We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel in the Heart of Florence”
Review of Hotel Brunelleschi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Brunelleschi
Ranked #23 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I spent 3 nights at the Brunelleschi earlier this month and liked the hotel very much. Our room was lovely and well-appointed with shades of purple. The bathroom was modern, room had good internet connection, large closet, very clean, view of lovely Florence street. We were going to eat at the Tower Bar but the prices were outrageous. The breakfast was in a big room and very acceptable. I did find the staff at the front desk a little bit aloof at times. They were fine but did not exude warmth and the kind of caring I have come to expect at top notch hotels. Overall, this hotel is in a fantastic location in a historic building which has been beautifully updated. I would have no problem recommending it to anyone. It is a great 4-star property - just falls short of 5 stars.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nyc1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralmanagerFi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest

We want to thank You for sharing Your experience at the Hotel Brunelleschi with us. All information and details that You have given will allow us to offer our guests a higher level of service. We are very happy to learn that You did like the location, the room and that you appreciated our Buffet breakfast.

We are really sorry if you had the impression that the Staff at the Reception was aloof and not warm. Possibly the rigidity, at that time, came from the fact that our staff was managing a very busy moment trying to meet the greater number of requests together and to please our Guests. Thank you anyway for your report, we’ll analyze your valuable comments to improve the attitude.

The Tower Bar offers a welcoming atmosphere in a location that is a sublime mix between contemporary and ancient styles. Our Chef proposes seasonal and fresh products : the high cost of raw material needed to create high-quality dishes reflects on the sale price.

We invite You to visit the Hotel Brunelleschi’s page on Facebook or the magazine in our web site to be kept up dated on latest news and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at Hotel Brunelleschi.

Kindest Regards,

Rita Panebianco
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,892)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,171 - 1,177 of 2,893 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights in May and we loved it.

The hotel is a 20 minute taxi ride from the airport.

Upon arrival at the hotel we were greeted by friendly and helpful staff who booked us in quickly and efficiently,after which a member of staff took us and our luggage to our room.

I believe that we stayed in a standard room which was lovely and we wish that our home bedroom was like this room.It was large,with high ceilings and really nice furniture.

The en suite was also really nice,clean and modern but a large person might struggle with the shower cubicle.

Ample stowage space was supplied along with a room safe that worked.Additionally,there was a TV,desk and sofa.

The cleaners really did a great job of keeping the room very clean everyday and we appreciate this attention to duty and detail.

A good choice of buffet breakfast was available in a clean and roomy restaurant which was a pleasure to use.

The one evening meal that we had was also very good and I can thoroughly recommend the ox cheeks.......absolutely gorgeous.

Regarding location,the hotel is ideally suited as it is within a few minutes walk of the museums and galleries.We were actually about 200 yards from the Duomo cathedral.

From the entrance to the reception,to the lift,in the lift and corridors it was clean,clean,clean.So were the bar and restaurant.Which in addition to our room made our stay there very enjoyable.

If we go to Florence again,we will stay at the Hotel Brunelleschi.

Room Tip: Wear sensible,flat soled footwear as the roads and pavements in Florence are uneven and higgledy pig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trotskyCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralmanagerFi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the Hotel Brunelleschi with us. All information and details that You have given are precious to us. We are delighted you appreciated the attitude of our Staff and that you appreciated the Hotel.

We look forward to have you soon in Florence as our Guest and we invite you to visit our page Hotel Brunelleschi on Facebook to be kept up dated on latest news

Best Regards

Rita Panebianco
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Central location . Good breakfast . Beautifully decorated hotel . Comfortable practical rooms with tea and coffee facilities . Quiet , even street facing rooms due to effective double glazing . Only negative was the bar which seemed to be in a corridor and lacked any atmosphere

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralmanagerFi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for staying with us and for your kind words—we are delighted to hear that you did like the hotel and that you appreciated the breakfast and the service. Providing our Guests with the best possible hospitality has always been our main goal and we are more than pleased we have achieved it with you.

We apologize you felt the bar lacking of atmosphere: it is in the ancient byzantine tower, made with the original stones and the atmosphere celebrates, as clearly replicated throughout the entire building, the sublime mix between contemporary and ancient styles.

Thanking you again for your comment, we look forward to your next visit for another extraordinary experience and we invite You to visit the Hotel Brunelleschi’s page on Facebook or the magazine in our web site to be kept up dated on latest news.

Best regards

Rita Panebianco
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I am writing this review in the departure lounge at Pisa airport; having stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. The hotel is located in the centre of Florence (Firenze) just a few minutes walk from the Duomo. We chose to enter Florence by train and arrived from Pisa Central train station into Florence SMN. First thoughts were dampened by the appearance of the station and surrounding area - but were quickly forgotten once we entered the main centralised area in which the hotel is located after a 10 minute or so walk down the main road.

Initially, we walked to the Duomo to get our bearings. Once we knew where we were, we proceeded to the hotel down a few marked side streets.

Upon entering the hotel, we were greeted by Sergio (the guy with the antique style glasses). He seemed friendly and followed the routine of taking our passports, credit card for incidentals and quickly giving us the sales pitch for the hotel restaurants and tower, with a handy map provided to give you the location of the hotel.

Depending on what room you are in, you should be escorted to your room by a member of staff. Be advised, this hotel is set across several buildings spanning several floors. We found navigating the hotel quite simple and were located in an executive room (203), a few steps and a flight of stairs away from the breakfast hall.

The room was exquisitely decorated with a stylish and modern shower room, four poster bed in a compact but elegant bedroom and clothes storage area; all connected by a small corridor. We did not use the beverage bar, as with a lot of the amenities in the hotel, it was slightly overpriced, with a small bottle of cola costing €8. I am by no means tight, but find wasting money for the sake of laziness unacceptable, so purchased our in room drinks/snacks from a local shop at a fraction of the price.

The breakfast was without fault, located next to the main tower overlooking the front courtyard above main reception, with a buffet style selection of cereals, fruit, pastry, cold meats and cooked sausage, bacon, scrambled eggs and sliced potato, along with a selection of fresh juices and a mid-ranged Prosecco. A-la-carte options are also available with a charge. The breakfast room itself was bright and fresh, with both modern and authentic touches. Our fellow guests however were far from cheerful or engaging, alas, nothing to do with the hotel.

Our checkout was swift at 12:00, with our luggage being cared for whilst we continued to enjoy Florence.

To summarise, Hotel Brunelleschi is a modern and conveniently located hotel, with strong ties with the past. The pricing structure of this hotel is out of sync with similar hotels of it's size and rating in Florence and other cities, however, I believe you are paying not just for the room, but also for the history of the hotel and convenience that the hotel affords it's guests. Your view of the city will obviously depend on your room, so check in advance before booking if you want a view of the Duomo etc. in order to avoid disappointment.

Unfortunately, you should expect a certain degree of snobbery from some of your fellow guests in this hotel if you are young like myself and my partner, or, if your face does not fit. Expect a few looks of bemusement :)

Ces't la vie! :)

Grazie!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralmanagerFi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the Hotel Brunelleschi with us. All information and details that You have given are precious to us. We are delighted you appreciated the attitude of our Staff and the features of our Hotel. Our purpose is to offer the best breakfast in the city…we continuously improve our buffet!!

We hope that the atmosphere you lived at the Brunelleschi could reward the lack of cordiality you experienced.

We look forward to have you soon in Florence as our Guest and we invite you to visit our page Hotel Brunelleschi on Facebook to be kept up dated on latest news

Best Regards

Rita Panebianco
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Coming from Rome, our arrival to Firenze (Florence) was not as dramatic as what I expected. The charm and history of the city took me aback! The hotel is situated right smack in the heart of all the walkable places you MUST visit in Florence. From the Duomo to the Palazzo to the shopping malls...it's literally a very (very) short walk to even the train station. That's one plus to selecting this hotel. The other plus is the finely appointed rooms that are comfortable.

With that said, this hotel could have been better, except for the sort of awkward feeling that "older" people manning the reception area were snooty. Of course, because we're Asian tourists, they could have been less pretentious at being able to spend for hotel accommodations in this hotel. The younger hotel staff were, however, more accommodating.

They would have had better breakfast selections. The food was comparatively pale, especially after coming from Sofitel Villa Borghese in Rome. The selection was bland and they should have at least made the presentation of the food more appealing. I always tell people - if the breakfast in the hotel is not worth a good review, don't bother to eat in the hotel for any meal at all. Dinner at the Il Palagio of the Four Season's Hotel in Florence is a much deserving Michelin Star restaurant instead!

While the outside facade of the hotel has the Renaissance ambience, the interior of the hotel is modernistic in its appearance. There was just something lacking in the hotel, like the few amenities that should have been made more appreciable had the staff taken more efforts at services. The elevators are very small and can fit two people with ease. Add another and it would be cramped. It opens on one side as you enter the lobby and exits the opposite side as you get to your designated floor.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjamin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralmanagerFi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Guest

We want to thank You for sharing Your experience at the Hotel Brunelleschi with us. All information and details that You have given will allow us to offer our guests a higher level of service. We are very happy to learn that You did like the location, and our comfortable rooms.

We are really sorry if you had the impression that some people at the Reception wasn’t friendly and accommodating. Possibly the rigidity, at that time, came from the fact that our staff was managing a very busy moment trying to meet the greater number of requests together and to please our Guests. Thank you anyway for your report, we’ll analyze your valuable comments to improve the attitude.

We apologize you did not appreciate the breakfast selections : usually most of our Gusts like the quality and the great variety of our Buffet breakfast, as you can read in many Tripadvisor’s reviews. But our purpose is to offer the best breakfast in the city…we continuously improve our buffet!!


Hotel Brunelleschi celebrates, a mix between contemporary and ancient styles: it hosts the oldest Byzantine tower still remained in Florence, the Tower of Pagliazza also used as a women prison in the XII century. Furthermore, it is built on the ruins of St. Michael’s Church and another antique church, Santa Maria Nipotecosa. The space at disposal only allowed the existing size of the several elevators that connect the three buildings together.
.
We invite You to visit the Hotel Brunelleschi’s page on Facebook or the magazine in our web site to be kept up dated on latest news and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at Hotel Brunelleschi.

Kindest Regards,

Rita Panebianco
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We have recently spent 4 days in this wonderful city and thoroughly enjoyed this small, quiet hotel which is right in the middle of all the activity and sites.

The staff were very kind and attentive, especially the maitre, Allesandro and Rosario.

Room Tip: Air conditioning in all rooms was a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham564833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralmanagerFi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for staying with us and for your kind words—we are delighted to hear that you did like the hotel and that you appreciated the kindness of the staff. . Providing our Guests with the best possible hospitality has always been our main goal and we are more than pleased we have achieved it with you.

Thanking you again for your comment, we look forward to your next visit for another extraordinary experience and we invite You to visit the Hotel Brunelleschi’s page on Facebook or the magazine in our web site to be kept up dated on latest news.

Best regards

Rita Panebianco
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My wife and stayed here in January 2014, but only getting round to posting the review now.
We flew to Pisa, and then took the 'People Mover' Bus to Pisa Central Station and caught the direct train to Florence. Journey was around 90 minutes in total from Airport to Florence. Once in Florence, it was a nice dry & sunny day so we simply walked from the station and pulled our wheelie cases behind us. Very straightforward walk, took about 10 minutes. Head directly from the front of the rail station towards the Duomo, and turn right. Hotel Brunelleschi is a few minutes further on to the left. Initial impression was 'wow', with a beautiful reception area, with exposed stonework, antique rugs and lovely lighting. Staff were welcoming and quickly had us checked in and up to our room on 2nd Floor. Layout of hotel can be confusing at first, since it has been extended over the years and takes in several buildings at different levels, but we soon got used to it. Room itself was magnificent, a perfect mixture of modern and classic, with polished parquet flooring, and a separate walk-in closet. Bathroom was spacious with a huge shower finished in dark marble. Breakfast area was stunning, and one of the brightest and nicest rooms and displays we have ever come across in Europe. Both standard and choice of food was superb, and the staff serving could not have been more pleasant. Location is just perfect, right in the pedestrian centre of the old city and close to all of the main attractions. Florence was captivating, and has jumped to the top of our favourite cities in Europe. Should you be planning a visit, then look no further than Hotel Brunelleschi. Superb. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ulstair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralmanagerFi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment; we are very pleased to learn how great you found the hotel, location, the room, the staff and the breakfast.

We look forward to have you soon in Florence as our Guest and we invite you to visit our page Hotel Brunelleschi on Facebook to be kept up dated on latest news

Best Regards

Rita Panebianco
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#52 of 410 in Florence
1,455 reviews
Uffizi
San Firenze Suites & Spa
San Firenze Suites & Spa
#7 of 410 in Florence
643 reviews
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#30 of 410 in Florence
1,706 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#35 of 410 in Florence
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brunelleschi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brunelleschi

Address: Piazza Sant'Elisabetta, 3, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Florence
#12 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#16 Family Hotel in Florence
#20 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £126 - £448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brunelleschi 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 4-star Hotel in Florence overlooking Brunelleschi's Cathedral is firmly established as one of the best and most famous hotels in downtown.The highly sought-after Uffizi Gallery, together with many other Museums and other primary attractions, are all within close distance. The 96 bedrooms and suites are equipped with all amenities and features of a charming property such as direct dial telephone, Internet Access, Satellite TV and in-room minibar. Wireless connectivity is available throughout, including our conference areas and the American Bar. The 4-star Brunelleschi Hotel originates from the recovered invaluable historic structures of the ancient tower named 'Pagliazza' and the medieval church of San Michele in Palchetto. For those who love going back to the past, our very own Private Museum, with exhibits unveiled during the reconstruction project, is a moment not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Brunelleschi, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Brunelleschi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunelleschi Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing