We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Ranked #73 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We loved how close this hotel is to the Duomo, with great shopping and plenty of restaurant options nearby. Would stay here again; only downside was that breakfast was not included. Really nice rooftop wine bar, too!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear BJ S

thanks for loving our hotel!
We are waiting to welcome you again to offer a good breakfast on our top panoramic terrasse!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,671)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

453 - 459 of 1,671 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

Although not exactly inspiring, this hotel is well located, decent quality, well appointed and has all the amenities you need for a city stay in Florence. Being near Duomo there are bars and restaurants in abundance nearby and even a little cafe as part of the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimJammer82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear JimJammer82

Thanking you for choosing our hotel, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Therefore, we hope to welcome you again during your next trip to Florence.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just overnighted in Florence but this hotel was the perfect choice for our 24 hours in the city. Very central, great deck and view for an evening glass of wine, nice large bath tub, and good front desk service. Would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bathtub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMCMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear KMCMI

thanks for the review!
Given that you've enjoyed your one night ... we look forward to welcoming you for a longer stay!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We spent our first two nights in Florence here. The room was very comfortable, and the hotel was quick access to the Duomo. The breakfast area/wine bar on the six floor was outstanding. Perfect to sip coffee in the morning. We also took advantage of the "welcome drink" (actually not that big of a deal), but then stayed for a glass of wine before going out for dinner. The host was very helpful, and the wine was excellent. Without asking, he even brought out a plate of meat and cheeses. A great way to begin out Italian vacation...

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kirby N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Kirby N

We are very happy that you started with us your Italian vacation!
And, thanking you for the kind comments and compliments, we are waiting to offer you again a great wine from the terrace of our Wine Bar!

Many greetings from the Bartender and from all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Thanks to great reviews here we picked this hotel and we weren't disappointed. We had good views from the room and room was very comfortable. The location was great, only a short walk to the station and the Duomo.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vdm_hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear vdm_hols

we are happy that you were happy with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We did a whirlwind tour of Florence, with a one-night stay at the Hotel Laurus al Duomo. We were very satisfied with the accommodations.

We arrived prior to check-in, so the front desk was happy to hold our bags for us while we toured the city. When we checked in, a bellman retrieved our bags and escorted us to our room.

The room was comfortable, with a nice size king bed, and good quality amenities. We had a view of the Church of Santa Maria Maggiore from our window. The windows were high quality, double insulated, and absolutely isolated us from street noise. The bathroom was a good size, with a deep tub and plenty of hot water (and an interesting amber/patchouli shampoo that we wish we could find stateside).

A voucher for a welcome drink on the terrace was included (which we did not use), as well as breakfast (which we did). Breakfast was actually a very nice change of pace, including not only the usual pastries and cold cuts, but hot choices of eggs and bacon as well.

The hotel practices a "green" program, which included the need to keep a room key inserted into a slot by the door in order to keep the air conditioning running, but the unit was powerful and cooled the room down quickly.

Although a little pricey at 245 Euro per night, it wasn't out of line with other Florence hotels, and was a reasonable value for the money. Overall, we were very pleased with our stay.

Room Tip: Each "view" room has a distinct view, which is actually described on a placard outside of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrZukini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear MrZukini

Thank you very much for your very kind comments and compliments about our hotel and our services. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are sorry that you stayed for only one night, so we are waiting for you soon for a longer stay in our Florence.

Best wishes from all of us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Room is simple but clean and roomy. located directly down the block from the Duomo and 3 blocks from the train station. Within close walking distance to museums and shopping. Breakfast was enough to get you started for the day. I would recommend this hotel and would consider staying there again myself.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeAndSheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear MikeAndSheila

we are happy that you enjoyed your stay and you liked our hotel.
Thank you for your comments and your recommendations!
We really hope to welcome you again.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#42 of 411 in Florence
1,867 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Pitti
Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#52 of 411 in Florence
1,466 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Pendini
Hotel Pendini
#35 of 411 in Florence
2,065 reviews
San Lorenzo
Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laurus al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laurus al Duomo

Address: Via Cerretani 54 / R, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#52 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#53 Family Hotel in Florence
#70 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £88 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Laurus al Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Laurus al Duomo is located in the heart of Florence, just 70 meters from the Cathedral and 150 meters from the central train station Santa Maria Novella.The hotel is part of the cultural centre "Centro Congressi al Duomo", together with the Auditorium al Duomo, Cafe Astra al Duomo, Hotel Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio.Located in the historical via de' Cerretani, between the Cathedral and the Santa Maria Novella train station, the Hotel Laurus al Duomo stays at a short walk from the most elegant shopping streets, and it is ideal for both leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Fastbooking, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Laurus al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Florence
Laurus Hotel
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing