecchio & all the best shops are within easy walking distance. It is also just round the corner from an amazing ice cream /gelato parlour which constantly had queues of customers, even at 10.30pm. It's called Grom, off Piazza del Duomo on via del Campanile at the corner of via delle Oche.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biddy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights, following a night in Pisa. The hotel is beautiful, and in a great location, a short stroll away from everything.Our room was very large with plenty of room for all of our belongings, it was very tastefully decorated and felt very luxurious. They seem to have managed to marry the old with the new perfectly The staff were helpful and accomodatiing. The breakfast had a wide selection of choice and was lovely. I would highly reccommend this hotel to anyone looking for luxury and indulgence, I have no idea why it is only 4 star and not 5!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ifu03618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed at Hotel Brunelleschi for two nights. Wow really worth the splurge would highly recommend it for a special occasion. Service was excellent as was the location. We had a junior suite with a additional roll away bed and it worked for our family of four. The decor was beautiful, bed amazing, bathroom, wow. Our only complaint was after spending so much on the room we had to pay an additional 22 Euro for internet. We had a car but parked outside of the city and took a Taxi into the Historic Center.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 470diana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

The hotel is completed renovated and beautiful. The location cannot be beat - it's important to stay close to major sights (rather than far away) for two reasons: 1. you don't wear yourself out just walking to see the sights and 2. you can come back to the hotel, shower and take a short nap during the hot, hot summer months. The other great thing about this hotel is that the breakfast buffet (included with our room, check first to be sure) was a huge spread: scrambled eggs, fresh fruit, cheese, lots of pastry, orange juice, and much more. This way you don't have to pay a fortune for breakfast elsewhere. The only downside is that the wifi is very expensive (8 euro an hour or 22 euro for a day). It would be nice if there was free wifi in a lounge somewhere in the hotel, for even a limited amount of time. When you are trying to book train tickets for day excursions to Tuscany, it would be helpful to have some free wifi. Otherwise, a really wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston, MA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed at the historic Hotel Brunelleschi for three nights in June 2012. The hotel dates from 1150. Yes 1150. 900 years ago! Fortunately it was recently re-opened. This small-ish hotel was beautifully and tastefully done. The service was impeccable. The breakfast buffet was fantastic. They had a full American style breakfast with eggs, smoked salmon, meats, croissants and even Proseco. The room was very nice and the bathroom was great with a huge shower rather than the tiny ones you often see in Europe. It was walking distance to Repubblica and just about everything downtown. Close to the Duomo, Uffutzi etc. Everything is right out the door. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jconviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Stayed at the Brunelleschi for 3 nights/4 days. The hotel is ideally located in central Florence, a stone's throw away from the cathedral and our room sported a view of the cathedral. Ask for room 405, the shower is really big and if you want a sexy shower with your partner under a rain shower. Lovely! Plus room 405 is located far away from the elevator...very good!
The staff is very friendly and the breakfast buffet is very varied and well stocked. We had dinner outside on the piazza in front of the hotel, one evening, and were also very satisfied with the quality of the dishes. I am hoping to return to Florence and will definitely try to stay at this hotel again, provided I find the same kind of internet deal on the internet as just now. Yes, prices at the Brunelleschi are not cheap and the rooms are on the smallish side, but they are modern and well furnished. Enjoy your stay in Florence!

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne_from_Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,045 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#5 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#16 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brunelleschi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brunelleschi

Property: Hotel Brunelleschi
Address: Piazza Sant'Elisabetta, 3, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Florence
#12 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#16 Family Hotel in Florence
#18 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brunelleschi 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 4-star Hotel in Florence overlooking Brunelleschi's Cathedral is firmly established as one of the best and most famous hotels in downtown.The highly sought-after Uffizi Gallery, together with many other Museums and other primary attractions, are all within close distance. The 96 bedrooms and suites are equipped with all amenities and features of a charming property such as direct dial telephone, Internet Access, Satellite TV and in-room minibar. Wireless connectivity is available throughout, including our conference areas and the American Bar. The 4-star Brunelleschi Hotel originates from the recovered invaluable historic structures of the ancient tower named 'Pagliazza' and the medieval church of San Michele in Palchetto. For those who love going back to the past, our very own Private Museum, with exhibits unveiled during the reconstruction project, is a moment not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Brunelleschi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunelleschi Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing