We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Joyous Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Brunelleschi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Brunelleschi
Ranked #20 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Joyous Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

What a joy staying at Hotel Brunelleschi was. Everything was perfect. The central location is ideal for exploring the city, and as the hotel is neatly tucked away, there was no problem with noise from the surrounding area. The room was superbly appointed with an understated elegance. The service was exemplary from reception through to the waiting staff at breakfast; everyone was friendly and obliging. I thoroughly recommend this charming hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank armen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralmanagerFi, Direttore generale at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comment, it afford us to improve our services and to continue our promise to reach our Guests’ expectations. We are very happy to learn that was a joy stay with us. We are happy to understand that you appreciated the central location of our hotel, the elegance of room interior design and above all the behaviour of our staff. The courtesy and the welcoming way are the most important attitude.
We suggest you to visit the Hotel Brunelleschi’s page on Facebook or the magazine in our web site to be kept up dated on all kind of news and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at Hotel Brunelleschi.
With our best regards,

Claudio Catani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,953
    512
    105
    32
    30
See reviews for
491
1,480
80
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights for a city break and were bowled over by this lovely little hotel. Located right in the middle of Florence, 2 streets from the cathedral and Duomo. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by the front desk. Check-in was very efficient and we were quickly escorted to our room and shown around. We were also asked if we would like to enjoy a special dinner; a tasting menu served with local quality wines. The cost was 64€ a head, very good value for the centre of Florence. More of that later.
Our room was situated on the first floor and looked out over Via dei Calzaiuoli, which was lovely, as when you opened the shutters and windows, the sound of chatter from the people in the street drifted up into the room, Florence is mainly pedestrianised apart from authorised vehicles so traffic noise is at a minimum.
The room decor was very tasteful. Classic and modern beautifully put together, top marks to their chosen designers. The quality of the bed linen was top notch, silky smooth cotton and sumptuous pillows. The room had all amenities, room safe, fridge, mini-bar, tea & coffee (I particularly liked the mugs they provided), wi-fi, large screen TV, phone, room service, toiletries, the list goes on. The bathroom was a good size, except for the shower. If I were to mark the hotel down on anything it would be this; the rain shower was great with good pressure, but the shower cubicle itself was so small you had to switch the shower off to wash because you couldn't step out from underneath it. For a few days you could put up with it, but any longer and it would have become tedious.
Our special dinner was served in the tower part of the hotel in a little intimate room with no more than approx 18 covers. There were five delicious courses, started off with a glass or Prosecco and accompanied by 3 very luscious red wines, the last being one of the nicest Barolo's I have ever tasted (Prunotto Barolo d.o.c.g.).
Breakfast was served in a lovely high ceiling room with beautiful crystal chandeliers. There was plenty to choose from; cold meats, cheese, pastries, bread, fresh baby tomatoes, mozzarella balls, scrambled eggs, bacon etc. The coffee was very good and a special mention for the fruit juices which were all freshly squeezed.
All the public areas of the hotel were decorated to the same high standard as the rooms, making it feel like five star luxury. The concierge service also deserves a mention as they are so helpful and very knowledgeable, and if they don't know the answer they will find out for you, right away!
To sum up, if you are visiting Florence and want to stay in a small, well run hotel that is both beautiful and well situated, you couldn't beat Hotel Brunelleschi, I guarantee you will have a very pleasant stay indeed.

Room Tip: Room 114 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BracknellTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralmanagerFi, Direttore generale at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Guest,
We truly appreciate your desire to share with us your positive experience at the Hotel Brunelleschi, it allows us to improve our services and to continue our commitment to meet our Guests’ expectations.
Your comments and suggestions are greatly appreciated and valued. They give us the opportunity to reflect on the current situation and to widen our idea of hospitality.
We are very pleased to learn that your arrival in our Hotel was warmly greeted and efficient. We are glad you found your room on the first floor lovely and well decorated and not less important with all the amenities you need, such as comfortable bed, sumptuous pillows, room safe, wi-fi, tea&coffee and so on and we are happy that you appreciated the view over Via dei Calzaiuoli, in the Florence downtown.
Even more we are pleased you appreciated our food service with its variety in food and beverage in breakfast and we are glad you esteemed our tasting menu served with local wines in Santa Elisabetta Restaurant.
We recommend you to visit the Hotel Brunelleschi’s page on Facebook or the magazine in our web site to be kept up dated on latest news and we would be honored to have you as our guest at Hotel Brunelleschi again in the future,

With our best regards,

Claudio Catani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

This is the best hotel I have ever stayed in. Hands down. Oh sure, I've been in glitzier 5* places and I've been in cheaper 4* places, but Hotel Brunelleschi is the perfect combination of both.

Without costing the earth, this hotel delivers a beautiful building right in the heart of Florence, gorgeous suites, excellent service, great food, a plethora of facilities... I could go on and on. The only mistake I made in booking this hotel was that I didn't book it for longer! The elegantly restored historic building just adds to the charm and romance.

It is a bugger to find though - you need to get to Corso and then take an unmarked side street. The fact it's so hidden makes it even more appealing, it feels like you have to wander off the beaten path a little to find it - even though it's just a stones throw from the Duomo!

I've racked my brain to think of any negatives and the only thing I can come up with is the slightly over-complicated light switch system in the rooms!

If you are considering this hotel - book it, book it now!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelvincasing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralmanagerFi, Direttore generale at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Guest,
We want to thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at the Hotel Brunelleschi with us. We can assure you that the information you have taken the time to provide us with will help to improve our quality of service. All information and details that you have given will allow us to offer our guests a higher level of service. Your feedback and suggestions are very appreciated and esteemed. They give us the opportunity to reflect on the circumstance and to broaden our concept of hospitality.
We are very happy to learn that you appreciated our beautiful building with its location in the heart of Florence. We are also so glad that your expectation in our gorgeous suite, in great food, in excellent service, and facilities was exceeded.
We invite You to visit the Hotel Brunelleschi’s page on Facebook or the magazine in our web site to be kept up dated on latest news and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at Hotel Brunelleschi.
Kindest regards,

Claudio Catani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Pricey but well worth it! This is a true 5 star Italian Hotel. LOVE the location. Walking distance to everywhere. We stayed in the Pool Suite (most expensive room in the Hotel) and had an outdoor area with the most amazing views of Florence!

Room Tip: Make sure to upgrade to a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robby Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralmanagerFi, Revenue Manager at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your comment, it afford us to improve our services and to continue our promise to reach our Guests’ expectations.

We are very pleased to learn how lovely you found our location in the heart of Florence, our Pool Suite with its amazing views of Florence.

We recommend you to visit the Hotel Brunelleschi’s page on Facebook or the magazine in our web site to be kept up dated on all kind of news and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at Hotel Brunelleschi.

Kindest regards

Beatrice Farioli
Management Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

The Hotel Brunelleschi and its staff exceeded all of our expectations. Upon arrival, we were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to their suite. What a great room with great views of the Duomo. Some of our most memorable Florence moments were just hanging out and drinking wine on our terrace. The hotel is perfectly located, close to everything, with its entrance on a quiet side street. It's modern, clean and the staff is welcoming and helpful.The breakfast was good, with extensive offerings in a nice dining room. We ate in their osteria one night for dinner which was great too. I would definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Consider booking their suite. It has a huge bathroom and a great terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDoge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralmanagerFi, Revenue Manager at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your desire to share with us your positive experience at the Hotel Brunelleschi, it allows us to improve our services and to continue our commitment to meet our Guests’ expectations.
Your comments and suggestions are greatly appreciated and valued. They give us the opportunity to reflect on the current situation and to widen our idea of hospitality.

We are very happy to learn that our Hotel exceeded your expectation in cleanliness, location breakfast food service and dinner at Osteria as well as we are happy you appreciated the attitude of our welcoming and helpful staff. We are glad that you really enjoyed our suite with great view of the Duomo from its terrace.

We suggest you to visit the Hotel Brunelleschi’s page on Facebook or the magazine in our web site to be kept up dated on latest news and we would be honored to have you as our guest at Hotel Brunelleschi again in the future.

Kindest regards

Beatrice Farioli
Management Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plantsville, CT
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I'm happy to say that I finally made it to Florence! Although it was a very short visit (only about 20 hours, and part of this time I was asleep), it was enough for me to realize the 'magic' of this beautiful city! The first thing that was very apparent to me was that you should NOT drive if the purpose of the trip is to visit the historical city center! Even for the experienced driver it is extremely difficult to navigate the streets of Florence. Two-way streets can barely fit one car through, let alone two! And of course there are areas marked that say 'Area Pedonale', which means 'Pedestrian Area' so naturally an American tourist will avoid turning in those streets; little did I know that you can (and need to) actually turn in those streets in order to get to where you're going to!
So the first challenge (and only) was getting to the Hotel Brunelleschi......after following the navigation system around the same area about 3 times, I finally called the hotel and spoke to Sergio (Front Desk/Concierge) who guided us to the same area we had passed multiple times, and then when we got closer to the hotel he had the Bellman step outside and guide us the rest of the way for the last 2 turns! Sergio stayed on the phone with me until we safely made it to the courtyard!
The hotel has historical significance dating back to the 6th and 7th centuries, part of it once being a church and the tower part at one time being a women's prison. What is so beautiful about this hotel is the fact that they have preserved the historical aspect of it but yet have remodeled it to make it one of the most luxurious hotels in all of Florence!
The location is absolutely perfect, in my opinion! For someone wanting to be in the historical part of Florence there really is no better location, no better hotel, than The Brunelleschi. It is a stone's throw from Ponte Vecchio, and also from Piazza della Signoria, the 'leather market' and so many cafes, restaurants, gelaterias, etc. It is a very unique gem, no 'cookie-cutter' look for this place! And better yet is the staff, starting with Claudio Catani, the General Manager, and then on to Sergio, Antonella, and Stefano. In my short stay each and every person that I came in contact with was extremely (and genuinely) pleasant, and greeted every guest that they passed by.
With flat-screen huge TV's, Nespresso coffee makers & electrical outlets for U.S. appliances, EXTREMELY comfortable beds, nice sized rooms, beautiful marble bathrooms with great water pressure (I know it seems like a silly thing to point out, but it is important!), free WiFi, the list goes on & on to keep the American tourist happy! The rooms are beautifully and carefully decorated, very elegant, but not formal & stuffy. The fabrics are luxurious, and the linens are amazing!

I have to say it is one of the most impressive hotels that I have ever had the opportunity to stay at in Europe. It is unique, beautifully situated, luxurious, and as I previously mentioned has a great staff! I will recommend it every opportunity that I have!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vira918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralmanagerFi, Revenue Manager at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at the Hotel Brunelleschi with us. We can assure you that the information you have taken the time to provide us with will help to improve our quality of service. All information and details that you have given will allow us to offer our guests a higher level of service.
Your feedback and suggestions are very appreciated and esteemed. They give us the opportunity to reflect on the circumstance and to broaden our concept of hospitality.

We are so much happy to learn that you loved the city of Florence. We are glad you appreciated our central location, our historical but renewed building and our nice sized room with everything you need like US appliance, comfortable bed, flat-screen television, coffee maker, free WiFi an so on. But above all we are glad you appreciated the attitude and the courtesy of our pleasant staff.

We invite You to visit the Hotel Brunelleschi’s page on Facebook or the magazine in our web site to be kept up dated on latest news and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at Hotel Brunelleschi.

Kindest regards

Beatrice Farioli
Management Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed here on our honeymoon in June. It was a very modern, beautiful hotel. The room was small, but luxurious and had everything we needed. It did feel a little bit "posh" for us but I guess that's what you pay for!
I also queried our bill on check out after we were charged $50 for a couple of local phone calls! Thankfully after discussion with the front desk staff they removed the charges.
The building itself is very beautiful and in a fabulous location.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kazalenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralmanagerFi, Revenue Manager at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel Brunelleschi with us. We can assure you that the information you have taken the time to provide us with will help to improve our quality of service. All information and details that you have given will allow us to offer our guests a higher level of service. Your comments and suggestions are greatly appreciated and valued. They give us the opportunity to reflect on the current situation and to broaden our concept of hospitality.

We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed our modern building and our luxurious room with everything you need.
We are sorry for the discussion with front desk staff but all is well that ends well.

We invite You to visit the Hotel Brunelleschi’s page on Facebook or the magazine in our web site to be kept up dated on latest news and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at Hotel Brunelleschi.

Kindest regards

Beatrice Farioli
Management Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#5 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brunelleschi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brunelleschi

Property: Hotel Brunelleschi
Address: Piazza Sant'Elisabetta, 3, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Florence
#12 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#16 Family Hotel in Florence
#17 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brunelleschi 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 4-star Hotel in Florence overlooking Brunelleschi's Cathedral is firmly established as one of the best and most famous hotels in downtown.The highly sought-after Uffizi Gallery, together with many other Museums and other primary attractions, are all within close distance. The 96 bedrooms and suites are equipped with all amenities and features of a charming property such as direct dial telephone, Internet Access, Satellite TV and in-room minibar. Wireless connectivity is available throughout, including our conference areas and the American Bar. The 4-star Brunelleschi Hotel originates from the recovered invaluable historic structures of the ancient tower named 'Pagliazza' and the medieval church of San Michele in Palchetto. For those who love going back to the past, our very own Private Museum, with exhibits unveiled during the reconstruction project, is a moment not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Brunelleschi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunelleschi Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing