We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding - we ended up staying a week! Nov. 2011”
Review of Continentale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Continentale
Ranked #35 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Outstanding - we ended up staying a week! Nov. 2011”
Reviewed 17 June 2012 via mobile

We had booked a smaller b&b for Florence and switched to continentale after 1 night. It was stifling hot in the other place and the wifi stunk.
The room at continentale was gorgeous. The bed was amazing. The space and openess was incredible. They had a/c even though it was Fall. What an amazing place. Beautiful rooftop bar. Overlooking the Ponte Vecchio. Worth every penny to stay there!!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TaylorTravelTimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    230
    47
    9
    14
See reviews for
92
521
32
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

This is a wonderful hotel in a perfect location! The hotel is very modern, the decor was great, and the rooms were large. Our bed was huge and comfortable, and we had a great view of the river and ponte vecchio. The lounge on the roof was beautiful and service was excellent. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 4th or 5th floor for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Animaldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2012

The Continentale is a peaceful haven set in the midst of the hustle and bustle of the beautiful city of Florence and its famous sites. A small and stylish hotel with a relaxing ambience and immediate views of the intriguing Ponte Vecchio standing above the River Arno.
Little tranquil lounges where you can 'unwind'.
Our large,clean 'white' room with white voiles,white bedlinen, subtle lighting and the 'softness' of the natural wooden floors, was so calming.
The staff were very pleasant, polite, efficient and made an excellent team. Breakfast, set up prettily, was enjoyable and adequate.
The Sky Lounge...a unique experience! During the day,we were able to 'soak up' a little sun in the privacy of our own hotel. But, at night, how it turned into a 'wow' venue! An intimate and chic bar with spectacular views of Florence! It was the perfect place for us to entertain a group of friends celebrating a 50th Birthday.
We will certainly return to this hotel...Loved it !!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Having tried a lot of hotels in Florence and been continually disappointed... I stumbled across the Continentale and was immediately impressed by the photos.

Just trust me, they don't do it justice!!! It is phenomenal! Walking into the room I was immediately impressed by the cleanliness, but on closer inspection, the smaller touches just blew me away. Comfy bed, fabulous sheets, amazing shower, black out blinds, infinite lighting combinations, clocks for bedside tables and slippers next to the bed ready for me to slip on!

Then there are the artistic touches around the hotel, including light fittings, pictures and a myriad of subtle touches!

But to top it off, and don't waste time, get straight up there... There's the rooftop bar!! I've drank in a few funky establishments, and this is right up there... Literally!! Overlooking the Ponte Vecchio, with comfy sofas, heaters and tables that illuminate at night... It doesn't matter what time you go, Nastro has never tasted better, Nevermind their wonderful wines and liqueurs!

I don't work for the hotel, I promise! Try it, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoyesTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

This was my second stay in Hotel Continentale. The reception was quite wonderful as I was not pre-booked and came in off the street - I was helped immediately and within 6 minutes I was checked into a wonderful clean modern room. I previously stayed in a larger suite with my wife but was alone this time. Even better than I remembered and I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Satravellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

The Continentale sets a very high standard for modern hotel design, and was, all around, one of the nicest we have stayed in during all our travels to date. Conveniently located right at the corner of Ponte Vecchio (of which we had a view), the hotel is clean, comfortable, professional, and so stylishly furnished that it borders on almost being futuristic. End tables are made of clocks, desks are modular travel trunks, sinks are flat white slabs, windows and partitions are covered by automated blinds, and the bed (with its canopy) looks ethereal as if it was a floating cloud (and feels that way when you sleep too!). In the lobby, a live video feed of Ponte Vecchio foot traffic is projected on the walls. If, like us, you enjoy modern style, you will definitely appreciate the design of this hotel.

We were also very impressed with the Continentale's breakfast, and options are plentiful with access to all sister hotels: you can eat a small Italian breakfast on site, go to the Galleria just across the street for something more elaborate, or visit the Lungarno across the river for a full (warm) meal. In all cases, the cleanliness of presentation, freshness, and the quality of the food was top notch – you really do feel as if you were out for brunch at an artsy café (rather than at a hotel buffet).

While our general praise is focussed on the design and quality of the hotel, the professionalism of the staff and their attention to detail should not be overlooked. One act that we found demonstrated this commitment to customer service was also a very small one: each evening, upon arriving in our room, we found an updated printout of the following day’s weather forecast. A very small gesture, of course, but one of great convenience and very much appreciated by us.

At the end of our stay we are left with nothing but compliments and pleasant memories: an excellent hotel – essentially flawless.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MDJL81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Loved Continentale from the moment we arrived. Very helpful and friendly team, really cool decor, well appointed rooms and the position, overlooking the Arno is outstanding.

The roof top bar is great but if its busy you are best to make a booking. We didn't know this and nearly missed out.

Overall a really great Hotel

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterR931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Gallery Hotel Art
Gallery Hotel Art
#38 of 412 in Florence
1,021 reviews
Hotel Lungarno
#13 of 412 in Florence
1,211 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#33 of 412 in Florence
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#48 of 412 in Florence
1,532 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#4 of 412 in Florence
519 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 412 in Florence
2,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continentale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continentale

Property: Continentale
Address: Vicolo dell_Oro 6r, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Florence
#29 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#34 Family Hotel in Florence
#35 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#37 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Continentale 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant and dynamic yet romantic design and luxury hotel in Florence, beautifully evolved in the energy of the 50's. The Hotel Continentale is the place to see and be seen, a catwalk for fashion and desire in the heart of Florence. The elegant and inviting white colors chosen by Florentine architect Michele Bönan evoke harmony, simplicity, and fantasy. Discover refined design and attention to detail throughout this 4 star hotel in Florence near Arno, from handmade leather trunks used as a desk to witty clocks used as a side table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Continentale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continentale Hotel Florence
Continentale Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing