We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Practically Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Laurus al Duomo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Ranked #71 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Practically Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is perfectly situated between the main train station of Florence (walking distance if you don't have too much luggage) and the beautiful Duamo.
The reception staff are friendly and helpful and breakfast is available on a rooftop terrace which becomes a wine bar by night. The view is amazing.
All around the hotel are options for meals in every price range and, of course, shopping. Leather goods and jewelry are specialties.
Our 'junior suite' was clean, tidy, quite basic, but everything we needed as a base to explore this beautiful city.
Although the hotel claims the rooms are soundproofed, I was disturbed most nights by noise from adjoining rooms.
Overall this was a really reasonably priced, pleasant hotel in an excellent location.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MargieB61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear MargieB61

we are so happy that you found our hotel "pratically perfect" and ringrazimo you for the kind comments and compliments.
Waiting to welcome you again,

greetings from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    798
    600
    111
    28
    19
See reviews for
274
910
28
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel in July 2014. Hotel staff was nice and very helpful. The room was clean and had a large bathroom for European standard hotels. The rooftop restaurant had a phenomenal view! We never ate there but found the staff very nice. It's steps to il Duomo and walking distance to pretty much everything in central Florence. Train station is also very close by. I would definitely stay there again the next time we're in Florence!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Mr. Anthony O,
We are very glad to read that you had great time in Florence and with us.
We hope to welcome you back and have the opportunity to make you next stay more pleasant and memorable.
Thank you again and regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orrs Island, Maine
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Stayed in this hotel over Christmas last year. The hotel is fine and the staff is friendly. The location is wonderful- just steps from the Duomo and a short walk to the train station. Lots of restaurants, markets and shops nearby. Would stay again. Florence is beautiful!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Babs36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Babs36,
thank you for spending time writing about your experience at the hotel Laurus.
We are very glad that for your Christmas holidays you enjoyed in Florence. We hope to welcome you back in the next future, maybe in a different season, and have the opportunity to suggest other beautiful corner and treasures to visit of Florence.
See you again,
regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Positives
The hotel is in a great location and the room was clean.

The bathroom was nice and clean also.

The front desk staff were great and very helpful.

Negatives
The rooftop bar really let's this hotel down. The service during breakfast was terrible, utensils are left unclean, bacon was in edible and was as hard as a rock, the coffee machines were always dirty, eggs were cold, fruit and meat selection was always empty.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grugly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Grugly,
Thank you for your positive comments about our hotel. We are really surprise to read that you found our breakfast service very cheap. We wish to assure you that quality of our products and services is extremely important for us: both are the basis for the hospitality offered to our Guests. Our quality standards are vey high! We thank you for your report and we will assure you that we will take care of your suggestions.
We hope to welcoming you back and have the opportunity to change your opinion about our services.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

The hotel is located close to the train station (5 mins walk) and 2 mins from the Duomo. It is a fantastic location as it is so close to all the attractions.

We had a junior suite which was perfect for us as we had our 15 year old son in tow so it was nice for him to have his own separate space. There was no balcony or view but to be honest, we were hardly in the room so this was not a priority. The room was comfortable with plenty of storage space.

Breakfast was typical of the area, not a great choice and nothing to rave about but the view from the terrace of the top of the dome was awesome.

We made no demand therefore service was not an issue. The male receptionist was very dour and we learnt not to say good morning/evening to him as he did not respond which we found a little strange but the ladies who replaced him the next day were very cheerful.

The reason why we chose this hotel was for the location and it did not disappoint.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulineysroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for find time writing about your experience about in Florence. We assure you that quality of our products and services are our main aims of the welcome given to our Guests and all our team is committed to maintain these standards.
We'd like welcome you back had have the opportunity to make your stay more pleasant and memorable.
Kinds regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

The hotel is ideally situated with the station only a short walk away. Other famous sites are very close by. The hotel staff were very helpful. The decor of the building looks dated. The communal areas, lifts and landings were tired and in need of some investment. The room was fine - clean, spacious and comfortable.

One particular issue was the poor quality breakfast. The choice was very limited, the quality of the ingredients was poor and whole breakfast experience lacked any atmosphere. What was on offer was presented in a really dated style, like something from Benidorm in the 80s. Acidic tasteless orange juice, 'machine' coffee, stale pastries and cheap yoghurts. Not what we would expect from a 4 star hotel in an international city.

There is more to a hotel than its breakfast but it was a real disappointment.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Peter B.
Thank you for spending time writing about your experience at Hotel Laurus al Duomo.
Reading abut it, we are really sorry that you didn't find our breakfast so high quality, but we'd like to assure you that all our products have a great quality: our cakes, pastries and bread are cooked every day by local artisan bakers; the yogurt proposed is one of the most appreciated in Italy, our coffee is freshly ground. Our sweets salty buffet is made with typical Italian and Tuscan products with cold and hot proposals as Pecorino cheese, 2 choices of meats, scramble/ boiled eggs.
The décor of the hotel respects a classic style and atmosphere being an 18th century building centrally located.
We hope to welcome you back and have the opportunity to make your next stay pleasant and memorable.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel terrace has an excellent view of the Duomo. Breakfast is lovely on the terrace: lots of continental options plus sausage, scrambled and boiled eggs. You can also get snacks in the evening so it's lovely to have a glass of wine and some bruschette whilst watching the sunset. We had a standard room as we knew we wouldn't be in it too much. The room was pretty large considering some European dimensions. The air conditioning was great. You can get to everything on foot from the hotel. The Firenze SMN station is only a 5 min walk away. If you are transferring from Pisa airport, get a shuttle bus from the airport to Pisa Centrale Station then a train to SMN station - 10 euros all in. Would definitely return to this hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kirkenstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Kirkenste,

Thank you very much for spending time writing about your experience at Hotel Laurus and for the nice word you wrote abut our 6th Floor, breakfast and wine bar facilities. We are very glad that you had great time on our top roof terrace in the evening enjoyed with wine and bruschette.
We hope to welcome you back in Florence and have the opportunity to make your stay more memorable.
Thanks again and regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel de La Ville
Hotel de La Ville
#58 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#62 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Pitti
Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#44 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#48 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#47 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laurus al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laurus al Duomo

Property: Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Address: Via Cerretani 54 / R, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#52 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#69 Business Hotel in Florence
#71 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Laurus al Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Laurus al Duomo is located in the heart of Florence, just 70 meters from the Cathedral and 150 meters from the central train station Santa Maria Novella.The hotel is part of the cultural centre "Centro Congressi al Duomo", together with the Auditorium al Duomo, Cafe Astra al Duomo, Hotel Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio.Located in the historical via de' Cerretani, between the Cathedral and the Santa Maria Novella train station, the Hotel Laurus al Duomo stays at a short walk from the most elegant shopping streets, and it is ideal for both leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Priceline, Hotels.com, Fastbooking and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Laurus al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Florence
Laurus Hotel
Florence Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing