We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Ranked #70 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati
1 review
“Great value!”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in September:

Pros:
Location is fantastic. Their 6th floor restaurant has an outdoor patio with a view of the Duomo. Just a few blocks form the train station also. The staff was helpful with restaurant recommendations, getting taxis as needed, and answering questions. The complimentary breakfast is decent. Our room was recently updated and kept clean. The beds were good.

Cons: This is more of "expectation". Hotel rooms in Italy tend to be small, and this was the case here. Not a major issue if you are not going to spend a lot of time in your room.

Overall, we would stay hear again and expect an equally satisfying experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Mike S

we thank you for choosing us for your four-night stay in Florence! Thank you also for the kind comments and compliments about our hotel and our staff.
Hoping to welcoming you again, we remain.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    829
    623
    114
    28
    21
See reviews for
290
938
29
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My daughter and I recently stayed at the Hotel Laurus al Duomo for 2 nights and couldn't have been happier! The hotel is about a 10 minute, easy walk to the train station and an even shorter, direct walk to the Duomo! Art galleries, great shopping and terrific restaurants are also close by. The staff is extremely friendly and efficient, the hotel is clean, beds are comfortable and the rooms are quiet. The breakfast is delicious and served on the rooftop terrace which is lovely in the mornings and comfortable in the afternoons for a glass of wine and some great appetizers! Plus a terrific view of the Duomo. Will definitely stay here again when I return to one of my favorite cities in the world. Ciao Antonio and the rest of the staff!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Guest,

what can we say except thank you?
Thank you for choosing our hotel and thank you for all the very kind comments and the fantastic review!
We really hope to welcoming you again in our beautiful Florence.

Kind regards from Antonio and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
3,578 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,133 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The Hotel Laurus al Duomo is a very good hotel. We were in Room 407, at the back of the hotel and the room was quite big. There were two twin beds joined together to make a king size bed. The bed had an upholstered headboard. There were two side tables with marble tops. Above these were two small wall mounted lamps. Overhead were two halogen lamps for reading.

There was a desk with a marble top with convenient electrical outlet and internet connections. There were two small chairs covered with a white fabric. Beside the desk there was a wall mounted lamp.

The floor was made of wood. There was a small table to put one piece of luggage and a foldable luggage rack for another piece of luggage, very convenient if you have two bags.

The closet was large and had many hangers (hard to find hotels that have many hangers). The closet also had three drawers, a safe, and the minibar. The room had three prints on the wall, with modern designs, quite inoffensive.

The bathroom was quite large and had the toilet, bidet, and a bathtub/shower. The bathtub was low and easy to get in and out of, quite safe. The shower had high water pressure, which was very good.

The room had individual digital control of temperature. So you could set the temperature you were comfortable with. There was a wall mounted flat TV, about 29 inches.

Every day the maid would make up the room, she would put fresh bed sheets! This is the first hotel we have been to that did this.

Our room had no noise from the street and it was easy to sleep.

The breakfast was served on the 6th floor and this had a terrace with a view of the Duomo. One could sit outside and eat there. The food was adequate and there was always a pastry pie of apple or some other fruit.

All the personnel at the hotel were very professional and friendly, always willing to help. We stayed one week at the hotel and the staff was always helpful, and all spoke English. We checked out at 5 am because our plane was supposed to leave for Rome at 7:10. The hotel was able to call us a taxi at that time.

I would definitely stay again at this hotel if I returned to Florence. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BennyMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Guest,

we thank you for choosing our hotel for your seven nights stay in Florence and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your week with us.
We want to thank you for the kind comments and compliments about our hotel and our staff. We also want to congratulate you for having described so well your room in every little detail!
We are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next trip to Florence.

Regards from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hollywood, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I stayed in 4 hotels during my 2 week trip to Italy and this was my favorite.

Here's why:
Excellent Location - steps to the Duomo and easy walk to Train station, bus station, Accademia, and Palazzo Vecchio.
Excellent breakfast - good combination of american style and european style and plenty of options. I also liked their coffee machine. Good coffee without having to ask someone for it like at other places (in the morning, I like to be in control of my own coffee).
Good sized room - We had 3 people and had sort of a junior suite. Although no doors between the rooms, at least there was distance (hallway and bath in between) and the rooms were decent.
Good sized bathroom. Very easy to move around.
Easy, reliable Internet.
It was quiet!
They stored our luggage after we checked out since we weren't leaving town for a few more hours.

One weird issue was that the water in the bathroom had such an off taste I almost had to brush my teeth with bottled water. To be fair, I didn't bring it to their attention while I was there.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back might be a bit quieter, but the windows are so thick it blocked out all noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiscoveryInLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Guest,

we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are happy to be your favorite hotel in Italy!
Thanks for the very kind comments and excellent review!
Looking forward to welcoming you next time, we remain.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The location of this hotel was excellent. The rooms were clean and quiet. The size was not large, but who goes to Florence to stay in their room? The rooftop terrace has a spectacular view and the breakfast buffet had a wide, varied assortment of goodies to choose from. That being said, we did feel the front desk staff and restaurant staff needed a little reminder that although they may have to say the same thing over and over again, day in and day out, for many of their guests THIS is their trip of a lifetime, their Italian experience. So to be welcomed by someone who is obviously spurting out the usual blurb without much enthusiasm and little eye contact while circling your location on the city map, handing over your internet access code and room key is disappointing.The free welcome drink served on the rooftop terrace seemed to be a burden for the waitress working that day. That being said, the cleaning staff and porters were excellent. They always smiled and said hello. Thank you to them for being so pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AWilliams1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for the kind comments about our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We were only sorry that you found our staff lacking enthusiasm, in fact we try to satisfy the needs of our guests being the most helpful as possible.
Therefore we would like to welcoming you again during your next trip to Florence.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Very central but only a 10 minute flat walk to the train station.
Definitely 4 stars.
Our standard double room was large by Italian standards and had a good sized bathroom; with a bath/shower.
Good buffet breakfast.
We booked a discounted deal which made the price better value so compare www sites and try to book early when discounted deals may appear.

Room Tip: With double glazed windows and central air cond I would think all rooms would be quiet. The best vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeenPhotographer-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Guest

we are happy that you loved our hotel and that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thanks for the praise!

Hoping to welcoming you soon,

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

We booked our room at the Laurus in January 2013. We had stayed here on a previous visit and had a wonderful experience. However, when we arrived a woman at the front desk said "your reservation has been cancelled." Fortunately two very nice men got involved and found us a room for the five nights we had reserved. The hotel is well appointed and roomy. The bathroom is clean and very nice. All of these are the reasons we wanted to come back to the Laurus. Thanks again to the very nice gentlemen who took care of us. I would encourage you to stay here, but email frequently to make sure your reservations are still confirmed.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Guest

I honestly do not know why the reservation was canceled, but we are happy that our staff was able to accommodate you, however, for your five-day stay! We are happy to have helped a repeat guest who appreciates and enjoys the our hotel, however, writing great reviews!
We wait for you again during your next trip!

Greetings from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#61 of 411 in Florence
1,362 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#38 of 411 in Florence
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#49 of 411 in Florence
1,519 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#60 of 411 in Florence
1,218 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel de La Ville
Hotel de La Ville
#69 of 411 in Florence
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laurus al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laurus al Duomo

Property: Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Address: Via Cerretani 54 / R, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#52 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#70 Business Hotel in Florence
#71 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Laurus al Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Laurus al Duomo is located in the heart of Florence, just 70 meters from the Cathedral and 150 meters from the central train station Santa Maria Novella.The hotel is part of the cultural centre "Centro Congressi al Duomo", together with the Auditorium al Duomo, Cafe Astra al Duomo, Hotel Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio.Located in the historical via de' Cerretani, between the Cathedral and the Santa Maria Novella train station, the Hotel Laurus al Duomo stays at a short walk from the most elegant shopping streets, and it is ideal for both leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Laurus al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Florence
Laurus Hotel
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing