We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wondeful hotel with great touches”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Continentale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Continentale
Ranked #45 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
NAIROBI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wondeful hotel with great touches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed at the Continentale in July, 2012, and could not have chosen a better-located hotel. It is perfect for people of my age (60 - 65 yr bracket) who d not want to walk too much. We were given a room with a wonderful view on the 6th floor; looking out of our window we could see the Arno, the Ponte Veccio, as well as the Duomo. Superb restaurants were an easy walk from the hotel, and upmarket shopping was at our door-step.The hotel is beautifully designed and furnished; the breakfast is wonderful (a tip: request to pay for your breakfast at check in and get a very good breakfast rate); the helpful staff - all of this made our stay in Florence a great experince. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 601 was wonderful for its view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fdgrNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    530
    218
    45
    8
    13
See reviews for
78
478
26
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
central florida
Level Contributor
204 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

We just spent four nights here and I couldn't wait to come home and vent on TripAdvisor. Except that's not what TA is for. Our issues were ours and you need information that will make your choice more comfortable. I'm not so upset anymore so here it is:

It's nice and conveniently located. It is safe and clean and modern. The air conditioning in our room ROCKED and was able to be individually controlled. The room was stunningly beautiful. There was a separate closet to store/organize our things. The shower the most awesome of my life and the bedding absolutely superior.

The room and various parts of the hotel including the "Relax" room constantly smelled like sulfur gas/rotten eggs. The flooring in the rooms are wood so you will be waking up whenever the people above you put on their shoes and start walking/moving luggage/etc each day. The breakfast buffet sets you back 25euro each. Nowhere could we find any description of any service provided by the hotel. As such, when I went to the nearly empty Sky Deck to relax one afternoon I was made to feel foolish by the staff attendant because I had not made a reservation. Where was that information? Where was any information related to the spa and its services/appointments? There was nothing I could find anywhere in our room/on the tv/etc.

The services provided were problematic and inconsistent for us. We were unable to feel as though we were warmly welcomed here.

Overall, I would tell you that this is a good hotel and a good choice while in Milan central. We would stay at a different hotel in the future. At $300 a night, it will certainly provide you the comfort you need. It's just that for us, personally, a warmer relationship is necessary for our return/referral consideration.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelswell4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

I booked this hotel for 2 nights with my wife. Perfect location in the old city, 5 to 10 minutes walk from all main attractions, restaurants, shops. The hotel is very clean, comfortable and staff welcoming. Luca one of the clerks gave us good advice on restaurants and things to do. I will definitely book this hotel again when I come back to Florence. Clientele is mostly couples from all around the world in their 30s, 40s.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nrais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed in the Continentale in July '12 and what a wonderful hotel in a great location!

The staff were helpful, the room was clean, quiet, stylish and had a wonderful view down the Ponte Vecchio. The breakfast was fantastic, fresh fruit, meats, cheeses and cakes -all that you could want. Then to cap it all, the roof top bar stunning views over the rooftops of Florence, the surprise and delight of the nibbles, great mojitos just made this a fabulous place to have a 'sun downer'.

Any downsides, none that we could think of.

If you want a stylish,chilled hotel in a great location that is different than the usual box, then this is the place to go.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anaheim
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Unfortunately, we did not stay here, but we wish we did! Trendy, great neighborhood, nice staff and stylish property. We enjoyed drinks and appetizers on the roof and enjoyed the view. Even if you don't stay here, stop in to enjoy the rooftop view, food and great service!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, U.S.A.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

I love the Continentale. This is a wonderful intimate hotel, discreetly located on a small lane right next to the Ponte Vecchio on the Arno. It is extremely stylish and modern. Every detail is impeccable. Our standard room was spacious and extremely comfortable. Everything worked perfectly, including the air conditioning! It was surprisingly quiet considering the location. The staff is courteous and helpful. I can't say enough about the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul_mcmlx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

We only had one night in Florence but with a room which overlooked the Ponte Vecchio we really made the most of our time in the wonderful city of Florence & at this fantastic hotel. Breakfast was first class & the rooftop bar for sunset cocktails simply divine. The room with white linen curtains which enclosed the bed was so stylish & elegant and the bathroom was beautifully furnished.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenA79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Gallery Hotel Art
Gallery Hotel Art
#36 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#33 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#46 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
Hotel Lungarno
#14 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#15 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continentale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continentale

Property: Continentale
Address: Vicolo dell_Oro 6r, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Florence
#32 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#34 Family Hotel in Florence
#35 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#37 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Continentale 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant and dynamic yet romantic design and luxury hotel in Florence, beautifully evolved in the energy of the 50's. The Hotel Continentale is the place to see and be seen, a catwalk for fashion and desire in the heart of Florence. The elegant and inviting white colors chosen by Florentine architect Michele Bönan evoke harmony, simplicity, and fantasy. Discover refined design and attention to detail throughout this 4 star hotel in Florence near Arno, from handmade leather trunks used as a desk to witty clocks used as a side table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Fastbooking, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Continentale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continentale Hotel Florence
Continentale Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing