We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Ranked #70 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Great location, beautiful, big and clean rooms, good breakfast, helpful staff!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ela24022012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
FANTASTIC!
We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Best regards
Your helpful Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    830
    623
    114
    28
    21
See reviews for
291
938
29
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights, and was happy with our experience. Hotel furnishing looked dated but worked well.

Room was big, but ours faced a wall, so view was nothing to shout about. There was a bath included (plus point), and bidet, with simple amenities such as soap and shampoo included. No bathroom slippers though (that bugged me!), so it was a little cold on the non-carpeted walls.

For the minuses, this is a BIG minus, my 2nd night, my toilet wouldn't flush AND I discovered old blood stains on the underneath of my pillow when I decided to turn it over to sleep on!!! When I called the reception to complain about the toilet, the receptionist said he could not do anything as it was late. I understand that, but it was quite a bummer. Discovered the blood stain on the pillow just before I slept and was very tired and grouchy by then so I just took a spare pillow and slept on it. It's still VERY disgusting that a hotel would use white pillowcases that had old blood stains on them! They should condemn the pillowcase if they can't remove the blood stains.

Breakfast was the same everyday, and I would say the food is slightly below average.

The only reason I will reconsider Best Western Premier hotels is the level of cleanliness (blood-stained pillowcase!!).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s0ulffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Sir,
thank you for writing about the problems you encountered during the stay at our Hotel.
Your comments are appreciated.
Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced.
We have investigated your comments and will take steps to help ensure that problems like the ones you exeprienced do not happen again. Has indeed been a regrettable lack of our chambermaids.
Cleaning has always been our strong point, and must remain so as we see from the many comments left.
We are sorry if you did not enjoy completely your stay in Florence and we look forward to a future opportunity to better serve your lodging needs.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreno Valley, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Nice clean hotel close to the duomo. Room was quiet with a modern bathroom. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. One staff member even went out after the restaurant/wine bar had closed to get my husband ice. They were always very welcoming and curteous. Would stay there again in the future!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristenB898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Sirs,
thanks for very kind comment about our Hotel!
Looking forward to welcoming you again, we remain with very friendly greetings from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This hotel is in a wonderful location, just a five minute walk to the Duomo. They have a terrace on the 6th floor where they serve breakfast and evening cocktails. the terrace has a wonderful view of the city and it is very charming to sit there and look at the view and hear the bells ring every evening. I thought that the room, by European standards was fairly spacious. The reason I gave this 4 stars instead of 5 stars was because there were a couple of instances where I found the staff less helpful than they could have been. I got the feeling that they were over- worked and rather frazzled. The male waiter on the terrace one evening was actually rather rude to another guest in the hotel and the same night, he was short- tempered with us. I would probably go back there though just because I love the location.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSimmons8172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Sirs,
thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Florence.
Thanks for the kind comments about our location, the sixth-floor terrace and rooms.
We regret very much that in a couple of cases you have found the staff helpfull less than they should have been.
Even in case of over work we try anyway and always to be of greatest possible help to customers.
For this reason we would be glad to welcome you again, because we want the 5 stars on your future comment.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We booked 2 double rooms, one with a king bed and another with twin beds. The king bed room was a bit of a joke for the price we paid. The room was so small that we had trouble moving around. The air con did not work. We called reception to be rudely told that aircon would be switched on only from May and that we should open the windows if we felt too hot. We had room 203 and room 205 which meant that we were on the 2 nd floor with unbearable street noise. We did not sleep all 3 nights that we spent there. Breakfast was a mediocre affair with limited choices and 2 coffee machines that worked sporadically. The TV did not work in the room and we had to call house services to help. I found it surprising that everyday, we had to call housekeeping for a kettle to make our morning coffee. This IS NO 4 star hotel! It is just an overpriced budget hotel! Utter rubbish. The only good point is the location. Close to the train station and eating options. Won't ever stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't bother staying here! If you have too, travel only in the winter and choice a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vidyanavin491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Sirs,
we regret very much that you did not like anything about our hotel, and, despite our best efforts we could not meet your expectations during the stay.
In any case, the benefit of people who read the comments, we want to clarify some points.
1- 203 and 205 rooms with city view, are about 14 square meters plus bathroom and are equipped with double glazing with double windows, fully soundproofed.
2- during the month of March is usually still operates the heating, but, given the exceptionally warm for the season, we turned off the system throughout the hotel.
3- our breakfast, besides the wonderful view over the city, offers hot and cold, sweet and savory traditional Italian and Florentine territory products.
4- our TV is equipped with satellite channels (instructions are in the rooms), in fact, the porter made ​​you run correctly without changing the TV because failure
5- every morning we take the kettles for washing, replacing with clean boilers and stocked with coffee, etc.
We are sorry however that you will not want to give us another opportunity to serve you better.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Recently stayed here for 3 nights. Had room 305 at the front of the hotel. Room was good very clean and with a modern bathroom. My only criticism is the room is stuffy despite trying to get the Air Con Unit to work. It would go below 16 and made a noise but didn't seem to make any impact. Opening the window is not really viable given the street noise. Breakfast is taken on thd 6th floor that has a terrace with wonderful views of the Duomo. Quality of food was good with a good choice. Must admit experience of staff was mixed with the staff in Wine Bar inconsistent. A guy there was extremely helpful then the next day a young girl was completely the opposite. Highly recommend for value for money and central position.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duncan0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Sir
thank you for choosing our hotel and inform about your experience with us.
Your comments on the cleanliness of the room and breakfast on the terrace are very appreciated.
Recently was very hot in Florence, so we turned off the heating system and place the function of moving air. Despite this species in those rooms with views like yours you could not actually lower the temperature. We apologize for the inconvenience.
With regard to the wine bar we note that the "extremely helpful guy" caught the flu and the next day we had to replace it with the young girl who usually served for breakfast, In any case I hope you enjoyed, if not the skill and kindness of the girl.
We are happy that you consider "highly recommended" the Hotel Laurus al Duomo, and we would be more than happy to welcoming you again in our beatiful Florence.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Good points: Pleasant, helpful staff. Clean room. Nice bathroom. Great location, close to main tourist area and main bus and train stations. Good view from terrace bar/breakfast terrace. Safe big enough to take a laptop. Wi-fi free, use of hotel internet 5euro per hour. Comfortable bed. Breakfast standard fare. Tea and coffee tray upon request, without charge.

Bad: View of wall an service alley. Noise from rooms above - sufficient to wake me during the night when they used the bathroom. Sounded like water was running through the room. Room overheated - was offered fan, but didn't take it, due to noise factor.

Would recommend, provided that the position and quietness of room were assured by hotel, in advance.

Room Tip: Ask about the view and the noise before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Minervah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Sir,
thanks for taking time and let us know about your experience with us.
All comments both positive and negative help us do our job better.
Thank you for your appreciation of our position, on cleaning the rooms and the friendliness of our staff.
We are also sorry about the noise heard from the rooms upstairs and for the room overheated, in fact we had in Florence during those days a climate warmer than normal and we turned off the heating throughout the hotel.
Hoping soon give us another opportunity to serve you, we remain.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#38 of 411 in Florence
1,738 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#61 of 411 in Florence
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#60 of 411 in Florence
1,219 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#49 of 411 in Florence
1,519 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel de La Ville
Hotel de La Ville
#69 of 411 in Florence
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laurus al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laurus al Duomo

Property: Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Address: Via Cerretani 54 / R, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#52 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#70 Business Hotel in Florence
#71 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Laurus al Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Laurus al Duomo is located in the heart of Florence, just 70 meters from the Cathedral and 150 meters from the central train station Santa Maria Novella.The hotel is part of the cultural centre "Centro Congressi al Duomo", together with the Auditorium al Duomo, Cafe Astra al Duomo, Hotel Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio.Located in the historical via de' Cerretani, between the Cathedral and the Santa Maria Novella train station, the Hotel Laurus al Duomo stays at a short walk from the most elegant shopping streets, and it is ideal for both leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Laurus al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Florence
Laurus Hotel
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing