We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and great service”
Review of Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Roma
Ranked #107 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great location and great service”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The Hotel Roma is only a few minutes walk from the main railway station and is situated on a lovely square. All the staff we met at the hotel were very welcoming and helpful. There was a particularly lovely man who we met both serving in the bar and also in the breakfast room. He couldn't have been nicer - and seemed genuinely to be interested in helping the guests. Our room, like a lot of the rooms, overlooked the square which was a super view however even on the 3rd floor there was quite a lot of noise overnight from people in the square and then the inevitable cleaning up that goes on. If you're sensitive to noise you might like to ask for a room on the other side of the hotel. The room and the bathroom were both a reasonable size and both were very clean and pleasant. The breakfast was what you typically find in an Italian hotel and there was lots of choice. If you choose not to include breakfast there are plenty of places around for a lovely coffee and pastry before you begin your day's exploring.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back should be quieter but would lack a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue-at-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    300
    109
    29
    20
See reviews for
180
265
34
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Splendidly located albergo - Piazza Santa Maria di Novella,this explains everything.I did stay at this hotel three times and I do consider it as acceptable place to spend couple of nights,remembering,that the main reason to be in Florence is to be OUT of hotel.Hotel room is a place to sleep,change and get ready for the next adventure.However,if you want highly sophisticated place,with SPA,swimming pool and all that jazz,this is not THE place.Staff is very friendly,helpful and professional,location ( as said above),second to none.The ambiance of old oppulence still persist and is very pleasant.Be aware,that the bus load of tourist can block reception area for an hour,but this does not happen all the time,only morning (departure ) and evening (arrival).
Rooms are adequate (see purpose of staying),clean and well appointed,batrooms as well.
For guests arriving by car - valet parking available and garage will arrange all formalities related to entering traffic restricted zone.
Breakfast typical for hotel fare,quite forgetable.
Good value for money,great location and professional staff

Room Tip: As for all hotels located at the Piazza Santa Maria di Novella - if you are noise sensitive,avoid pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boguslaw W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I was in Florence for a study abroad trip for grad school. Myself and 23 others were staying at Hotel Roma. Some of the rooms are very nice, clean, and well-updated. Mine was not. It looked like the furnishings and bed linens were about 20 years old. There was nearly no space in the bathroom. The edge of the toilet seat was literally 6 inches from the edge of the sink. You can imagine the logistical problems there. I could have dealt with all of that though.

The last night my fellow students and I were to be in Florence, we all went out for dinner around 7. We were all back by 8:30. While we were gone, at least 4 of our rooms had been "broken into", meaning that someone had used a key to get into them. My iPad, my roommate's iPhone and my professor's laptop and iPad were all stolen. Two other rooms were left with their doors wide open. The front desk clerk swore that the keys never left her sight and that she never left her post, but frankly, it was just all too coincidental for it not to have been an inside job. To top it all off, the police in Florence apparently don't go to crime scenes. You have to go to them, and since we were all leaving either that night or the next morning, there was really nothing we could do.

Hotel Roma has definitely lost my business, and I'm sure they have lost my University's business as well. I hope that anyone who reads this review will be wise and steer clear of this corrupt business establishment.

Room Tip: If you insist on staying at Hotel Roma, then be sure to insist that you stay in a recently updated r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

So my wife and I used Hotel Roma as our base for a 3 night stay in Florence. As we were flying into Pisa and getting the train across to Florence, I decided that I would book us into a hotel that is close to the railway station.

Hotel Roma was a great choice as it is only a few minutes walk from the station and on the way there are a few coffee shops and restaurants - we needed to kill an hour before the 2pm check-in, so this was perfect. Staff were very friendly and the ambience of the place is very peaceful. The room was clean and, in our view, well appointed. We were at the front of the hotel, so it was a little noisy with the ambulance station opposite and lots of people walking by having fun, but this didn't bother us enough to use the earplugs we had brought with us having read other reviews. I guess we were so tired every night after the many activities we packed in during the days that it wasn't a problem.

All in all, a great choice and a good base as the sightseeing buses all go from the train station and take you all round the city - almost all of the main sights are within ten minutes of their nearest bus stop. It is well worth getting a sightseeing bus ticket - we got one for 48 hours and used it loads.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

The biggest plus is the staff! Very friendly and helpful. I was in Florence with my family over the day and we were all too tired and wet to drive back to Lucca. In the search for a room in the city many hotels were either full or overpriced. Almost giving up when we entered Roma and got both hospitality and a very good room at a very good price! Totally exhausted but happy we stretched out on the beds.
Very good breakfast must be added. If I must come up with a slight negative aspect, it is that it was rather noisy at times. But a couple of earplugs are cheap and is something one always should have in the packing.
Again, lovely staff! And, too bad I missed the bar that looked great...

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jonas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This hotel is just 5 minutes off the train station, and can access to all the main attractions with ease. It is clean and probably the nicest one we had in our trip. The staffs are very professional and nice.
Our room somehow has air conditioning problem, luckily for us, it was not hot, so having the fan on was just fine. The hotel staffs tried several times to correct the issue but failed. They offered us another room the second night while allowing us to keep the original - meaning we will have two rooms! On our way out, they also apologized repeatedly and gave us some gifts.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We weren't booked at Hotel Roma, but due to a computer issue where our original hotel was overbooked, they moved us to Hotel Roma. And I think we got a real upgrade. Hotel is off a big open square just 5 min from train station. Areas around train stations are often questionable, but not the case for the most part in Florence. Particularly when the square is associated with a big church that is a great buffer between the square and the train station. Our room was not facing the square, which would have been nice, but was at the rear of the hotel on the 4th floor. As such we had a nice view of the cool rooftops in Florence AND the Duomo of Florence Cathedral. This view only from 4th and 5th floor, so we were lucky. The room was quite spacious and very clean. Courteous staff, nice lobby and breakfast. And only a 10 minute walk to everything Florence is known for.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tisidor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Domus Florentiae Hotel
Domus Florentiae Hotel
#190 of 422 in Florence
368 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#31 of 422 in Florence
1,622 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#42 of 422 in Florence
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Grand Hotel Minerva
Grand Hotel Minerva
#52 of 422 in Florence
1,906 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#66 of 422 in Florence
1,604 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#70 of 422 in Florence
1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roma

Property: Hotel Roma
Address: Piazza Santa Maria Novella 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#67 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#112 Family Hotel in Florence
#122 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Roma is a 4-star hotel in the centre of Florence. It is housed in an ancient 18th-century palazzo overlooking Piazza Santa Maria Novella, one of the not-to-be-missed places for those visiting Florence. The hotel is the ideal place for every type of stay: for artistic and cultural tourism, business, fun and shopping. Hotel Roma of Florence is in an excellent location and has all the amenities while preserving the charm typical of historic Florence hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roma Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing