We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place I'll stay in Florence”
Review of Hotel Brunelleschi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Hotel Brunelleschi
Ranked #24 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Abbeville, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The only place I'll stay in Florence”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Ive stayed here several times here we I travel to Florence. The location and rooms are excellent. The staff is very helpful.
Many of the rooms have been refurbished and I greatly appreciated that in my recent stay.
Great hotel, looking forward to staying there again next year.

Room Tip: Excellent location in center of town, close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradbrou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,065
    537
    110
    34
    33
See reviews for
544
1,552
83
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Great location however must get taxi if you have lots of baggage as its hard to get in with cobble stone streets and alleys. Rooms are adequate how ever due diligence before booking is essential. Lack of a business centre and varying wifi signals around hotel. Staff were accommodative, it's a plus if you can put some phrases together in Italian as per usual when traveling through the country. Would stay again when in Florence.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wozzievacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Great hotel in a wonderful location....super modern facilities adjoined to a very old tower very close to all we needed too see.This was a sight seeing trip with a keen interest in being close to all amenities and shops,for that this Hotel allowed us to have both.Prosecco available or breakfast was a surprise to see and as has been stated by some travellers breakfast is pricey but was worth it to help kick start the day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Beautiful hotel, in a great location. However, i found the reception staff (particularly the older gentleman with grey hair) to be rude. Answering phones whilst checking us in and out, despite the fact he had two colleagues next to him, doing nothing. Subsequently he ended up charging me twice for my room (1440 euro's, instead of 720 for 3 nights). A real shame as this soured my experience and i am now having to spend time chasing for a refund.
Other points, "due to health & safety reasons" there are no iron's available for your rooms. They will of course offer you an ironing service that is ridiculously over priced....
Would i recommend this hotel to friends and family? No. For what you pay, there are definitely better options available in Florence.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralmanagerFi, Direttore generale at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been.

All information and details that you have given will allow us to offer our guests a higher level of service.

Your comments and suggestions are greatly appreciated and valued. They give us the opportunity to reflect on the current situation and to broaden our concept of hospitality.

I am very happy to learn that you find our hotel to be beautiful and in a great location, however I do apologize if the check in experience did not meet your expectations; I am sure that Mr Mario (the gentleman with grey hair), our front office manager, was highly concentrated to handle your check in personally and trying to satisfy the large number of incoming calls and requests; he is working at the Brunelleschi since twenty years and his main commitment is to exceed Clients’ expectations.

As far as the credit card charge is concerned please refer to the information sent to you via e.mail dated August 15th 2013 where we confirm that it is not true that a double charge of €uro 720,00 has been made; consequently you don’t have to spend time chasing for a refund as no refund is due.

Please feel free to contact myself directly via the below details if you are travelling to Florence again so that I may personally take care of you and your next stay.

Once again please do accept my apologies and I do hope that the remainder of your trip to Florence was almost enjoyable.


Hotel Brunelleschi
Claudio Catani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Situated right in the centre of Florence - where else could be more convenient for every essential sight. This beautiful boutique hotel has it all - including prosecco at breakfast. Elegant and expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pepita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The hotel is in the most perfect location in the very centre of Florence. It's so pretty both inside and out, with a mix of a very old building (tourists were often outside taking pictures of the old tower) with new (glass walkways and lifts joining old with new sections). Even though our modest room had little natural light, the room itself was gorgeous with very high ceilings and a chic bathroom, which more than made up for it. The turn down service in the evening was a nice surprise, which included a few sweets and a weather forecast for the next day.

I'm sure the breakfast there is amazing (the room certainly looked lovely), but it was too pricey for us. Instead we went to nearby cafes (less than a minute walk away) and had a coffee and pastry for 2-3 euros, which was brilliant too.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Cannot find a fault with the HB.
The staff were friendly and very attentive. You could not walk by without a greeting and a smile.
The location is in the centre of Florence, a minute from the Duomo and a couple from the Uffizi. train station is 10-15 minute walk.
Great restaurants and shopping right outside your door. staff made several great restaurant recommendations.
The rooms and very clean and the bathrooms are quite new and large.
Breakfast buffet was great.
Will certainly stay there again if we get the chance.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tack44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 412 in Florence
3,502 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#28 of 412 in Florence
1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#63 of 412 in Florence
1,372 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 412 in Florence
800 reviews
Duomo
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brunelleschi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brunelleschi

Property: Hotel Brunelleschi
Address: Piazza Sant'Elisabetta, 3, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Florence
#12 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#16 Family Hotel in Florence
#21 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brunelleschi 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 4-star Hotel in Florence overlooking Brunelleschi's Cathedral is firmly established as one of the best and most famous hotels in downtown.The highly sought-after Uffizi Gallery, together with many other Museums and other primary attractions, are all within close distance. The 96 bedrooms and suites are equipped with all amenities and features of a charming property such as direct dial telephone, Internet Access, Satellite TV and in-room minibar. Wireless connectivity is available throughout, including our conference areas and the American Bar. The 4-star Brunelleschi Hotel originates from the recovered invaluable historic structures of the ancient tower named 'Pagliazza' and the medieval church of San Michele in Palchetto. For those who love going back to the past, our very own Private Museum, with exhibits unveiled during the reconstruction project, is a moment not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Brunelleschi, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Brunelleschi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunelleschi Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing