We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No air-con and uncomfortable beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Ranked #70 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“No air-con and uncomfortable beds”
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

We booked the hotel on the basis of the location, which, as a tourist is indeed very good down the street from the duomo. The hotel is however, terrible value for money and in no way a 4* by British or American standards.

As I type it was 24 degrees in Florence today yet the hotel had no air conditioning as it was turned off some weeks ago. Instead of turning it back on the front desk staff tried to placate us by switching on a "fan" in the room, that didn't do anything.

The beds were very uncomfortable and resembled hard planks of wood as well as being two singles evidently pushed together and covered with a single sheet.

The wi-fi failed to reach our room on the fifth floor and breakfast bordered on inedible. Good location but this hotel has little else going for it considering its €200+ a night price range. The man on the front desk laughed at my fiancé as she asked if we could have some form of refund if we left early.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrisjg24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Chrisjg24

we are very sorry that you have not enjoyed your experience in our hotel.
We turned off the air conditioning on 22 October as we thought (like many other hotels in the center of Florence) that temperatures would have fallen as usually happens . Instead , unfortunately, we found a hot spring .
We apologize for the vagaries of weather .
We regret that you have not notified us of the beds too hard , we could certainly provide you with softer mattresses .
I remember you, you were only one night ( your prepaid reservation was for 2 nights ) and have left the afternoon of the second day. That was me at the reception and I asked what had happened and if we could do something, you answered that you went away because of the air conditioning, but have not asked for any form of reimbursement , and especially none of us laughed .
Our staff is always available to guests trying to do everything possible to meet their needs .
We would like you give us another opportunity to serve you better, and I remain at your disposal if you want to contact me directly at the hotel to provide the highest possible discount on your next stay in Florence.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    833
    627
    114
    28
    21
See reviews for
295
941
29
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunbury, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Spent two nights in this lovely hotel, in centre of Florence, it was clean, comfortable, and ideally located yet pleasantly quiet. The staff were very helpful, and pleasant and friendly to deal with.
We were a short walk from San Lorenzo Market, al Duomo, bus station and train station and lovely restaurants. the area it was located in was alive and vibrant, we had a wonderful time and wished we had stayed longer

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Jennifer610

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and that you loved our hotel and our staff, and we hope to welcome you soon ... for a longer stay!

Greetings from your "lovely hotel in the center of Florence"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We had a great stay at this hotel. The service was good, beds very compfortable and roomy for Florence. Highly recommend! The "Life beyond tourism" thing was a little odd, but we just ignored it and it didn't impact our stay at all. The rooms were clean and the bathroom had a nice roomy tub which was a lovely change from tiny showers.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanna_lessard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear joanna_lessard

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for the kind comments and compliments, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We would like to have another opportunity to be able to explain more of our guidance, "Life Beyond Tourism", also for this reason we would be happy to welcome you again in our beautiful Florence!

Greetings from all of us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delmont
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

First time in Florence and this hotel. Nice staff! Room was nice and clean. Good location for everything. Would definitely stay here again! Breakfast was good, just enough without over doing it. Elevators were small but okay for four people. Had a nice little cafe in the lobby for a quick bite or coffee.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Deanyb

We are happy that your first time in Florence was a nice experience with us and thank you for the great review!
We really hope to welcoming you again!

Greetings from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed 3 nights to explore Firenze. the hotel was conveniently located, clean and quiet. Had a room overlooking the street but with double windows was very quiet. The included breakfast was good with lots of selections. The only downside was the wifi wouldn't connect in the room so needed to use lobby or attached coffee shop. Was not troubled by the "life beyond tourism" message as it was in their pamphlets to read and did do a few of their walking routes (off the regular path). Overall expect a 3 star hotel, but clean and in a great location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjm1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear pjm1958

we are pleased that you enjoyed our rooms, our breakfast and our services. Sorry, only that you had a mishap with the WIFI, but now the problem has been resolved. We are happy that you have also taken advantage of alternative tourist routes that we offer in the spirit of our guideline "Life Beyond Tourism".
Hoping to welcoming you again, we remain.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We last stayed here about 11 years ago when the Hotel Laurus was a pleasant, mid-range hotel near the Duomo. Now it seems to have morphed into something called ‘Life Beyond Tourism al Duomo Conference Centre,’ and is a slightly odd place. Almost felt like staying in accommodation run by some kind of sect or society, not really a hotel. This is reinforced by the prominence everywhere of stickers and printed materials promoting ‘Life Beyond Tourism’ – a mysterious message for tourists!
The Laurus AD gives the impression of a shoestring operation, with minimal staff and minimal services. There is a café on the ground floor, a commercial operation apparently part of the ‘Al Duomo’ complex, and a roof garden wine-bar for evening drinks with a limited menu of pizza, pasta and platters of sliced meat and cheese. Breakfast is served there, with reasonably adequate food, unfriendly service, and not enough room for a large number of guests when the outside area is closed because of bad weather. There is no real room service, apart from the wine-bar menu which is available at night.
Fortunately our accommodation was good, in a comfortable, well-furnished room on the second floor, overlooking the street – with no noise thanks to very effective double-glazing. The corridors outside were a bit dingy, but the room was light and tastefully decorated. The bathroom was excellent, though the absence of a rubber mat in the extremely slippery bath was a concern. There were other absences: no tea/coffee-making facilities and nothing but water in the bar fridge (though other drinks could apparently be ordered for it). We weren’t impressed by the plastic drinking cups, however eventually discovered a couple of glasses in the dark space above the fridge.
With the proviso about the curious atmosphere, I’d nevertheless recommend the Laurus AD for its pleasant and comfortable rooms, roof garden with great view of the Duomo, fantastic location and closeness to SM Novella station. Just don’t expect what is usually found in a hotel with a 4-star rating.




We last stayed here about 11 years ago when the Hotel Laurus was a pleasant, mid-range hotel near the Duomo. Now it seems to have morphed into something called ‘Life Beyond Tourism al Duomo Conference Centre,’ and is a slightly odd place. Almost felt like staying in accommodation run by some kind of sect or society, not really a hotel. This is reinforced by the prominence everywhere of stickers and printed materials promoting ‘Life Beyond Tourism’ – a mysterious message for tourists!
The Laurus AD gives the impression of a shoestring operation, with minimal staff and minimal services. There is a café on the ground floor, a commercial operation apparently part of the ‘Al Duomo’ complex, and a roof garden wine-bar for evening drinks with a limited menu of pizza, pasta and platters of sliced meat and cheese. Breakfast is served there, with reasonably adequate food, unfriendly service, and not enough room for a large number of guests when the outside area is closed because of bad weather. There is no real room service, apart from the wine-bar menu which is available at night.
Fortunately our accommodation was good, in a comfortable, well-furnished room on the second floor, overlooking the street – with no noise thanks to very effective double-glazing. The corridors outside were a bit dingy, but the room was light and tastefully decorated. The bathroom was excellent, though the absence of a rubber mat in the extremely slippery bath was a concern. There were other absences: no tea/coffee-making facilities and nothing but water in the bar fridge (though other drinks could apparently be ordered for it). We weren’t impressed by the plastic drinking cups, however eventually discovered a couple of glasses in the dark space above the fridge.
With the proviso about the curious atmosphere, I’d nevertheless recommend the Laurus AD for its pleasant and comfortable rooms, roof garden with great view of the Duomo, fantastic location and closeness to SM Novella station. Just don’t expect what is usually found in a hotel with a 4-star rating.




We last stayed here about 11 years ago when the Hotel Laurus was a pleasant, mid-range hotel near the Duomo. Now it seems to have morphed into something called ‘Life Beyond Tourism al Duomo Conference Centre,’ and is a slightly odd place. Almost felt like staying in accommodation run by some kind of sect or society, not really a hotel. This is reinforced by the prominence everywhere of stickers and printed materials promoting ‘Life Beyond Tourism’ – a mysterious message for tourists!
The Laurus AD gives the impression of a shoestring operation, with minimal staff and minimal services. There is a café on the ground floor, a commercial operation apparently part of the ‘Al Duomo’ complex, and a roof garden wine-bar for evening drinks with a limited menu of pizza, pasta and platters of sliced meat and cheese. Breakfast is served there, with reasonably adequate food, unfriendly service, and not enough room for a large number of guests when the outside area is closed because of bad weather. There is no real room service, apart from the wine-bar menu which is available at night.
Fortunately our accommodation was good, in a comfortable, well-furnished room on the second floor, overlooking the street – with no noise thanks to very effective double-glazing. The corridors outside were a bit dingy, but the room was light and nicely-decorated. The bathroom was excellent, though the absence of a rubber mat in the extremely slippery bath was a concern. There were other absences: no tea/coffee-making facilities and nothing but water in the bar fridge (though other drinks could apparently be ordered for it). We weren’t impressed by the plastic drinking cups, however eventually discovered a couple of glasses in the dark space above the fridge.
With the proviso about the curious atmosphere, I’d nevertheless recommend the Laurus AD for its pleasant and comfortable rooms, roof garden with great view of the Duomo, fantastic location and closeness to SM Novella station. Just don’t expect what is usually found in a hotel with a 4-star rating.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear barbev,

we are so happy that you have returned to us after 11 years and we are happy that you found our new room pleasant and comfortable and that you enjoyed our Wine Bar on roof panoramic terrasse. Thanks for recommend us!
We're really sorry for not being able to communicate the message of "Life Beyond Tourism", and we thank you because this will help us to find without a doubt the most effective and efficient ways to convey our philosophy ..
In fact, if only you had asked us, we would have tried to explain that "Life Beyond Tourism" is a guideline to help "overcome" the concept of tourism now characterized by services and consumer, to become the "journey of values."
In all this, Heritage is an exceptional opportunity to contribute to the understanding of cultural diversity.
So the trip becomes a dialogue between cultures, education and economy of a territory in accordance with its tradition,.... "beyond the tourism."
We understand that in a few lines is really difficult to communicate a corporate philosophy, so I invite you and I invite those interested to contact our hotel and we will be happy to provide reference material and websites
We really hope to welcome you soon to be able to talk to you so that you also can help us to improve our message that it is so simple (but not trivial) to be difficult to explain.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Great location, but that's it. Most hotels hire people-oriented staff ... not here. Expect to be reminded that you're just passing through their city, and that they prefer it that way. Virtually no soundproofing with the rooms. Bring earplugs and patience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Mr. Stan Z,

As already replied to your email directly to the hotel,
we thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Florence.
I am sincerely surprised by your comment. In fact, I see that you have been our guest for 7 nights in room XXX.
During the week I am not aware that you complained about our services or our room or our staff, and even the noise that I heard you say in your room, the room that does not face the main street and it is equipped with double glazing and like all other completely soundproof.
In fact, we could certainly change your room if it was not to your complete satisfaction.
I'm really sorry that you have not informed me of your disappointment and inconvenience and I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you better.
I remain at your disposal and please accept our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#38 of 412 in Florence
1,765 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#60 of 412 in Florence
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#58 of 412 in Florence
1,232 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#47 of 412 in Florence
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laurus al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laurus al Duomo

Property: Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Address: Via Cerretani 54 / R, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#52 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#70 Business Hotel in Florence
#71 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Laurus al Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Laurus al Duomo is located in the heart of Florence, just 70 meters from the Cathedral and 150 meters from the central train station Santa Maria Novella.The hotel is part of the cultural centre "Centro Congressi al Duomo", together with the Auditorium al Duomo, Cafe Astra al Duomo, Hotel Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio.Located in the historical via de' Cerretani, between the Cathedral and the Santa Maria Novella train station, the Hotel Laurus al Duomo stays at a short walk from the most elegant shopping streets, and it is ideal for both leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Laurus al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Florence
Laurus Hotel
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing