We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for everything!”
Review of Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Roma
Ranked #108 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Erskine
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location for everything!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We strayed here for four days as a base for our sightseeing and touring of Italy. Rooms were clean and pleasant. Hotel is within a very short walking distance of the train station and walking distance to main attractions. Coming out of hotel to the right is a pub called "The Fiddler's Elbow" situated right on the square where we enjoyed a few drinks. To the left at the end of the square and on the left hand side of the road was a reasonably priced restaurant ( for Italy) called "La Cantinetta", food and particularly the wine was good. You can sit outside if you don't mind being close to the road but it didn't bother us. We enjoyed our stay here and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey10Erskine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    302
    111
    30
    20
See reviews for
186
268
34
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Puget Sound
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Lovely large room with a fabulous view from the top floor. Easy access by foot to all major sites in Florence. Concierge was very helpful with planning dinners and recommending restaurants. Easy access to the rail station, and delightful Irish pub right next door for late night last call before heading to bed.

Room Tip: Opt for a top floor room if possible. Amazing views down into the piaza below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZGSkiGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpellier, France
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The hotel is well situated at walking distance of the city center and close to all historic buildings. The rooms are ok but the bathroom/shower seemen a little bit out of time.
Breakfast was ok but a very limited choice and for a 4 star the bar was below standard.
All in all a good rest a a decent price (expensive Parling outside the hotel though) but below our expectations

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the HR. It's convenient to the train station (walking distance and also the place where tour buses depart), to historic sites and great food. They gave us 2 adjoining rooms for 4 people (kids in one, parents in the other). The breakfast was good, not special. The staff was excellent. They were helpful with recommendations for tours, dining, directions, etc. There was always more than one person available and they were very attentive.

The side of the hotel we stayed on was close to an alley where there were scooters coming and going all night so it was a bit noisy.

We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Check out other sides of the hotel, not near the alley or front due to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MM_from_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tokyo
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

The location is good and bad. It is near the SMN station so you can walk from the station to the hotel with your luggage without any difficulties. It is easy to find as it's location is the famous Santa Maria Novella Plaza. It is near all the museums and attractions as well. However, because of the location, you can also experience inconvenience due to noise. You cannot sleep at night because there are so many people outside till late. Also, when I was there, they had this music and dancing event outside and was very noisy.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikik85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I am a picky hotel guest, and was pleasantly surprised with Hotel Roma. We walked about 5 minutes from the train station, rolling our bags over the stone walks. Our room was not ready, as it was morning, so the staff kindly stowed our bags and had them delivered to our room when it was ready. The front desk staff were helpful and courteous. They also provided a rollaway bed as requested, and it fit nicely in the generously appointed room. The room was tastefully decorated, clean, with a comfy bed, a spacious bath and a small refrigerator. We also appreciated the free Wifi! I would recommend Hotel Roma to travelers based on its great location, proximity to the heart of the city, and all of the comforts afforded. I couldn't have been more pleased!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunlovingChar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We read a review on trip advisor about Hotel Roma and booked it since this hotel could accommodate 4, since we were traveling with our 2 adult children. It had one double, one single and a fold out sofa seat. It was our last 2 nights in Italy and the location could not have been more perfect being less than 3 blocks from the Duomo. The rooms were clean and the bathroom was large,( though done in kelly green tile of the 80"s). The hotel lobby is even a more strange teal color as viewed on their website. The front desk staff is not the friendliest and I would not eat at any of the restaurants they recommended. But food was hard to top after staying at Il Paluffo Villa in Chianti Tuscany,(which was a wow!) However, the location on Santa Maria Novella Piazza was perfect and very central to everything. We based our walking tour of Florence on Dan Brown's book "Inferno", and hit all the spots and artwork he mentioned, which kept our children motivated in touring. We also climbed to the top of the Duomo in the evening when crowds were non existent(all the tour buses had left by 5) and it was cooler. I would also get to the Palazzo Vechio early in the morning around when it opens to avoid the tour bus crowds as well. Buying tickets is very slow process(and the workers are NOT friendly). Overall I would recommend this hotel based on cleanliness and location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#29 of 411 in Florence
1,632 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#53 of 411 in Florence
1,937 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#43 of 411 in Florence
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel de La Ville
Hotel de La Ville
#67 of 411 in Florence
766 reviews
San Lorenzo
Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze
Santa Maria Novella
Domus Florentiae Hotel
Domus Florentiae Hotel
#205 of 411 in Florence
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roma

Property: Hotel Roma
Address: Piazza Santa Maria Novella 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#112 Family Hotel in Florence
#122 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Roma is a 4-star hotel in the centre of Florence. It is housed in an ancient 18th-century palazzo overlooking Piazza Santa Maria Novella, one of the not-to-be-missed places for those visiting Florence. The hotel is the ideal place for every type of stay: for artistic and cultural tourism, business, fun and shopping. Hotel Roma of Florence is in an excellent location and has all the amenities while preserving the charm typical of historic Florence hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roma Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing