We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great product but let down by unfriendly front reception.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Brunelleschi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Brunelleschi
Ranked #21 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great product but let down by unfriendly front reception.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012 via mobile

Nice touches were
1. Welcome notice on tv
2. Friendly professional waiters and waitress - bravo!
3. Great food
4. Excellent location

Weaknesses:
1. Front reception staff both male and female came across as aloof and arrogant. Extremely poor communicationskills
Eg: we could not switch the air conditioner off in our room. I rang reception and he told me it would be off in twenty minutes. Thirty minutes later it was still freezing in ourroom. My wife rang reception and it was switched off immediately.
2. I enquired about wifi at the front desk. The arrogant male staff member grunted something about the password and walked away. When I asked for clarification - he explained it a little better but no smile or warmth etc.
3. I was sitting in the foyer and noticed another male staff member at front reception speak very rudely to a hotel guest about laundry.
I think these front reception desk staff and management need to understand that customers are their lifeline, the cumulative effects of poor frontline service does and will take its toll on the balance sheet.
Despite the strengths of this hotel, when I think of my time at this hotel, the poor front reception desk is the one memory that had the strongest impact.

I stayed at the exedra Rome, Verragio, Capri palace,melia whitehouse in London and currently in traders hotel in kuala lumpur malaysia and not once did I come across the aloofness of the staff like I did in Florence.

Please visit traders hotel at Kuala lumpur and there you will see and experience how hotel guests should be treated. Polished, polite, great communication skills and empathy. The customer is made to feel valued and not an interruption.

Terry Reilly

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clk32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHotelBrunelleschi, Direttore generale at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Dear Mr Reilly,

I received your comment posted on Tripadvisor.com regarding your stay at the Brunelleschi and, first of all, I have to apologize for the discomfort you have experienced with our front desk staff members.

I empathize with your dissatisfaction and I appreciate Your detailed comment and honest feedback as these will help us polish our hotel services; I will personally investigate with the staff on duty during that week end and make sure they fully understood our commitment vs. our Clientele.

From the other side I am very pleased to learn about your positive experience with our restaurant and staff members both during your dinner and breakfasts; I have checked your Guest Comment left at departure and learned about your satisfaction in terms of quality of food, quality of service, ambience, etc..

Dear Mr Reilly I can assure you that our Clients are a great value for us and our commitment is to give them wonderful memories to take home; I kindly ask you to consider this event like an unfortunate circumstance and hope to have the chance to host once again at the Brunelleschi.

Best regards,

Claudio Catani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,978
    519
    106
    32
    30
See reviews for
504
1,496
80
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

This hotel is in a superb position for visiting Florence, close to the Duomo on a quiet back street. The hotel has recently been refurbished to a very high standard, with cool and calming colour schemes throughout. We stayed in a superior executive double room and found this small and we are not tall or large. The bathroom was clean and modern, good shower heads but small shower cubicle (Room 203). Drawer space poor, largest item in room was the television. Plastic spoons for coffee in bedrooms at a hotel of this quality when no other expense on diffusers, toiletries etc. is spared was a bit of a joke.

Breakfasts were very good.
Would have expected more fresh fruit to be available other than melon and pineapple. Breakfast staff were not on the ball replacing empty plates on the buffet but very quick to close for breakfast. Had Dinner in the hotel one night, which was excellent and the waiters were excellent, especially Simone. Wine and spirits expensive but was the same price as other restaurants.

Reception and concierge staff were a mixed bunch. Some were friendly and very helpful. All
were smartly dressed.

We all really enjoyed our stay and will return to Florence again. Would we stay at this hotel again - probably not.

Room Tip: Twin rooms have more room than double rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golfgti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights at HB in Juy 2012. We were very happy with the location - close to the main square and on the right side of Florence. The hotel is a little more boutique than a brand name so that has both it's positives and negatives. Recent renovation means the hotel was well appointed with very good size rooms. Breakfast was good quality. We were disappointed with the expensive rates for wifi. My opinion is a boutique five star hotel should provide wifi as an additional bonus to their packages as an advantage to the main stream hotels. I also found the front desk staff to be unfriendly and lacked warmth (except one). We paid extra for a delux executive suite only to find out the hotel had contemplated this during the renovation, advertised accordingly but did not actually offer such a room after completion of the works. As such the hotel is yet to update its wholesellers (expediaetc) and this was not the hotel's issue - weak argument in an otherwise beautiful city.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

We have stayed there on previous occasions and although it was comfortable then we were not prepared for the huge make over. They upgraded us to a junior suite which was fabulous. The bathroom was great as were the amenities there ,the bed linen ver luxurious.
The position of the hotel is perfect ,on a small square near to everything. The staff were very welcoming and helpful, breakfast was very good. We would not stay anywhere else in Florence.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sim012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

We spent 3 lovely days in Florence in July at the Brunelleschi. The hotel is situated in a quiet back street yet only a couple of minutes away from the Duomo. An ideal setting. We booked our room as part of a package with Citalia and being in July we got 3 nights for the price of 2 and a dinner at the hotel's Tower restaurant included. As mentioned in other reports the wine is very expensive, We also noted from the menu that the pasta 'first courses' were also expensive.although the food was very good.
The bedroom was very well appointed and the bath room spacious and modern. The air conditioning certainly worked well which was a good thing as the temperatiures in the city were in the mid to high 30's.There was an exceent choice of food at the buffet breakfast. The reception staff were very helpful. All in all an excellent stay.
When in Florence a visit to Santa Maria Novella is a must and in my opinion if you haven't time to visit The Uffizi and the Accademia go for the Accademia. Also anyone over the age of 65 take some photgraphic ID with you( I had a copy of my passport) as many of the galleries are
.free to the over 65's. The Brunelleschi is an ideal choice if staying in Florence.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lanky-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

We had seen a review of the hotel in a Sunday paper and decided it was the place to stay. Great mix of old and new. The reception is massive and sets the scene well. I couldn't stop smelling the room diffusers in reception! I did find the layout of the hotel difficult to follow and we were forever getting lost. The rooms were very sharp, crsip and modern. The bed was one of the best I have slept in. The breakfast selection was excellent and staff helpful. One downside was the price of wine (per bottle) which was very expensive in the Tower restaurant. We had a great stay though and if you want somewhere a little different then this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Go for the best that you can afford. Ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeftravelfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Fantastic hotel in the heart of Florence, loved the interior and the location of the hotel.
Parking was overpriced and we had some trouble with the A/C, not so nice with when its 36C outside but apart from that YES.

We will absolutely come back here

Room Tip: Cannot go wrong here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antonio g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,036 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#5 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#16 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#10 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brunelleschi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brunelleschi

Property: Hotel Brunelleschi
Address: Piazza Sant'Elisabetta, 3, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Florence
#12 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#16 Family Hotel in Florence
#18 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brunelleschi 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 4-star Hotel in Florence overlooking Brunelleschi's Cathedral is firmly established as one of the best and most famous hotels in downtown.The highly sought-after Uffizi Gallery, together with many other Museums and other primary attractions, are all within close distance. The 96 bedrooms and suites are equipped with all amenities and features of a charming property such as direct dial telephone, Internet Access, Satellite TV and in-room minibar. Wireless connectivity is available throughout, including our conference areas and the American Bar. The 4-star Brunelleschi Hotel originates from the recovered invaluable historic structures of the ancient tower named 'Pagliazza' and the medieval church of San Michele in Palchetto. For those who love going back to the past, our very own Private Museum, with exhibits unveiled during the reconstruction project, is a moment not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Brunelleschi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunelleschi Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing