We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel within a walking distance from all major sights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Ranked #68 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great hotel within a walking distance from all major sights”
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We stayed at Laurus in August 2011 during our Italian trip.
The hotel is centrally positioned within a walking distance from all major sights and a train station. Literally, few minutes walk to everything but Palazzo Pitti.
We got a room on the top floor with the great views almoust in all directions (see attached photos). The room was spacious and clean with a balcony. There is in-room Internet, safe, TV, and all other standard amenities.
The hotel had a free daily buffet breakfast with a nice selection of basics: cereals, pancakes, coffee, etc.
We haven't had a single problem during our stay. Check-in/check-out was seamless and fast.
I would definitely stay again at Laurus if I'm in Florence.

Room Tip: any room on a top floor - amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank igost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 8 January 2012
Dear sir,
we thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in Florence, and we thank you for kind and appreciated comment about our structure and our staff.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Hoping to have the pleausure to welcoming you again, we remain.
Best regards and greetings from all of us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    824
    618
    114
    28
    20
See reviews for
287
933
29
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

2 minutes from the Duomo, 5 from the train station, 10 from David & the Ufitzi & in the heart of everything else. Comfortable beds, spacious (European) rooms, updated showere, hearty breakfast, clean & well maintained. While the 6th floor patio is nice, we were lucky enough to get one of the two (rooms 701 & 704) rooftop balconies attached to our room. Nothing like your own personal view of the Duomo. Excellent value. Can't comment on the previous reviews about the staff as we didn't ask them for much, but they were courteous to us. Definitely staying there again when we come back.

Room Tip: 701 & 704 have rooftop balconies with private views of the Duomo & the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Garrett G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 29 December 2011
Dear Sirs,
we thank you for your kind comments about our hotel and our staff.
We really hope that you'll want to choose again our hotel during your next stay in our beautiful city.

Greetings from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Great location, great view on rooftop. Nice breakfast. Clean rooms (BIG rooms), hard bed. Free Wifi. Not friendly staff. Front desk people think they are doing you a favor by checking you in. If having a friendly staff is important to you, stay someplace else.

Room Tip: All about the same as far as we could tell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 27 December 2011
Dear Mr David W,
thank you for choosing Florence for your destination and our Hotel for your stay.
Thank you for your kind comments on our structure.
Guest satisfaction is the aim of our Management, for this reason we were surprised and disappointed about the complaints about our front desk staff.
How can you learn from a number of comments left by other Guests, one of our strengths is just the kindness of our front desk staff, so in this case will excuse us if we were not up to your expectations.
We wish to inform you that our Hotel adheres to the ethos Life Beyond Tourism to help visitors familiarize with the cultural identity of their desitnation while at the same time promoting familiarity with cultural diversity, thus making an important contribution to intercultural dialogue.
In fact, we consider you a Guest of our city, then a Guest of our Hotel. For us, that means that you are first and foremost a friend, rather than "just a client".
For this reason we do not want us to remember only a good hotel with " a not friendly staff".
Therefore, our front desk staff would like to have the pleasure to welcoming you again to show you more about our Life Beyond Tourism project.
Please fell free to contact us plannig your next trip to Florence.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Real glad I picked this hotel... I did so based on previous reviewers, location and rooftop deck..Was the right decision..it is a half block from Duomo, everything is close and Florence is much easier to get around then Rome...you could walk everywhere from this hotel. It was a classy hotel and everyone was very nice & professional. It was clean, clean, spotless..we had rm#603, it had a small patio on the 6th floor and across from the rooftop, which was great..breakfast is served on the roof top and drinks & snacks at night..just beautiful....we would return there to the hotel in a heart beat....can not go wrong..Thank you Hotel Laurus, Virginia & Joe..look forward to seeing you in the future...

Room Tip: room 603 was great, and had a deck..wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZEBRAQUEEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 27 December 2011
Dear Sirs,
Thanks for choosing our Hotel and thanks for your kind and aprreciated comments about our room, our services and our staff!
We really hope to welcoming you soon again in Florence!

Greetings from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

You cannot pick better location! The hotel is a few blocks from the train station, Duomo, Shopping, David, Ufitzi. I was only in Florence for one night but I got to see everything I wanted! Gorgeous view if the Duomo from the rooftop lounge. A very nice breakfast was included in the rate as was a glass of wine that evening and wifi. The room had hard wood floors, nice clean bathroom too. The bed was disappointing. We had reserved two twins, which they gave us...pushed together sharing bedding. Beds together is commonly found, but they should have separate bedding. Also it was just a sheet and flat pillows. I would say it's a US 3.5 star hotel, however the location, cleanliness and value for what you pay makes it worth it. I would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyc1acc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 21 December 2011
Thanks for choosing our Hotel for your stay in Florence!
Thanking you for kind comments, we inform you that, upon Gust's request, we can put at disposal a room with 2 single separate beds or 1 king size bed.
We understand you stayed only one night in Florence, therefore we are looking to welcoming you again to take advantage of the wonders of our Beautiful Florence

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We stayed for two nights in December. The hotel is very well situated close to the Duomo square and al the sights. Nice rooms with good bathrooms. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I do not think we could have got better value. The only slight downside is the small breakfast room but in the better weather you could also have breakfast outside on the 6th floor terrace which would have been r3ally nice. I would certainly recommend this hotel and would stay there again when next in Florence.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 21 December 2011
Dear Sir,
thanks for taking time and let us know about your experience in our Hotel.
Your kind commensts are really appreciated.
We hope to have soon the pleausure to welcoming you again!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Wales, U.K
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Stayed from Dec 1st thru Dec 5th for my birthday. Couldn't really fault anything - booked with Last Minute.Com so got v good deal with flights included. Excellent location, nice staff, breakfast buffet ample & enjoyable. Able to sit out on 'famous' breakfast patio overlooking the Duomo. Amazing warm weather for December. Room quite spacious, quiet & nice view over rooftops. Only small problem for me - the room got v hot & we couldn't alter the heating control in spite of asking at the desk for it to be turned off. Would have been ok as we opened the windows- great but then got seriously bitten by mosquitos!! In December! Otherwise really enjoyed it - adored Florence.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NettieandLewey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 15 December 2011
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Florence. Your kind remarks on our structure and our staff are highly valued.
in fact we had a very warm early December and unfortunately in those days the presence of pesky mosquitos has been felt throughout the city.
We are pleased to understand that you had a pleasant stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you again!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#61 of 422 in Florence
1,341 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#46 of 422 in Florence
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#38 of 422 in Florence
1,720 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#60 of 422 in Florence
1,203 reviews
Pitti
Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laurus al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laurus al Duomo

Property: Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Address: Via Cerretani 54 / R, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#52 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#70 Business Hotel in Florence
#71 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Laurus al Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Laurus al Duomo is located in the heart of Florence, just 70 meters from the Cathedral and 150 meters from the central train station Santa Maria Novella.The hotel is part of the cultural centre "Centro Congressi al Duomo", together with the Auditorium al Duomo, Cafe Astra al Duomo, Hotel Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio.Located in the historical via de' Cerretani, between the Cathedral and the Santa Maria Novella train station, the Hotel Laurus al Duomo stays at a short walk from the most elegant shopping streets, and it is ideal for both leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Agoda, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Laurus al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Florence
Laurus Hotel
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing