We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Italian Style Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Ranked #71 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Italian Style Hotel”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Location is convenient; 5 minutes walk from Santa Maria Novella Train Station. Full of shops, boutiques and nice restaurants nearby. Friendly staff. Warm Italian decoration and renovation. Florence is a nice city. I will stay in this hotel again when I next visit Florence.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank libbyng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear libbyng

we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the style of the hotel.
We are waiting to welcome you on your next trip to Florence!

Greetings from your friendly staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    813
    615
    112
    28
    20
See reviews for
283
923
28
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Arrived at Laurus al Duomo for the first leg of our honeymoon spending 4 nights. Got a taxi from Florence Airport which cost a fixed price of €25 but the hotel is also only a 5-10 minute walk from the main train station. Being located right next to the main Piazza the hotel offers a perfect base from which to see Florence. The view from the terrace bar is great with The Duomo right there in front of you although unfortunately it's doors are closed between 10:30 & 4:30. All the main attractions are within about a 30 minute walk and being located so close to The Duomo makes it really easy to find your way back from pretty much anywhere in the City. The only negative points I could really make are that the service in the terrace bar / restaurant is a little slow and our room a little small but that would really be clutching at straws. Overall a very nice hotel and service but the central location is really what makes it. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Gordon S

felcii that we have chosen our hotel for your honeymoon and that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thanks for the kind comments and compliments!
We hope also to welcome you for future anniversaries!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beds UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Would recommend this hotel for it's brilliant location, friendly staff, nice atmosphere and nicely laid out rooms. We flew into Pisa and caught a coach outside the airport which was very easy & only cost 5euro one way. It took 1hour 20mins to get to Florence coach/train station & this hotel is a 5 minute, very direct, walk from the station.
Staff very welcoming and we were given a 2nd floor room. We didn't have a view as were at the back of the hotel but the room was very spacious, modern and nicely presented. 3 adults in one room can sometimes be a challenge as you never know what the "3rd" bed will be. At this hotel is was a very comfortable sofa bed so no problem. Mini bar, fridge (which you are able to use for your own water or other drink too), TV, plenty of wardrobe/draw space, a safe, coffee table & 3 occasional chairs all made for a pleasant stay here at Hotel Laurus. Bathroom was very modern with a really good shower, and replenished daily with lots of shampoo, shower gel etc.
The open top terrace was a nice place to sit in the evenings & have a glass of something cold & refreshing & the staff were always delightful. Breakfast also served here with an average selection of continental & cooked food including pastries.
The central location of this hotel makes it a brilliant choice as it is a stones throw away from the Duomo Cathedral which is the main attraction in Florence. Shops ranging from designer, high street, local & market stalls are all situated around this hotel so there is no need for public transport once you get here. Saying that I would recommend the open top bus tours which take you outside of the city centre into the surrounding hills and also the gardens which are a visit you must take if you come to Florence.
Cobbled streets so wear flat shoes & put a few extra euros in as it is a little expensive. Average prices were bottle of wine 25euro, small beer 5euro, cocktails 11euro, pizza 12euro but all in all not too bad. You do have to pay to get into all attractions though so be prepared for that.
All in all we had a lovely stay in Florence & this hotel made it a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Staveley-Stars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Staveley-Stars

we are happy chre you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for the fantastic review! You minutely described in our rooms and our services, we understand that you're really an expert reviewer!
We will be happy to welcome you again in our beautiful Florence!

Greetings from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
170 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Hundred meters away from Santa Maria Novella Station and Duomo (Santa Maria Del Fiore Cathedral). A perfect hotel in the midst of the city center with great food and friendly staffs. Superb night at their bar and open rooftop with the magnificent view of the Duomo. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MigsDeManille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear ミカエルフ

we are happy that you highly recommend our hotel and thank you for the kind comments and compliments about our services and our staff!
We really hope to welcome you again in near future.

Greetings from all of us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

It was great. Rooftop bar was wonderful in the evenings and breakfast in the mornings was consistently good. Location was perfect for shopping, site seeing and catching the train. Internet service was spotty but worked fine at the bar so we were always able to check email once per day. Bed was comfy and staff were pleasant and helpful.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dk124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Dk124

Thank you for choosing our hotel and we are so happy that you had a great experience with us. Thank you for your very kind comments and compliments about our services and our staff!
We hope welcome you during your next trip.

Greetings from all of us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Had a great stay. Rooms were very clean, modern and comfortable. The bath was big and modern. Breakfast on the 6th floor had a wide selection of meats, cheese and pastry along with coffees, juice and a view of the duomo. Staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpduval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear jpduval

We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the very kind compliments about our hotel and our staff!
Hoping to welcome you again during your next trip to our beautiful Florence,

greetings from all of us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crouse2129
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Clean rooms, AC, hair dryer, great hotel staff with excellent customer service, patio with view of Duomo, great wine bar, delicious breakfast, walking distance to all the tourist destinations, easy to walk to from train station, convenient!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank crouse2129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear crouse2129

We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the great review!
Hoping to welcome you again,

greetings from all the staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#60 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
San Lorenzo
Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca
Pitti
Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel de La Ville
Hotel de La Ville
#65 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#40 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#44 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laurus al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laurus al Duomo

Property: Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Address: Via Cerretani 54 / R, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#52 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#69 Business Hotel in Florence
#71 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Laurus al Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Laurus al Duomo is located in the heart of Florence, just 70 meters from the Cathedral and 150 meters from the central train station Santa Maria Novella.The hotel is part of the cultural centre "Centro Congressi al Duomo", together with the Auditorium al Duomo, Cafe Astra al Duomo, Hotel Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio.Located in the historical via de' Cerretani, between the Cathedral and the Santa Maria Novella train station, the Hotel Laurus al Duomo stays at a short walk from the most elegant shopping streets, and it is ideal for both leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Fastbooking, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Laurus al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Florence
Laurus Hotel
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing