We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Ranked #71 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Nyc
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My family and I enjoyed our stay at hotel Laurus al duomo very much . The location was very central to everything . It was very clean ! The beds were comfortable . Service was great ! We could not ask for a nicer place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Amy S

We are really happy that you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking to welcome you again!

Greetings from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    813
    615
    112
    28
    20
See reviews for
283
923
28
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenhills
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The Duomo is literally a 2-minute stroll from the hotel’s front. Check-in was a breeze. We arrived early so they allowed us to store our bags with them as well got a quick lunch near Santa Maria Novella as we waited for our check-in time.

Rooms are reasonably sized. We got a room with twin beds placed beside each other to make it King-sized. Only problem with the bed was the wood would creak with each movement. Also, the soundproofing of the room wasn’t very good, since we could hear the conversations of anyone passing by the corridor outside our room. For the view, we got a room with a view of the hotel right beside, not of the Duomo, but since the Duomo is so near, no real need to have a view of it from the room unless you like waking up to that view.

The restaurant on the ground floor (with mezzanine dining area), was ok, nothing great. But I guess as testament to how busy the area was, there was always at least one dining guest in the restaurant at any hour of the day. Next door is a little coffee shop where you can buy liters worth of bottled water should you need it.

The breakfast served on the 6th floor was very filling, with options for freshly squeezed juice (served via machines that do the juicing for you). As well as espresso, cappuccino and brewed coffee. Pastries, jam, ham, bacon and eggs were also served as well as yoghurt and butter found in the refrigerators. We stayed during a relatively cold spell so we could not have our breakfast in the patio (the servers discouraged us to step out as they felt the food would go flying with the cold winds blowing outside).

Overall, a 3-star experience. The location really makes up for everything.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yakult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
yakult

we are glad that you enjoyed the location of our hotel and that you had a good stay with us anyway.
We would only point out that our rooms with a view of the city not overlook the Duomo, but rather on Via Cerretani and have in front of the Church of Santa Maria Maggiore.
The view of the Cathedral can be enjoyed from our terrace on the 6th floor where breakfast is served in the morning and in the afternoon the Wine Bar
For this we would like to welcoming you in spring or summer or early autumn so you can enjoy breakfast on the terrace.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The hotel is situated just a couple of blocks from the Dome, and other great point of interest. Staff was very friendly and helpful, and the room was nice and clean. The bed was a bit too hard for our taste, but in general a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikaelW76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear MikaelW76

we are happy that you had a pleasant stay with us and we thank you for kind comments and compliments about our hotel and our staff.
Please inform us next time and we will put at your disposal a softer mattress!
We hope to welcome you soon!

Greetings from all of us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papillion, Nebraska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

First of all, I want to explain that most of my ratings I do, seem to be 3-5 star ratings, so I am not one of those to bad mouth places carelessly.
This hotel was very clean and a nice location, just down the road from the Duomo, and easy walking distance to all the other spots.
We booked a double standard room, without a view. We actually had a nice view out the back of hotel since we were on the 6 th floor.
The room was very small. The bathroom was about 1/3 of the size of the bedroom. So we had two beds, but to get past the the second bed, you had to walk sideways, side- stepping, which made things rough if you had to get up in the night.
I came to Florence to do some work and play, but I only had internet working for about a total of 2 hours of my 2 day stay. I remembered reading that this was a problem in other reviews, bit assumed it to be a one off. Not so, evidently. When we did have the wifi, it was weak and unstable.. I did politely ask for some compensation for the fact that I fell behind with my work with no wifi, but of course, got nowhere.
I found the bed too hard, though some may like that. I didn't.
For what I paid, 250 euro a night, and for what we had, this was a 3 star at the most.. Might even go as far as a 2 1/2 star hotel.
I personally will not book here again on my next stay. If I wanted a 2-3 star with no wifi, I could have gotten by much cheaper around the corner.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joekenny72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Joekenny72

Thank you for choosing our hotel and we apologize for the failure of WIFI during your stay. We again informed the property and we are taking serious steps and measures to improve the service.
Thank you for the compliments on our location and cleanliness.
Sorry that you did not get the room up to your expectations, and
we inform you that if you had asked we could certainly make you see the other rooms.
However, we hope you give us another opportunity to serve you better.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This hotel was excellent, the staff very welcoming and helpful, booking restaurants for us was no trouble. The rooms and other areas of the hotel were very clean and well kept. We had a room on the 5th floor and despite facing the Main Street, it was very quiet. Breakfast was taken on the terrace with good views of the Dome. The hotel was very central, most attractions are no more than 15 minutes walk, which was ideal as we were able to return to use the facilities and top up with coffee from the hotel cafe. Excellent value €6 for 4 lattes! The pastries were lovely too. Also, it is ideally situated for an early morning hike up the dome or tower (8am start to queue), before returning for a well earned breakfast. The bar in the evening was very pleasant, serving generous measures. A wonderful stay, thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam6548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Pam6548

We are really glad you had a wonderful stay with us.
Really thank you very much for the great review and for all the compliments on our hotel and our staff!
Hoping forward to welcoming you, we remain.

Greetings from all of us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Over all, I feel good hotel.
Good point : Great location, just 2 minutes walk to city center (Duomo), good service like welcome drink, clean room, good breakfast which include good vuew.
Bad point : The room is small and shower room quality is not good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpursKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear KEI T

we are glad that you enjoyed our hotel and thank you for the comments.
Sorry that you found the quality of the shower is not good, and we are sorry that you have not notified us during our stay, we could verify and take action.
We hope to have you soon as our guest again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Our room was spacious and clean. Wine bar near the rooftop was a favorite and had a great view. Close and convenient to all attractions and sights in Florence. Staff was friendly. The cafe downstairs was wonderful although not included in price.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MarquisDujour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear MarquisDujour

we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you loved our hotel!
Thanks for the kind comments and compliments!
We hope to welcome you again!

Greetings from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#60 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
San Lorenzo
Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca
Pitti
Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel de La Ville
Hotel de La Ville
#65 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#40 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#44 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laurus al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laurus al Duomo

Property: Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Address: Via Cerretani 54 / R, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#52 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#69 Business Hotel in Florence
#71 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Laurus al Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Laurus al Duomo is located in the heart of Florence, just 70 meters from the Cathedral and 150 meters from the central train station Santa Maria Novella.The hotel is part of the cultural centre "Centro Congressi al Duomo", together with the Auditorium al Duomo, Cafe Astra al Duomo, Hotel Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio.Located in the historical via de' Cerretani, between the Cathedral and the Santa Maria Novella train station, the Hotel Laurus al Duomo stays at a short walk from the most elegant shopping streets, and it is ideal for both leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Fastbooking, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Laurus al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Florence
Laurus Hotel
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing