We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Brunelleschi
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Alessandra(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$255
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Il Guelfo Bianco(Florence)
US$241
US$220
Official Site
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$1,047
US$479
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA(Florence)
US$361
US$347
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$339
US$229
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$370
US$346
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Rapallo(Florence)
US$386
US$374
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$652
US$622
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Cora(Florence)
US$583
US$543
Expedia.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence La Contessina(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$762
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,010)
Filter reviews
3,010 results
Traveller rating
2,259
568
113
34
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,259
568
113
34
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssanta elisabettabeautiful hoteltower suiteperfect locationbottle of proseccoour honeymoonturn down servicean upgradehotel restauranthistoric buildingthe heart of the citytravel agentbreakfast was excellenthighly recommend this hotelaround the cornerthree nightsbeautiful room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,309 - 1,314 of 3,010 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The hotel Brunelleschi is right in the centre of Florence but tucked away in a quiet courtyard.
The hotel is luxurious with wonderful bathrooms. The bedrooms vary enormously as the building
is made up of various old buildings linked together. We thought our bedroom was too small and
had no problem with being moved to a larger room, thinking back the original room would have
sufficed.
The staff from receptionists through catering to housekeeping were wanting to please us and did.
Our three nights were an absolute treasure and we seriously mean to return to the Brunelleschi.
We can only speak as we find and that is as above.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mendelbenavigdor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralmanagerFi, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your desire to share with us your experience at the Hotel Brunelleschi, it allows us to improve our services .

Your comments and suggestions are greatly appreciated and valued. They give us the opportunity to reflect on the current situation and to widen our idea of hospitality.

We are very happy to learn that you did like the hotel and that you appreciated our staff

We would be honored to have you as our Guest at Hotel Brunelleschi again in the future. We suggest you to visit the Hotel Brunelleschi’s page on Facebook or the magazine in our web site to be kept up dated on latest news.
Kindest regards

Rita Panebianco
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I stayed at this Hotel in January 2014. We were on a 4 week European Holiday for our 25th wedding anniversary. I must say my first impressions was not good. Two things....one when we arrived to check in there was a disagreement going onto between the staff and a guest about their bill. That was fine but the person that was attending to us got involved and completely ignored our needs as in talking to them while serving us! NOT GOOD. Also we were shown to our room which was at the back of the hotel (which actually backs onto a very busy street of Florence) on the ground floor. Lets just say we got no sleep that night. I had been all around Europe at this stage and had not complained once but I cound not go another night without sleep. But in saying this the Hotel bent over backwards for us and then not only put us in a quiter room but upgraded us to a suite. VERY NICE! The positives are lovely buffet breakfast, georgous refurbished hotel and very central....you can walk anywhere. WI-FI is hopeless (and that was in both rooms). Was more expensive than alot of the hotels we stayed in but after the upgrade could not complain. One other thing we were greeted in our room with a beautiful bottle of chamange. Well done Brunelleschi for listening to your guests and rectifing problems.

Room Tip: If you want a quiter room make sure you request this and get the highest floor possible.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColletteP_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralmanagerFi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

We appreciate your desire to share with us your experience at the Hotel Brunelleschi, it allows us to improve our services .

Your comments and suggestions are greatly appreciated and valued. They give us the opportunity to reflect on the current situation and to widen our idea of hospitality.

We are very happy to learn that you did like the hotel location and that you appreciated the Buffet Breakfast.

We are really sorry if you had the impression that at your arrival the Staff ignored your needs . The rigidity, at that time, came from the fact that our staff was involved to please our Guests. Thank you anyway for your report, we’ll analyze your valuable comments to improve the attitude.

We would be honored to have you as our Guest at Hotel Brunelleschi again in the future. We suggest you to visit the Hotel Brunelleschi’s page on Facebook or the magazine in our web site to be kept up dated on latest news.

Kindest regards

Rita Panebianco
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Florence is my favourite City in Italy, so this was our third visit to the Hotel Brunelleschi and I cannot recommend it highly enough!

The hotel has recently been refurbished and it is absolutely beautiful. Our room was sumptuous, clean and very comfortable. The staff were welcoming, courteous and helpful - what more could you want!

Room Tip: We had a Classic Executive room and it was perfect for us. My one and only gripe, would be that personally, I would prefer a bath in the bathroom rather than have a wet room.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie57_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralmanagerFi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment; we are very pleased to learn how great you found our hotel, our room and our staff.

We look forward to have you soon in Florence as our Guest and we invite you to visit our page Hotel Brunelleschi on Facebook to be kept up dated on latest news

Best Regards

Rita Panebianco
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We loved everything about this hotel. EVERYTHING. However the maid service in my daughters' room was very sketchy and not consistently well cleaned. Toiletries replaced, bathroom thoroughly cleaned sometimes. Vies from my room was a wall. This is not a budget type lodging. Very elegant and the museum under the old tower is fascinating. It was revealed during restoration. There are artifacts and remnants of Roman hot baths. Staff was exceedingly charming and helpful and funny.
The breakfast selection was huge and quite varied. Shopping, galleries, historic highlights quite close. It rained every day which added a quiet element. The tourist groups were not too evident. YIPPEE. We traveled in January and early February. Perfect times for us. I would do off season everywhere. Wish I was there right now.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamansrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralmanagerFi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We want to thank You for sharing Your experience at the Hotel Brunelleschi with us.. All information and details that You have given will allow us to offer our guests a higher level of service.

We are very happy to learn that You enjoyed the Hotel Brunelleschi, that You appreciated our central location,and the breakfast.

We apologize you had the impression that the room was not well cleaned. Usually our staff is very careful and pay attention to our Guests' comfort and satisfaction. The comment you left is very important to us. This will help us to improve our service that, unfortunately, failed in this case.

We invite You to visit the Hotel Brunelleschi’s page on Facebook or the magazine in our web site to be kept up dated on latest news and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at Hotel Brunelleschi.

Kindest Regards,

Rita Panebianco
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Great loaction to explore Florence but very noisy. Our room was on the 2nd floor and the view from the window was of a very busy shopping street-noise was very loud until way into the early hours with the window open. It was unseasnobly warm when we stayed and the air con wasn't switched on in any rooms, so by 1am-2am we both woke up boiling and opened the window-not for long though as it was still very busy outside.I hate to think what the noise is like in high season! It wasn't just our room, i heard other guests moaning of waking up boiling hot.Neither of us slept well any of the 5 nights.
My husband had e-mailed the hotel and arranged private transfers with them (these were excellent but pricy!) he told the hotel twice we were staying to celebrate my very "big" birthday. Sadly no mention of this ever by anyone at the hotel.They coulld have checked from my passport that they took on arrival that we weren't trying it on. Sad as we have read since of other guests being left bubbly etc in their room for birthdays!!
When we returned to the UK my husband had also mentioned it to the hotel in London where we stopped for 1 night to see a show before returning home, What a difference, they upgradeded us and put a card and chocolates in our room. It made such a difference and really a box of chocolates costs very little to a hotel chain. Real shame that no one at The Hotel Brunelleschi could even bother to say a word to us, as i said it was a very "big" special birthday.
The welocme to the hotel wasn't overaly friendly and i had to ask many questions. I asked about the Hotel's museam but i wasn't even pointed in the right direction as to how to find it, we went and found it on our own before we went home in the end.
Some reception staff greet you, some don't even look up which can be uncomfortable when coming back at night.
We didn't have an evening meal there as it seemed a bit pricy. Breakfast was nice but not like the pictures on the website! Small mass produced (looked out of freezer) pastries which really i expected a little more.
Matheous a very nice waiter at breakfast- he was the only one who made an effort, he noticed my cappuchino was left on the table and offered me another, i informed him not to worry as they always arrived stone cold- he assured me he would make sure i got a hot cup- and he did- and every breakfast after he made a real effort. This hotel needs more staff like Matheous to make me want to stay again, he offered that personal friendly smily touch that the hotel lacks.
The website i found generally to lull me into a false sense of grandeur, i think if you can afford their big posh rooms and suites you will have a different expereince to the one we had. Our room was always well cleaned and the bathroom a decent size.
The hotel is much bigger that you probably imagine and many many rooms stretch all along down and around the very very busy shopping streets. It is the reception and dining room that are in the quiet area shown on the website.

Room Tip: Get as high as you can away from the noise on the streets!!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 58HelenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralmanagerFi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your desire to share with us your experience at the Hotel Brunelleschi, it allows us to improve our services .

Your comments and suggestions are greatly appreciated and valued. They give us the opportunity to reflect on the current situation and to widen our idea of hospitality.

We are very happy to learn that you did like the hotel location and that you appreciated the cleaning of your room.

We do apologize if your stay with us did not meet completely your expectations and we can grant you that the Brunelleschi is the same hotel with the good reviews on Tripadvisor and the same hotel which has been rewarded from “T+L 500 the world’s best hotels”.
Our commitment to exceed Guest’s expectations is very challenging and we do try hard every day to comply with it. We all consider as a privilege being at Customer’s service and have pleasure in engaging our Guests during the stay.

We do apologize if our Staff did not get the information you were travelling to celebrate your Birthday. We are used to provide special amenities for our Guests, when celebrating the Birthday while staying at the Hotel, and your Birthday date was not included in the period of your stay with us.

It has been a shame that you did not share your disappointment with us in terms of noise as a room change could have been proposed. Our windows, as many Guests have reported on Tripadvisor, are all soundproofed. Also the Hotel Brunelleschi is located right in the heart of the pedestrian area within the historical center of Florence, and overlooking the Via Calzaiuoli.

Also, we do apologize if the room was too warm: our Receptionists would have been more than happy to lower the heating temperature in your room, always ready to meet our Guests’ desire.

We are really sorry if you had the impression that the Staff wasn’t friendly and smiley. Possibly the rigidity, at that time, came from the fact that our staff was managing a very busy moment trying to meet the greater number of requests together and to please our Guests. Thank you anyway for your repor, we’ll analyze your valuable comments to improve the attitude.

We would be honored to have you as our Guest at Hotel Brunelleschi again in the future. We suggest you to visit the Hotel Brunelleschi’s page on Facebook or the magazine in our web site to be kept up dated on latest news.
Kindest regards

Rita Panebianco
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews