We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels I've stayed in”
Review of Hotel Brunelleschi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Brunelleschi
Ranked #23 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Right in the middle of old Florence, next to the Duomo, this buiding crawls around the paved streets of the town. I literally walked over areas with windows overlooking the streets while getting to my room. Once there it was absolutely superb. Ginormous space, huge bathroom. Total luxury. I was extremely lucky and got a great rate through Jetsetter. I would definitely go again if I could afford it at standard rates!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Hersh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralmanagerFi, Manager at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comment, it afford us to improve our services and to continue our promise to reach our Guests’ expectations. We are very happy to learn that was a joy stay with us. We are happy to understand that you appreciated the central location of our hotel, the elegance of room interior design .

We look forward to have you soon in Florence as our Guest and we invite you to visit our page Hotel Brunelleschi on Facebook to be kept up dated on latest news

With our best regards,

Fabiola Menchetti
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,917)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,097 - 1,103 of 2,917 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

Great location. Hotel is very elegant and the rooms are luxurious.
Staff were all very friendly in all departments of the hotel.
We particularly enjoyed the breakfast, great variety and well cooked. Prosecco was a nice touch for breakfast.
Ideal for a city break.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Incredibly central location, but the arrangement around a quiet courtyard makes it very tranquil at the same time. Staff very charming and extremely helpful, with a knowledgeable concierge, something which is extremely useful in getting round the major sites in Florence in August - we booked tickets for Uffizi through the desk avoiding the lengthy queues. Food in the restaurant excellent and good value - a cut above the usual trattoria fare while still seemingly authentically Tuscan.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This is one of the best hotels I ever stayed in Europe. Clean and spacious. The staff is super friendly. Breakfast is excellent. Close to any possible tourist attraction in Florence. Since it's in the middle of everything, we used to drop the bag with souvenirs and it was taken straight to a room - very convenient.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ross24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The hotel Brunelleschi is obviously very beautiful and the location is great because it puts you right between the Duomo and la piazza republicca which is a beautiful square with great food, live music, and lots of activity. The people at the front desk were very nice and helpful and the waiters at breakfast were attentive and friendly. Our room was very pretty but in the room is where my complaints begin. It was very clean, no worries about anything like that, but the room seemed to be designed for aesthetics alone and convenience was not considered much at all. The bathroom was nicely sized but confusing; the controls for the faucet weren't right at the sink, no where to hang towels, etc. I wouldn't mind all this if it weren't for the shower. The shower was so small that i could barely wash my hair because i couldn't move my arms away from my side. I am not a very large person, I'm about 5'5" and i'm of average weight. My mom who I shared the room with is even smaller, about 5'1" and has a petite build and she experienced similar problems, neither of us could shave our legs in the shower without immense difficulty; additionally the water poured from a very large square faucet from above my head that covered basically the entire area of the shower making it very difficult to not have water surging into my eyes and mouth at all times. I was very uncomfortable in the shower. Perhaps if they chose to forgo the bidet, there would be more room for a normal sized shower. The beds were fine and the space in the room was fine. There was no clock which i found weird and difficult for trying to be ready for tours on time etc. My last complaint is about breakfast. I know Europeans don't eat the same breakfast americans eat but I felt my choices at the included buffet were limited. For the average american breakfast eater there was a choice of unappetizing scrambled eggs, pastries (which were very good), "bacon" (which while good was not bacon), toast, and fruit. While pastries and fruit is yummy, I always left breakfast very hungry because I'm used to a full real breakfast. the cappuccinos were amazing but other wise i was not impressed. additionally one morning i ordered pancakes (and paid 9 euros for them) and the single pancake topped with some strange custard and melon and strawberries was the most disgusting pancake i've ever had. it was hard and tasteless.
Overall, this is a beautiful hotel and is very clean, but it had a difficult layout (at least 2 different elevators to get to our 2nd floor room!), bad breakfast, and a strange and inconvenient bathroom. very nice location but not worth the price.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Meagan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralmanagerFi, Direttore generale at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel Brunelleschi with us. We can assure you that the information you have taken the time to provide us with will help to improve our quality of service.

All information and details that you have given will allow us to offer our guests a higher level of service. Your comments and suggestions are greatly appreciated and valued. They give us the opportunity to reflect on the current situation and to broaden our concept of hospitality.

We are very glad to learn that you did enjoy our location and that you found our front desk staff very nice and helpful and the waiters at breakfast attentive and friendly.

We do apologize for your discomfort you experienced in the bathroom; we are not able to relate your comment to your booking so no way to understand which room category you booked. We can only inform the readers that the Hotel Brunelleschi has different categories of room with different sizes of bathrooms and bedrooms. Floor maps are available in our web site and it shouldn’t be difficult to find the ideal room for an unforgettable stay in Florence.

Also we are glad to learn that you did enjoy part of our breakfast (cappuccino and pastries) and sorry that you didn’t like some items on the buffet; of course this is very personal. Our commitment is to meet the expectations of the larger number of Clients; our breakfast is rated 5,9/6,0 on our internal quality control system but…. There is still possibility to improve and we must thank you again for your honest feedback.

We would be honored to have you as our guest again in the future and please feel free to refer to the feedback you have provided us with when you make your next reservation. Doing so will allow us to offer you a special welcome in what we hope will be your home during your stay in Florence.


Claudio Catani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed here a few days to visit Florence, and the hotel is in an excellent location. The staff were all great and friendly. Shopping streets as well as places to visit are just around the corner, so very easy to find your way around.
Value was good as with two singles beds we got a suite, with sitting room, walk in wardrobe, big bathroom and large shower room and jacuzzi bath!
Great views from the fifth floor of piazza duomo and the museo.
Would highly recommend a stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnFR99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel for a small conference and the service was accommodating, the food was above average, great breakfast, fantastic location.
Beds very comfortable, bathrooms modern with plenty of vanity counter space for toiletires. Wooden floors in the bedrooms so we felt the floor was clean. Lots of wardrobe space with real hangers. The rooms were well lit. The desks in the room had multiple power points for all the gadgets between a couple.
Design is modern.
The only complaints we made were : 1) In-room air conditioning goes off after midnight, I think it is around 2 or 3 a.m. Complained multiple times before it was adjusted, by which time we were leaving. 2) Certain rooms that face the street were noisy when the windows were opened for ventilation - refer to point 1). Tried opening the windows as it was quite cool in April since the air-conditioning was switched off. Bad idea. Didn't get much sleep. 3) This is a hotel made up of 3 or 4 old Florentine houses. The first two days were spent going up and down staircases looking for the conference room. Good for stimulating an aging brain as the younger members didn't have the same problem in getting their bearings on the first day.

Room Tip: If you need a very quiet room, choose a room that faces the courtyard. You will not have any views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank marigo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#52 of 411 in Florence
1,466 reviews
Uffizi
San Firenze Suites & Spa
San Firenze Suites & Spa
#4 of 411 in Florence
647 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Santa Croce
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
#53 of 411 in Florence
1,651 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#33 of 411 in Florence
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brunelleschi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brunelleschi

Address: Piazza Sant'Elisabetta, 3, 50122, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Florence
#12 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#16 Family Hotel in Florence
#20 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £122 - £454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brunelleschi 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 4-star Hotel in Florence overlooking Brunelleschi's Cathedral is firmly established as one of the best and most famous hotels in downtown.The highly sought-after Uffizi Gallery, together with many other Museums and other primary attractions, are all within close distance. The 96 bedrooms and suites are equipped with all amenities and features of a charming property such as direct dial telephone, Internet Access, Satellite TV and in-room minibar. Wireless connectivity is available throughout, including our conference areas and the American Bar. The 4-star Brunelleschi Hotel originates from the recovered invaluable historic structures of the ancient tower named 'Pagliazza' and the medieval church of San Michele in Palchetto. For those who love going back to the past, our very own Private Museum, with exhibits unveiled during the reconstruction project, is a moment not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Brunelleschi, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Brunelleschi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunelleschi Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing