We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Ranked #69 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Positives
The hotel is in a great location and the room was clean.

The bathroom was nice and clean also.

The front desk staff were great and very helpful.

Negatives
The rooftop bar really let's this hotel down. The service during breakfast was terrible, utensils are left unclean, bacon was in edible and was as hard as a rock, the coffee machines were always dirty, eggs were cold, fruit and meat selection was always empty.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grugly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Grugly,
Thank you for your positive comments about our hotel. We are really surprise to read that you found our breakfast service very cheap. We wish to assure you that quality of our products and services is extremely important for us: both are the basis for the hospitality offered to our Guests. Our quality standards are vey high! We thank you for your report and we will assure you that we will take care of your suggestions.
We hope to welcoming you back and have the opportunity to change your opinion about our services.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    812
    615
    112
    28
    20
See reviews for
283
922
28
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The hotel is located close to the train station (5 mins walk) and 2 mins from the Duomo. It is a fantastic location as it is so close to all the attractions.

We had a junior suite which was perfect for us as we had our 15 year old son in tow so it was nice for him to have his own separate space. There was no balcony or view but to be honest, we were hardly in the room so this was not a priority. The room was comfortable with plenty of storage space.

Breakfast was typical of the area, not a great choice and nothing to rave about but the view from the terrace of the top of the dome was awesome.

We made no demand therefore service was not an issue. The male receptionist was very dour and we learnt not to say good morning/evening to him as he did not respond which we found a little strange but the ladies who replaced him the next day were very cheerful.

The reason why we chose this hotel was for the location and it did not disappoint.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulineysroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for find time writing about your experience about in Florence. We assure you that quality of our products and services are our main aims of the welcome given to our Guests and all our team is committed to maintain these standards.
We'd like welcome you back had have the opportunity to make your stay more pleasant and memorable.
Kinds regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The hotel is ideally situated with the station only a short walk away. Other famous sites are very close by. The hotel staff were very helpful. The decor of the building looks dated. The communal areas, lifts and landings were tired and in need of some investment. The room was fine - clean, spacious and comfortable.

One particular issue was the poor quality breakfast. The choice was very limited, the quality of the ingredients was poor and whole breakfast experience lacked any atmosphere. What was on offer was presented in a really dated style, like something from Benidorm in the 80s. Acidic tasteless orange juice, 'machine' coffee, stale pastries and cheap yoghurts. Not what we would expect from a 4 star hotel in an international city.

There is more to a hotel than its breakfast but it was a real disappointment.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Peter B.
Thank you for spending time writing about your experience at Hotel Laurus al Duomo.
Reading abut it, we are really sorry that you didn't find our breakfast so high quality, but we'd like to assure you that all our products have a great quality: our cakes, pastries and bread are cooked every day by local artisan bakers; the yogurt proposed is one of the most appreciated in Italy, our coffee is freshly ground. Our sweets salty buffet is made with typical Italian and Tuscan products with cold and hot proposals as Pecorino cheese, 2 choices of meats, scramble/ boiled eggs.
The décor of the hotel respects a classic style and atmosphere being an 18th century building centrally located.
We hope to welcome you back and have the opportunity to make your next stay pleasant and memorable.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel terrace has an excellent view of the Duomo. Breakfast is lovely on the terrace: lots of continental options plus sausage, scrambled and boiled eggs. You can also get snacks in the evening so it's lovely to have a glass of wine and some bruschette whilst watching the sunset. We had a standard room as we knew we wouldn't be in it too much. The room was pretty large considering some European dimensions. The air conditioning was great. You can get to everything on foot from the hotel. The Firenze SMN station is only a 5 min walk away. If you are transferring from Pisa airport, get a shuttle bus from the airport to Pisa Centrale Station then a train to SMN station - 10 euros all in. Would definitely return to this hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kirkenstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Kirkenste,

Thank you very much for spending time writing about your experience at Hotel Laurus and for the nice word you wrote abut our 6th Floor, breakfast and wine bar facilities. We are very glad that you had great time on our top roof terrace in the evening enjoyed with wine and bruschette.
We hope to welcome you back in Florence and have the opportunity to make your stay more memorable.
Thanks again and regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton, California, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This hotel experience was exceptional. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left we were comfortable and well taken care of. Breakfast in the upstairs room was wonderful and had a view of the Duomo. Food was great and room was incredible. We selected a room with a view and weren't disappointed. The next time we're in Florence this will be our hotel!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Mrs. Terri,
Thank you for spending time writing about your experience at Hotel Laurus.
We are really glad that you had great time with us and that everybody take care of you.
We await for you back and have the opportunity make next stay memorable again.

Thanks again!!!!!

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lommel, Belgium
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2014

A wonderful hotel right in the Center of Firenze. Splendidly located for the discovery of the city on foot. The Duomo is less than one minute by foot and can be seen from the breakfast terrace. Spacious rooms, great breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Peter C

thank you for visiting us and thanks for the kind compliments!

Greetings from your wonderful hotel in Florence!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great location,nice rooftop terrace,great firm beds.!
If you are transferring from Pisa airport I would give Terravision a miss......nasty old coaches with bits falling off and generally held together by sellotape. It's cheap (6euro) but you get what you pay for. Use the Pisa mover bus connection to the station (only 5mins away) and catch the train.....overall it takes the same time and is worth the extra 3 euro. they both drop at the station which is 5 mins walk from the hotel

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The Mummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear The Mummer

We are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel, the location and our services!
Hoping to welcome you again,

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#58 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
San Lorenzo
Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca
Pitti
Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel de La Ville
Hotel de La Ville
#65 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#40 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,700 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#46 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laurus al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laurus al Duomo

Property: Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Address: Via Cerretani 54 / R, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#52 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#69 Business Hotel in Florence
#71 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Laurus al Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Laurus al Duomo is located in the heart of Florence, just 70 meters from the Cathedral and 150 meters from the central train station Santa Maria Novella.The hotel is part of the cultural centre "Centro Congressi al Duomo", together with the Auditorium al Duomo, Cafe Astra al Duomo, Hotel Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio.Located in the historical via de' Cerretani, between the Cathedral and the Santa Maria Novella train station, the Hotel Laurus al Duomo stays at a short walk from the most elegant shopping streets, and it is ideal for both leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Fastbooking, Agoda, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Laurus al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Florence
Laurus Hotel
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing