We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Location and staff!”
Review of Hotel Brunelleschi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Brunelleschi
Ranked #23 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for two nights in January. When we checked in, the front desk staff offered us an upgrade in the tower suite....which we took! WOW! Amazing views, amazing accommodations, amazing breakfast and super helpful staff. This hotel is right in the middle of everything, walking distance from the Duomo, museums, ponte vecchio, etc. If you are driving to the hotel, watch out! This hotel is not easy to find by car, even with a gps. The room itself was super roomy, comfortable and with wonderful showers and jet tubs. I highly recommend this place and will most likely return. Walking distance from excellent restaurants and wine bars as well.

Room Tip: No room is a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank portenia99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralmanagerFi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for staying with us and for your kind words—I am delighted to hear that you did like the hotel, the room and that you appreciated our breakfast and the staff. Providing our Guests with the best possible hospitality has always been our main goal and we are more than pleased we have achieved it with you.

Thanking you again for your wonderful comments, we look forward to your next visit for another extraordinary experience and we invite You to visit the Hotel Brunelleschi’s page on Facebook or the magazine in our web site to be kept up dated on latest news.

Best regards

Rita Panebianco
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,916)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,277 - 1,283 of 2,916 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

Had a wonderful stay at this hotel late Dec’13. We had booked the family room for 4 of us, which was 2 spacious rooms connected. Room had all modern amenities, beds were very comfortable and bathrooms were great. Location of this hotel is excellent, short walk to all the attractions. Breakfast was fabulous. Hotel staff was friendly and attentive. Sergio(at concierge) was very helpful in booking private guides in Florence and in Venice. Overall, loved the hotel, if we come back to Florence will definitely stay here. Absolutely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ids_sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralmanagerFi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with Tripadvisor community.
We are happy to learn that you did like room and the location. We are glad you appreciated the breakfast and the staff.
We do really trust to welcoming You back again soon and invite You to visit the Hotel Brunelleschi’s page on Facebook or the magazine in our web site to be kept up dated on latest news.

With my best regards,

Rita Panebianco
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We loved our stay at Hotel Brunelleschi. The staff were great, the room was wonderful, and the daily breakfast was a great start to the day. Our only complaint is that the drain in our shower moved a little slowly. Otherwise, everything was perfect and the location couldn't be better.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralmanagerFi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing the details of your stay and your recommendations for enhancement. We are continually reviewing opportunities that will benefit all our guests.

We apologize we were not aware of the maintenance which had to be done in your room. The comment you left is very important to us. This will help us to improve our daily check that, unfortunately, failed in this case.

We would be honored to have you as our guest again in the future and please feel free to refer to the feedback you have provided us with when you make your next reservation. Doing so will allow us to offer you a special welcome in what we hope will be your home during your stay in Florence.

Rita Panebianco
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The hotel was built around the oldest tower in Florence. During my 4 days stay, there were lots of tourists in front of the hotel. The tower is now two restaurants. There are lots of characters. There is a well in it as well. It was quite pleasant to sit there for dinner and breakfast. However the quality of dinner was not so good.
It well located in heart of the city, just stone throw distance to many of many of the attractions and stores. But the entrance is not in the main street. It is better to get a taxi on your first arrival.
The staff I have met were extremely friendly.
There are more room than it looks like. The are several lifts and stairs. There are also several gates to the breakfast restaurant. You'd remember which gate you went in, then stay with it. When I first went to the restaurant. I used one gate, and I tried to leave from another gate. I was totally lost, and could not find my room at all. I wondered for 10 minutes, and I went back to the restaurant and found my way.
My room was a classic one. The shower and toilet were separated, but there is no bath. I liked the design of the room. The down set were first night, the curtain in my room was damaged. I told the reception, they promised they would sort it out Immediately, but they did not. I had the street lights whole night. The second morning, I found that the shower train was blocked. There was flood in the room. Again, they did not fix it immediately. I had to request them again.
My room faces the main street, it was noisy during night and early morning.
The staff were very friendly. Breakfast was excellent. The gym was also good.

Overall, it was a nice stay. I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Check the room first. Many rooms are facing the main street not the Duomo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jadehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralmanagerFi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Guest,
We want to thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel Brunelleschi with us. We can assure you that the information you have taken the time to provide us with will help to improve our quality of service.
We are happy to learn that you appreciated the location and the staff.
We would like to let you know that The Hotel Brunelleschi hosts the oldest Byzantine tower still remained in Florence, the Tower of Pagliazza. Furthermore, it is built on the ruins of St. Michael’s Church and another antique church, Santa Maria Nipotecosa. This is the reason why there are several lifts that, however, have allowed us to connect the three buildings together.
Our breakfast restaurant is located in the heart of the three buildings. This is the reason why we have three gates to enter in.
We do apologize for the damaged curtain and for blocked shower train: we are really sorry that there was no immediately follow-up of your requests. The comment you left is very important to us. This will help us to improve our daily check that, unfortunately, failed in this case.
We do really trust to welcoming You back again soon and invite You to visit the Hotel Brunelleschi’s page on Facebook or the magazine in our web site to be kept up dated on latest news.
With my best regards,
Rita Panebianco
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

My new husband and I recently stayed at the Brunelleschi hotel for two nights on our Honeymoon. We arrived at 12 and was greater with warm smiles, we asked for a good recommendation of a restaurant with good views of the Ponte Vecchio and some options were given to us. We decided on one and the concierge Sergio phoned and booked us a table. The restaurant led us to a beautiful table overlooking the water and treated us like celebrities. Upon return to our hotel, we were told our bags had been taken up to our room and that we had been upgraded to a special room as we were on our Honeymoon.

The concierge personally escorted us to our room, showing us on the way the breakfast room, gym and other facilities. Upon arriving in our room we were blown away by the stylish furniture and interior decoration. The suite was Huge, we had a separate lounge room, double ensure, wir, and a four poster bed. The concierge opened the curtain in the bedroom, and behold the Duomo in full sunset glory. We were speechless!!

On the desk was a bottle of champagne on ice with compliments of the staff and general manager with a personal note, congratulating us on our nuptials.

We had traveled for 5 weeks all over Italy, France and Switzerland and this hotel was by far the most romantic, thoughtful, perfectly located. Wonderful service. Amazing helpful concierge who couldn't do enough for us.

Breakfast was incredible. A 5 star experience and the highlight of our honeymoon.

Thank you so much to all the staff, they were beyond outstanding and a special mention to Sergio for all his tips and tricks..

We will be back!!

Room Tip: Go for gold and spend the most you can afford. The suites are breath taking. Worth every cent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alishia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralmanagerFi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comment, it afford us to improve our services and to continue our commitment to meet our Guests’ expectations. We are very happy to learn that was a joy stay with us. We are happy to understand that you appreciated the the room, the location, our breakfast, the service,and our staff.
We suggest you to visit the Hotel Brunelleschi’s page on Facebook or the magazine in our web site to be kept up dated on all kind of news and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at Hotel Brunelleschi.

With our best regards,

Rita Panebianco
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed here in December 2013 with my partner. Found a really good price for aone night stay via Tripadvisor,

The good things about thisHotel; a good quality and well presented Hotel and room. Great central location, good warm welcome and checkout. Nice breakfast included in the price.

The bad points; let down by concierge who failed to arrange wine in the room as a celebration on return from a night out. He had promised to do so and did not. The concierge also reccomended a nearby restaurant which was a complete dissapointmentafter being ripped off for over 100 Euros for a meal that was not cooked as requested when it was ordered, and remained un-eaten. A camp Maitre D arogantly billed us for food we did not enjoy or eat, despite us making our feelings known.

My partner injured herself tripping on a step exiting the restuarant, and the staff at the restaurant just stood by and made no attempt to help me or my injured partner. A disgraceful set of staff and restaurant.

. I got the feeling from the Concierge at the hotel that some sort of business relationship between the hotel and the restaurant was evient - as the Concierge was quick off the mark to defend the restaurant, without hearing from the customers or establishing the facts.I would recomend that you AVOID their restaurant reccomendations and walk about nearby to find many great restaurants nearby.

The head concierge did apologise for the hotel failing to arrange wine in the room as requested, and for the incident at the restaurant. As I was only staying for one night, his offer to make ammends on my next nightout was not helpful or suitable to make up for the hotels mistakes.

On balance, I would reccomend the hotel for its appointment and lcation, just be wary of its service and do not depend on any undertakings if they concern important personal requirements.

Room Tip: Do not rely on their restaurant reccomendations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Cambridge_Mostyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralmanagerFi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel Brunelleschi with us. We can assure you that the information you have taken the time to provide us with will help to improve our quality of service.

All information and details that you have given will allow us to offer our guests a higher level of service. Your comments and suggestions are greatly appreciated and valued. They give us the opportunity to reflect on the current situation and to broaden our concept of hospitality.

We would like to apologize for avoiding the wine in the room as promised by our concierge; a miscommunication between the concierge and the room service is the cause of the lack of service. Again we do apologize.

We are deeply sorry about what happened at the restaurant we recommended. We usually suggest Restaurants accordingly to the specific desire, in terms of atmosphere, food, location, of our Guests, trying to meet their expectations. Usually our suggestions are appreciated, as most of reviews prove.

Our concierge is well reviewed and his service most appreciated by our guests who thank him for his expert advise and his great care and attention. He his always at guest’s service with his professionalism, efficiency and kindness. He makes his knowledge of the city available to our guests and help them to have a wonderful time in Florence.

We regret to understand that you feel as it could be a commitment between our staff and city restaurants: The only connection is a professional reason, and a mutual respect to give our clients wonderful memories to take home with.

We are really happy you enjoyed the hotel and that you did like the location. We thank you for your comment regarding the breakfast and we really appreciate that you realized the attention our staff has for making the welcome and the checkout always warm and efficient.

We would be honored to have you as our guest again in the future and please feel free to refer to the feedback you have provided us with when you make your next reservation. Doing so will allow us to offer you a special welcome in what we hope will be your home during your stay in Florence.

Rita Panebianco
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The location is great for walking but our room was very very small and quite claustrophobic. There was absolutely no place to sit other than on the bed. The floor was bare and cold and rather than some sort of bedside rug they laid towels down beside the bed-- great for slipping on. The bathroom offered zero privacy- glass door. Windows could be cracked open but offered no view and no natural light. The hallways were very very long with weird slants and to get to our room we had to take two different elevators and hike through a labyrinth-like series of hallways and landings. On the positive side breakfast was nice. Given its billing as a luxury hotel I expected more.
If you stay here for the location and can overlook the rest it provides a good base camp! Front desk staff were efficient but had zero warmth.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Abby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralmanagerFi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel Brunelleschi with us. We can assure you that the information you have taken the time to provide us with will help to improve our quality of service.

We do apologize if your stay with us did not meet your expectations, nevertheless please accept the following explanations from our side :

• The entry level category room is +/- 18sqm / 195 sq ft the hotel has larger rooms in the higher categories. The room assigned responds to the one you gently booked;
• All our rooms are with oak parquet flooring so it seems really hard that the floor was cold; the towels down beside the beds are the ones used during the turndown service as our housekeeping is providing twice daily service to the Guest rooms
• The bathroom door is made of frosted glass, a reproduction of The Pazzi Chapel in Santa Croce, a masterpiece by Brunelleschi and we like to clarify that privacy in the bathroom is guaranteed.
• From your review seems that rooms has no natural light; we can confirm that of course all of our rooms have natural light
• The Hotel Brunelleschi is a combination of three buildings from different eras; byzantine and liberty , it is located in the historic center of Florence and very proud to host the oldest building in Florence, the Tower of Pagliazza, also used as a women prison in the XII century. Furthermore, it is built on the ruins of St. Michael’s Church and another antique church, Santa Maria Nipotecosa. This is the reason why there are several elevators that, however, have allowed us to connect the three buildings together. We would also like to clarify that the building is accessible to the Clients with limited mobility

We are happy you enjoyed the breakfast and the efficiency of our staff

We would be honored to have you as our guest again in the future and please feel free to refer to the feedback you have provided us with when you make your next reservation. Doing so will allow us to offer you a special welcome in what we hope will be your home during your stay in Florence.

Rita Panebianco
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#52 of 411 in Florence
1,466 reviews
Uffizi
San Firenze Suites & Spa
San Firenze Suites & Spa
#4 of 411 in Florence
647 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Santa Croce
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
#54 of 411 in Florence
1,648 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#33 of 411 in Florence
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brunelleschi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brunelleschi

Address: Piazza Sant'Elisabetta, 3, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Florence
#12 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#16 Family Hotel in Florence
#20 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £124 - £474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brunelleschi 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 4-star Hotel in Florence overlooking Brunelleschi's Cathedral is firmly established as one of the best and most famous hotels in downtown.The highly sought-after Uffizi Gallery, together with many other Museums and other primary attractions, are all within close distance. The 96 bedrooms and suites are equipped with all amenities and features of a charming property such as direct dial telephone, Internet Access, Satellite TV and in-room minibar. Wireless connectivity is available throughout, including our conference areas and the American Bar. The 4-star Brunelleschi Hotel originates from the recovered invaluable historic structures of the ancient tower named 'Pagliazza' and the medieval church of San Michele in Palchetto. For those who love going back to the past, our very own Private Museum, with exhibits unveiled during the reconstruction project, is a moment not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Brunelleschi, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Brunelleschi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunelleschi Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing