We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Laurus al Duomo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Ranked #65 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Hampton, Middlesex, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Two friends and myself spent a fabulous weekend in florence at the beginning of September. We had a triple room which was excellent with tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were all extremely polite and helpful. The breakfast on the terrace with the Duomo and Bell Tower in the background, was excellent. A great selection of hot and cold food with friendly staff on hand to help where necessary. The location of the hotel, 5mins from the main station, 1 min from the Duomo and within easy reach of all the tourist spots, was fantastic.
We had an amazing weekend and would recommend this hotel to everyone!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Claire1963phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Claire1963phil


We are so happy that you had a wonderful weekend with us and we thank you for the great review and for your compliments on our hotel, services and staff!
Hopefully we look forward to welcoming you soon again


Greetings from all of us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    798
    599
    110
    28
    19
See reviews for
273
910
28
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

My travelling companion and I stayed at the Hotel Laurus al Duomo for 3 nights early in September. Great hotel and in a fantastic location. Our accommodation was clean, comfortable and quite spacious for a city centre hotel. It was also very quiet due to great sound proofing - a real bonus when there is traffic in the road outside and the bell tower of the church opposite was really close!!! Another bonus is the roof terrace where we were served with complimentary welcome drinks and where at happy hour each evening we could enjoy an aperitif while taking in the wonderful view. We breakfasted in the coffee shop on the ground floor - good coffee and lovely pastries. The hotel is a very short walk from all the main sights......less than 5 minutes to the Duomo.....less than 10 to the river. There are plenty of cafes, restaurants and bars within easy walking and shops galore. The hotel staff were helpful and very efficient. I wouldn't hesitate to book again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mac31BB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Mac31BB

we are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you loved our hotel and our services. And also thank you for the kind compliments to our staff!
We really hope to welcoming you soon!

Greetings from all of us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level Contributor
228 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

This was an excellent choice regarding location, service and overall value. And the service was excellent! Graziella was always friendly, with helpful suggestions; and helped us speedily with various special requests. The bellman was always respectful, friendly and prompt to lend a hand. The bedrooms were modern, clean and spacious. The only reason I didn't give all 5 stars was lack of a good view. Yes, you can glimpse the Duomo by craning yr neck out of the window and looking sidewways; otherwise, it's an ordinary street view. Overall, we were delighted with our stay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raerone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Raerone

thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for the very kind comments and tujtti compliemnti of your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have another occasion to welcome you!

Greetings from Graziella and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

This hotel is perfectly located for exploring Florence! It was beautiful inside and the terrace overlooking the Duomo is superb! We received welcome drinks on arrival which was a nice touch. The only downside is that the hotel bar is very pricey! This is true of Florence in general though. A recommended restaurant is Obika!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielleSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear DanielleSheffield

Thank you for choosing our hotel and thank you for the kind comments!
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and our panoramic terrace overlooking the Duomo!

Hoping to have another occasion to offer you welcome drink, we remain.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Hotel is a five minute walk from SMN station and the Duomo, and is conveniently located to the Uffizi, Bargello and Accademia.

Rooftop terrace offered great view and open air dining with a limited selection of good food and wine.

We did not partake of the breakfast, because we felt 10 Euros per person was exorbitant.

Front desk staff was courteous and helpful, and Grazielle gave us a great recommendation of Gelateria Grom.

The only downside was no English language TV stations.

This was a perfect choice, and, if we return, will most certainly stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Joe B

we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us in Florence and we thank you for the very kind comments and compliments about our hotel and our staff!
Please note that these are the English-language channels present in our LCD TV:
BBC - Bloomberg - CNN Int - Euronews.
We are proud that you define us "a perfect choice" and we are looking to welcoming you again in near future.

Best regards from Graziella and from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Location was perfect and the terrace adjoining the breakfast area on the 6th floor provided spectacular views of Florence. The rooms were very clean and the staff was extremely helpful. The breakfast selection was more than satisfactory and the area was large enough for all to enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lakedweller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear lakedweller1

really thank you for the great review!
We are looking forward to welcoming you again to let you still enjoy the panoramic view of Florence and the Cathedral from our roof terrace!

Greetings from all of us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed for four nights in sept 13 and were upgraded during our stay for free. We found the staff really helpful especially the breakfast & bar staff. The hotel is located close to the railway station and just around the corner from the Duomo, you couldn't ask for a better location. We would definitely come back and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank youngswy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear youngswy

we are happy that you enjoyed our hotel and our staff and thank you for the great review and for recommending our hotel.
We really hope to welcoming you again!

Greetings from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel de La Ville
Hotel de La Ville
#57 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#60 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Pitti
Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#43 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#48 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#47 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laurus al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laurus al Duomo

Property: Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Address: Via Cerretani 54 / R, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#52 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#69 Business Hotel in Florence
#71 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Laurus al Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Laurus al Duomo is located in the heart of Florence, just 70 meters from the Cathedral and 150 meters from the central train station Santa Maria Novella.The hotel is part of the cultural centre "Centro Congressi al Duomo", together with the Auditorium al Duomo, Cafe Astra al Duomo, Hotel Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio.Located in the historical via de' Cerretani, between the Cathedral and the Santa Maria Novella train station, the Hotel Laurus al Duomo stays at a short walk from the most elegant shopping streets, and it is ideal for both leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Fastbooking, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Laurus al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Florence
Laurus Hotel
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing