We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central location”
Review of Hotel Brunelleschi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Brunelleschi
Ranked #23 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2013

The hotel is in a good central location and once you've found it for the first time, it's very convenient although finding it initially may be a little difficult, tucked away in a small piazza. The staff were friendly and helpful although we were disappointed to find that after a long journey, we had to wait well past the normal 2pm check-in time before being able to get access to our room. Despite being asked to return at different times, the room was finally ready at the third attempt. Even so, each day the servicing of the room was incomplete eg the shower gel wasn't replaced. The room we booked was a triple executive for 3 adults and despite checking with the booking agent that there would be 3 proper beds provided rather than a fold-out bed, we were disappointed that we were given a double bed and a collapsible sofa bed. Although the hotel has many good features including a good buffet breakfast, for this fundamental reason we would not stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before checking in to ensure that it is the room that you believe you have booke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eurotouristatlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHotelBrunelleschi, Direttore generale at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear Guest,
We want to thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel Brunelleschi with us. We can assure you that the information you have taken the time to provide us with will help to improve our quality of service.

All information and details that you have given will allow us to offer our guests a higher level of service. Your comments and suggestions are greatly appreciated and valued. They give us the opportunity to reflect on the current situation and to broaden our concept of hospitality.

We are very happy to learn that you found our staff friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast.

On the other side I do apologize for the delayed check in and for the bedding layout which was not as you requested to your travel agent. I will share your comments with our front office manager and make sure that these problems will be fixed immediately.

We would be honored to have you as our guest again in the future and please feel free to refer to the feedback you have provided us with when you make your next reservation. Doing so will allow us to offer you a special welcome in what we hope will be your home during your stay in Florence.

Claudio Catani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,952)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,532 - 1,538 of 2,952 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

A bit hard to arrive to the hotel but you are in: peaceful, service oriented and handsome. Very good restaurant.
Take a car park option it s mandatory as it is located in the historical city center.
Room are large and clean, very silent.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penhuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We stayed at the hotel as three couples. Our room was a good size and overlooking the street lined with shops. The bells from the Duomo woke us every morning at seven which we liked as we had breakfast fairly early. The breakfast which was included in our price was a choice of scrambled egg sausage, bacon,potato and onion and Italian style spicy beans on the hot choice. If you want fried egg then u can ask for it but u need to be aware that although omlette ,fried egg etc are offered it is charged at an extra price if it is not on the buffet table.there is also an excellent choice of cold buffet breakfast with cheeses,meat,croissants, yoghurts,fruit, cereals,fruit juices. There is the usual choice of tea/coffee but we found the tea making experience to be a little strange. The first day we had a tea pot with water that was warm in which u could put a tea bag or herbal/fruit tea in but because the water is not hot enough u end up with a weak,luke warm cup of tea.the other morning we had a flask type pot of warm water that again was not hot enough to make the tea. The coffee smelt good and there was hot milk for that and the coffee drinkers in the party loved it. All in all apart from the tea the breakfast was very good,service excellent and set us up well for the day ahead. The other two couples had slightly smaller bedrooms and found the problem of having no drawers for clothes as someone else has mentioned.One couple phoned reception to discuss this and drawers were sent up nearly straight away. The bath with shower was slippery and again when this was discussed with reception bath mats were sent up just as speedily. Bathrooms very well furbished and equipped.The hotel is only approx 3 mins walk to the Duomo, 5 mins to the Uffuzi, 5 mins to the river Arno ,10 mins to the ponte de vecchio. The tour bus that leaves from near the station is well worth the money to get a feel for the city as a whole and if u go on the yellow route it takes u to Fiesole in the hills. Would we stay at this hotel again? Yes we certainly would.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have steps with no handrail. If u have mobility probs ask for one without.ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YertizDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

I want to stay again if I go to Florence.because correspondence of the staff was very splendid and the location is near to a main sightseeing spot.When all of you go to this neighborhood to play, it is the hotel which I can recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yoshitaka_higa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

A great hotel in a fabulous location. Perfect for walking almost anywhere in the city. The staff was attentive and helpful.

The restaurant for dinner was a special, special evening. Would recommend this to anyone visiting Florence.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Arrived at the Brunelleschi for 3 nights & were advised that they were sending us to another hotel as they has a computer crash the day before & were overbooked. We are frequent travellers (4 to 5 vacations per year) & this has never happened in all the years we have been travelling. They said we would receive an upgrade when we returned the next day which turned out to be a triple room. We needed to call to have the 3rd bed removed & place the sitting area furniture ourselves. Also, the sink in the bathroom sacrificed cleanliness for style. Breakfast was mediocre at best although the servers were pleasant & attentive, ( the food at the other hotel was much better). Best thing about this hotel was the location but given that there are several well located hotels in Florence this did not compensate for the disappointing experience at the Brunelleschi.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank belgiumcatladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHotelBrunelleschi, Direttore generale at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear Guest,
We want to thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel Brunelleschi with us. We can assure you that the information you have taken the time to provide us with will help to improve our quality of service.

All information and details that you have given will allow us to offer our guests a higher level of service. Your comments and suggestions are greatly appreciated and valued. They give us the opportunity to reflect on the current situation and to broaden our concept of hospitality.

We do apologize for the unexpected sold out situation which was due to a server crash. As said you have been upgraded to a j.suite room which was prepared for three persons with a third bed in the sitting area and for which we received a last minute cancellation during your check in. We wanted to upgrade you to a nice junior suite and decided to escort you to your room first and then removing the third bed and replacing the sitting area furnitures.

We would be honored to have you as our guest again in the future and please feel free to refer to the feedback you have provided us with when you make your next reservation. Doing so will allow us to offer you a special welcome in what we hope will be your home during your stay in Florence.

Claudio Catani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

The hotel is set within the beautiful, historic centre of Florence, yet, when you walk inside, you're in a modern beautiful hotel.

I spent a few nights in Florence with my girlfriend and the hotel truly made the trip. The room was fantastic, as was the bar. I would highly recommend it.

On arrival, we were told that we were getting an upgrade - result!

Room Tip: I would advise contacting the hotel before you arrive (as I did, to confirm the booking and ask abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joelkara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#52 of 410 in Florence
1,480 reviews
Uffizi
San Firenze Suites & Spa
San Firenze Suites & Spa
#3 of 410 in Florence
655 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lungarno
#6 of 410 in Florence
1,361 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#2 of 410 in Florence
1,540 reviews
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brunelleschi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brunelleschi

Address: Piazza Sant'Elisabetta, 3, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Florence
#12 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#16 Family Hotel in Florence
#20 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £134 - £568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brunelleschi 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 4-star Hotel in Florence overlooking Brunelleschi's Cathedral is firmly established as one of the best and most famous hotels in downtown.The highly sought-after Uffizi Gallery, together with many other Museums and other primary attractions, are all within close distance. The 96 bedrooms and suites are equipped with all amenities and features of a charming property such as direct dial telephone, Internet Access, Satellite TV and in-room minibar. Wireless connectivity is available throughout, including our conference areas and the American Bar. The 4-star Brunelleschi Hotel originates from the recovered invaluable historic structures of the ancient tower named 'Pagliazza' and the medieval church of San Michele in Palchetto. For those who love going back to the past, our very own Private Museum, with exhibits unveiled during the reconstruction project, is a moment not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Jet2Holidays , Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Brunelleschi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunelleschi Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing