We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel Brunelleschi!”
Review of Hotel Brunelleschi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Brunelleschi
Ranked #23 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2013

My first visit to Florence was made all the more wonderful by our stay in the Hotel Brunelleschi which we sourced via the internet. Such a perfect place to stay! We were made to feel very welcome by all the staff we met, nothing was too much trouble. Our room was stylish, extremely comfortable and very well equipped, especially the bathroom. We couldn't have asked for more and, despite our room facing onto a pedestrianised road, was very quiet. Breakfast was all one would hope for! Altogether a beautiful hotel full of history in a tiny courtyard just a few minutes from the Duomo with excellent staff....perfect! We look forward to returning some day.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hughpam_benjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,954)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,580 - 1,586 of 2,954 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2013

The hotel was beautiful and well situated in the city. The only problem was since it is on a small street the day we arrived after a long day of air and train travel with our luggage and family we found the road to the hotel blocked by construction / the bellman, our driver and my sons had to take our 10 pcs of luggage by hand to the hotel. Also note clear glass doors on the bathrooms made it a bit less comfortable . Rooms were nice clean and luxurious but a little on the small side and because the streets are small and city tight they don't get a lot of natural light. The hotel is beautiful and very florentine 2 old buildings completely connected remodeled on the inside all exposed brick and modern glass staircases. Our stay was enjoyable.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allanl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Loved the Brunelleschi it is an extremely stylish hotel. Lots of pleasures for the eye such as large, beautiful chandeliers and mirrors. The colour theme throughout is grey.

The Brunelleschi is a 'stone's throw' from the Duomo in the centre of Florence but is very quiet.

The bedrooms have a large TV and are likewise very stylish. They are quite small but they are very comfortable and warm.

My husband would have liked wifi but I was really glad it was not available otherwise he would have been on his computer all the time!

The staff are charming and the breakfast fine but if you like strong coffee make sure you request it.

In these times when so many hotels look the same across Europe and indeed the rest of the world, the Brunelleschi has character and you will not forget it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We stayed at Hotel Brunelleschi in July 2012. The hotel is located in the best part of Florence only a couple of blocks from the Duomo but is on a quiet and narrow alley so you do not feel overwhelmed by tourists once at the Hotel. We booked a superior room but for some reason we were upgraded to their "Pool Suite". Let me just say AMAZING!! The two story suite had a private balcony with the most amazing view of the Duomo (especially at night when the Duomo is all lit up) it's own jacuzzi tub and comfortable lounge chairs. I got to peek in at some of the other rooms and they were all very pretty and beautifully decorated. This is one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed at in Europe or the US. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant so I can not comment on that but I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 201Kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We stayed in the hotel 06-09.01.13. Excellent hotel, perfect location, in the heart of the old town, but in a small sidestreet, very quiet. Beautiful design, room perfectly clean, very comfortable bed. Friendly staff, special thanks to Laurence at the recption desk!!! It's always a great pleasure to deal with specialists who are very professional and happy with their job!
Free wi-fi access would be appreciated in a hotel of this level.

We will return for sure!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ekaterina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay which I booked as a surprise for my husband's 50th birthday and it certainly lived up to our expectations! After reading lots of good reviews about this hotel I was quite confident that we would love it - and we did! From the outside as you approach the entrance ,it looks cosy and quaint (we arrived in the evening when all the candles were lit in the windows) but it is also very sophisticated and classy inside.
We found ALL the staff to be very friendly, efficient and polite and they always acknowledged us as we walked through the hotel during our stay. We had a complimentary evening meal (booked with our travel agent) and were offered 3 courses each off the menu - it was outstanding! We spent a couple of hours eating and didn't feel rushed at all, in fact, quite the opposite - the staff waiting on couldn't have been more accomodating. Our room was a Deluxe with Duomo View which was simply superb, very spacious, spotless and had everything in it you would need - they think of every detail. The location was as everybody else has said, excellent, it really is in the heart of the city with everything on the doorstep - the bus/train station is literally a 10 minute walk away and despite what others have said we found the hotel easily (printed off 'google' map). The layout of the hotel inside takes a couple of days to get used to as you have to use lifts in some parts and stairs in others but we felt this just added to the character of the place and was not a problem at all.
In short, we would not hesitate to stay here again - in fact we are talking about our next trip already! We absolutely loved our stay at the Brunelleschi and would highly recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: We had a Deluxe Duomo View room on the 3rd floor and although we did have a view of the Duomo and to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights last August and really enjoyed it.
The location couldn't be any better - right in the centre of the old town within a couple of minutes walk of the Duomo (although it's quite tricky to find even with Google Maps and GPS!).
The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful both inside and out. It really feels like a 5-star hotel and you'll look forward to coming back to it after a day's sightseeing.
The room was beautifully finished, although it was quite small and there was a bit of noise from the air-conditioning, the street and the adjoining rooms especially in the early morning. The bed is really, really comfortable!
The breakfast every morning was included in our room price and was fantastic. A beautiful room, a great selection of quality food and attentive staff.
There were a few small things that were disappointing. Some of the front desk staff were quite snooty and gave the impression that we weren't that important to them. The bar was prohibitively expensive - nearly €40 for two sandwiches, a coffee and a water. Finally, and most annoyingly, the wi-fi was very expensive in the room. On a ten day holiday in Tuscany, the Hotel Brunelleshi was the only hotel without free wi-fi, which is very disappointing considering the high quality of everything else in the hotel.
Aside from these few small gripes, we would highly recommend this hotel and if we were returning to Florence would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pignbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#54 of 410 in Florence
1,482 reviews
Uffizi
San Firenze Suites & Spa
San Firenze Suites & Spa
#4 of 410 in Florence
656 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#3 of 410 in Florence
1,544 reviews
Hotel Lungarno
#7 of 410 in Florence
1,362 reviews
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brunelleschi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brunelleschi

Address: Piazza Sant'Elisabetta, 3, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Florence
#12 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#16 Family Hotel in Florence
#20 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £137 - £587 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brunelleschi 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 4-star Hotel in Florence overlooking Brunelleschi's Cathedral is firmly established as one of the best and most famous hotels in downtown.The highly sought-after Uffizi Gallery, together with many other Museums and other primary attractions, are all within close distance. The 96 bedrooms and suites are equipped with all amenities and features of a charming property such as direct dial telephone, Internet Access, Satellite TV and in-room minibar. Wireless connectivity is available throughout, including our conference areas and the American Bar. The 4-star Brunelleschi Hotel originates from the recovered invaluable historic structures of the ancient tower named 'Pagliazza' and the medieval church of San Michele in Palchetto. For those who love going back to the past, our very own Private Museum, with exhibits unveiled during the reconstruction project, is a moment not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Brunelleschi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunelleschi Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing