We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Basic Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Ranked #74 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Laurus al Duomo March 19-22, 2012. No complaints about the Laurus. It really is a fantastic location and minutes from all the major sites. Upon our arrival we were given vouchers for Bellini's on the hotel's balcony. The balcony has a wonderful view of the dome of the Duomo and worth spending an hour on an afternoon enjoying a drink and relaxing. The view is best in the afternoon with the sun shining on the Duomo.

ROOM: We stayed on the top floor, where the breakfast eating area is located; I believe in room 8. The room was very clean and contained an extremely firm king size bed. We greatly appreciated the automatic windows that were placed towards the roof. Our room also had a very small balcony which had a nice view. We used the balcony for drying laundry. There is a safe and a small closet in the room. We had free Wi-Fi which was greatly appreciated, but it continuously cut out, forcing us to re-enter the passwords given by the front desk. If you don't want to wait for the elevator you can easily take the stairs.

BREAKFAST: 2 types of cold cuts, several yogurts, pastries, and breads, fruit, juices, coffee and tea. Considering the price of the hotel I was surprised that the breakfast was so well run and had so many options. Given we went in March we had no problem finding a seat.

I highly recommend Laurus.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor for windows that bring a breeze through the room, a small balcony, and easy ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyHikerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

Dear Sirs,
thank you so much for your kind comments and compliments about our hotel, our services and our staff.
We applaud you, you really described in detail throughout the hotel!
Thank you also to highly recommend our hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you during your next trip to Florence.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

729 - 735 of 1,664 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

The staff are very good, especially the receptionists, hotel is very clean and well maintained. The position is excellent, within a few minutes walk of the Duomo and also the railway station.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poppie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear Sirs,
thanks for taking time and let us know about your experience with us, your nice comments are really appreciated.
Hoping to welcoming you again, we remain.
Greetings from all the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Enjoyed our stay. The location was great. Very close to the Duomo and train station. The room was clean as was the bathroom. The bed was a little low to the floor. Breakfast was OK. Free wi-fi was good to have, but you had to log in every time you left the room and then came back. As soon as I left the room my phone would no longer be connected to the internet. I would strongly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JZMSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear Sirs,
we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are waiting to welcoming you again in our beautiful Florence!
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Stayed 3 nights in April 2012. This hotel is very nice with good service, bathrooms and excellent beds. Elevator is small and the breakfast was okay. The breakfast room was always busy and only one server busting her hump while the manager walks around. Within walking distance of the galleries and leather market. I'd recommend for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Dear Sirs,

thanks for choosing our hotel during your stay in Florence and thanks for kind comments about our structure and our services.
Our breakfast room is often crowded because all our guests want to enjoy the magnificent view from the terrace, which is why, perhaps, they expect a little more to be served.
Thanks for recommending to all our hotel!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Florence was my favorite. The location of Hotel Laurus was perfect [room,
location, and food, wi-fi unlimited] and the city and suburbs were
absolutely gorgeous! We did end up doing the Tour 500 Club in the little
60yr old Fiats around Tuscany. One of the tour guides took over the
business, Andrea and that was super fun I would definately recommend that
to anyone! Our CAF Tour/Excursion to Pisa left a little to be desired. I
would NOT recommend that tour. We went there and got a tour of the church
but not the Tower which we were expecting. The church was nice but we
took the 5 hour tour to see and go up in the Tower. We thought it was a
bit of a let down.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenirose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Dear Sirs,
thanks for the kind comments about our hotel.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and you enjoyed your Tour 500 Club!
We regret that you were not satisfied with the excursion to Pisa, during your next trip we will suggest other nice trips around Florence.
Hoping to welcoming you soon, we remain.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

The Hotel is great. Good location helpful staff and very clean.
However what I did not like in Florence is that the bank card acceptance is very limited. Snack Bars do not accept at all and you cannot use it in most of the restaurants either. Palazzo Pitti does not accept card!! So people should bring a lot of cash if they don’t want to use ATM which is very expensive on abroad. Florence is like 10 years behind of other countries in terms of bank cards.

Room Tip: 606 is a very quiet room but no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Krisztina234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear Sir,
thanks for you kind comment about our Hotel and our Staff.
Sorry that you have encountered difficulty , but we are confident that our beautiful city will soon adapt to the needs of all guests, accepting credit cards everywhere, as it happens from time in hotels.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon, we remain.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Great location, beautiful, big and clean rooms, good breakfast, helpful staff!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ela24022012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

FANTASTIC!
We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Best regards
Your helpful Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 410 in Florence
1,847 reviews
San Lorenzo
Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Pendini
Hotel Pendini
#36 of 410 in Florence
1,988 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel de La Ville
Hotel de La Ville
#67 of 410 in Florence
832 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#53 of 410 in Florence
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laurus al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laurus al Duomo

Address: Via Cerretani 54 / R, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#52 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#53 Family Hotel in Florence
#70 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £88 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Laurus al Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Laurus al Duomo is located in the heart of Florence, just 70 meters from the Cathedral and 150 meters from the central train station Santa Maria Novella.The hotel is part of the cultural centre "Centro Congressi al Duomo", together with the Auditorium al Duomo, Cafe Astra al Duomo, Hotel Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio.Located in the historical via de' Cerretani, between the Cathedral and the Santa Maria Novella train station, the Hotel Laurus al Duomo stays at a short walk from the most elegant shopping streets, and it is ideal for both leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Fastbooking, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Laurus al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Florence
Laurus Hotel
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing