We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly very good but has some issues.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Ranked #68 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 360 helpful votes
“Mostly very good but has some issues.”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Overall liked this hotel a lot but there were some bad areas and some confusing ones.
The location is a major plus as most things are so near and we really felt in the heart of the historic centre.

We had 701, King Bedded with a good offer for early payment. The room has a lovely small terrace above the terrace bar with great views across Florence – the bit extra for a view room was worth it for room 701. Very clean. A little Spartan but very functional. Good storage space and room an OK size. Good size fridge with not much in it so there was plenty of useable room in it. Slippers but no robes. No kettle but apparently one can be requested which was a bit odd. Good King bed but it is a firm mattress which suited us but some I’m sure would have problems. There was controllable working air con in the room. The corridors were kept at a very high temperature. The room’s terrace could get a bit of noise disturbance as the outside of the terrace bar is just below it. People’s cigarette smoke could be smelt at times. The Terrace bar was nice with nibbles and good wines and a helpful waiter but it is not big and when the hotel is full this could be a problem, as it could be for breakfast as it is taken there. Seemed quiet when we were there and we had no crowding issues.

Breakfast was not good. A buffet set up. First 2 days scrambled eggs very cold at 0720 and the tomatoes were freezing. Waiter microwaved the egg for me. Bacon cold on last day. Coffee is from good machines but comes out lukewarm. I wondered when the scrambled egg was made as it clearly had spent time in a very cold fridge. Made me wonder how much was reused over how long. There were about 4 hard-boiled eggs put out which were also freezing and one had a distinctive crack and it was there at least 4 days later having slowly warmed in the room to be virtually frozen again. I would think a health concern. Items on the menu never appeared. Also not to be personal but the breakfast waiter was off putting as he lurked about ready to grab any empty plate – including one with my cutlery on it despite a side plate of salami. Lots of pastries.

The hotel has a ‘Life Beyond Tourism,’ logo and manifesto (and an introduction to the manifesto) and I felt that this came over as confusing as it did not seem to relate to our stay or how, what functions as a good quality tourist hotel, incorporates it in any way except in stickers and signs and leaflets. Some examples. ‘Symbolized by a flower whose petals stand for Encounters, Communication, Knowledge ,Conservation and Economy’. ‘ A virtual platform providing a meeting point for the worlds of Culture, Research and the Economy in every specific region. For intellectual dialogue through tourism based on values, not just on consumer services’. I know it will mean a lot to the hotel but it really just seems to go over guests heads and seemed a bit grandiose.

But I really did like the hotel and would go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Whatbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Whatbob

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your say!
We are happy that you liked and that would you go back!
We are glad that you enjoyed your room with a view over the city and we inform you that we provide robes and kettles to Guests that require it.
Thank you for reporting your complaints about the breakfast, we will investigate it with the staff and we will take action on the matter. We are aware that breakfast is the time when you start your day and should be more than good!
Our orientation "Life Beyond Tourism" means quite simply that we believe in tourism that can lead to a dialogue between different cultures through knowledge of the place you visit. All this may be a small contribution to peace among nations. It is this which is great!
We really hope to have another opportunity to welcome you in our beautiful Florence.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    824
    618
    114
    28
    20
See reviews for
287
933
29
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We've just had a four night stay at the Laurus, in central Florence and have found a gem!
Staff were effecient and helpful but friendly - ideal; the location is marvellous - just a few steps away from the Duomo; sixth floor bar/restaurant is just lovely, with views out across the city; room was spacious, with everything you could need - including safe and mini bar; cleanliness was second-to-none.
All in all - a really exceptional hotel.
Thanks

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leoniehowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear leoniehowson

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your 4 nights visit in Florence!
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you very much for the wonderful comments about our hotel and our staff!
Hoping to welcoming you soon.

Greetings from Your Great Hotel in Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novato, CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Thanks to reading and following advice on Trip Advisor, we requested and were given Room 701 - which couldn't have been a better choice. The room size was adequate with a nice bathroom. The room had double paned windows which provided a respite from the noise of the traffic below. A small balcony was the perfect place to relax and enjoy the gorgeous view of the Duomo and a glass of wine. The location could not have been better - most tourist sites within easy walking distance. Driving into Florence these days is a nightmare regardless of GPS, directions, or maps. Luckily, the hotel has a valet/garage service (for a fee) - the driver from the garage came to collect us from a piazza not far from the hotel when we became lost in the downtown area. Luckily, part of the garage charges cover the payment of any inadvertent traffic fines for violating the downtown area. Breakfast on the 6th floor, indoors or on the terrace was adequate but the view more than made up for it. If you choose to go to a self-service laundromat, go to the Wash and Dry Lavarapido on Via del Sole 29/R, near the hotel.
A special treat is eating a special meal on the 6th floor. Claudio, the waiter and sommelier, is a delight. We ordered the taglieterra plate (a Tuscan platter) which comes with a variety of bruschetta, cheeses, apricot marmalade, salami, prosciutto, and speck. Claudio recommends various wines to accompany this platter, offering small samples before making your decision for a full glass. He was well versed in local wines and foods and a delightful person. Would definitely return to this hotel, most likely in a less busy season.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cadorina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Cadorina

What can we add to your review? You were fantastic in describing our hotel and our services! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our Claudio with his wines and local foods.
You promised to come back again and we're waiting for you!

Greetings from Claudio and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
208 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This was one of our pricier hotels on our trip to Italy although after reading the reviews on tripadvisor we decided to give it a go. The location was great - only 10min walk from the main station when we arrived, and you could step out the door and see the Duomo down the road. The room was lovely - very clean and well presented. Breakfast was lovely with a wide range of food available. We took up the hotels offer of a free visit to Palazzo Coppini thinking we would just go if we got time or skip it if we didn't feel like it - we didn't realise it was a actually booking just for us so we felt like we should go. It was interesting but not really that enjoyable - wouldn't bother if you have a short time in Florence like we did. All in all a good hotel that we would stay at again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HolidayKat_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear HolidayKat_86

Thank you for choosing our hotel and thank you for the kind comments and compliments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcome you during your next trip to our beautiful Florence.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed at the hotel for our first time in Florence and enjoyed it. It was close enough to the train station to walk there with our luggage and very centrally located. The room view wasn't much, but we don't book rooms for the views. The view from the 6th floor wine bar more than made up for it. The staff was very responsive to our needs. I would recommend this to anyone traveling to Florence.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Bill W

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your first visit to Florence, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thanks for recommending and thanks for the kind comments and compliments about our services and our staff.
Hoping to welcome you during your next visit in our beautiful city, we remain.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Very nice hotel, the location is ideal:close to the most main attractions. The room was clean, but not nice view from the window (room 507) and we didn't have a kettle, which would be nice to have;helpful stuff, free drink when check in and free map.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank victoria_blokhina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Victoria

Thank you for choosing our hotel, we are delighted that you enjoyed the location and the cleanliness of the room 507 on the fifth floor with a view of the red roofs of Florence.
We are sorry that you did not ask the kettle, in fact the service is on request for all our guests.
We are looking forward to wlcoming you on your next visit you again to offer a welcome drink on arrival and a kettle in the room.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Florence, the location is excellent, within walking distance to the train station and right near the Duomo. Florence is not extremely large so you can walk anywhere in the city from this central location. The rooms are spacious and clean, I enjoyed the fact that there was constantly a very interesting documentary on the history of Florence on the televisions which I could watch as my fiancee got ready to go out. The patio is beautiful, with a great view of the Duomo, particularly at night. I would stay here again if I go back to Florence.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Michael M

thank you very much for all the kind comments and compliments.
We hope you come back and visit our beautiful Florence and we are looking forward to welcoming you again!

Greetings from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#61 of 422 in Florence
1,342 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#46 of 422 in Florence
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#38 of 422 in Florence
1,720 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#60 of 422 in Florence
1,203 reviews
Pitti
Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laurus al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laurus al Duomo

Property: Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Address: Via Cerretani 54 / R, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#52 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#70 Business Hotel in Florence
#71 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Laurus al Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Laurus al Duomo is located in the heart of Florence, just 70 meters from the Cathedral and 150 meters from the central train station Santa Maria Novella.The hotel is part of the cultural centre "Centro Congressi al Duomo", together with the Auditorium al Duomo, Cafe Astra al Duomo, Hotel Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio.Located in the historical via de' Cerretani, between the Cathedral and the Santa Maria Novella train station, the Hotel Laurus al Duomo stays at a short walk from the most elegant shopping streets, and it is ideal for both leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Agoda, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Laurus al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Florence
Laurus Hotel
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing