We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Review of Terrace Bar” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Continentale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Continentale
Ranked #44 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Berkeley, California
1 review
“Review of Terrace Bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

I did not stay at the Continentale, so I cannot speak to the quality of the hotel, but I did visit their terrace bar and was sadly disappointed. What would be a particularly spectacular view of the Arno is obstructed by unnecessarily high hedges. I did not think it was a appropriate to stand on my seat to take pictures and thus the view was wasted. When I arrived I was not presented a menu, I believe the staff thought a single girl must be waiting for someone, why would she come alone, amd I ended up paying 15 euro for a "Spritz" an Italian cocktail made with beer and prosecco. This is more than twice what I've paid eleswhere, with the poor view it was a waste of money. Unfortunately, I won't be returning.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Rosa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    213
    45
    8
    12
See reviews for
74
468
25
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

At over 300Euro per night I was expecting much more.

The service was not good enough - no one asked how our stay was, no map was given, we had to follow up about the wifi.

The room was spacious but had a musky smell and the shower head was broken.

The best part of this hotel was the rooftop bar - great vibe and view. But the service was slow and sloppy.

The location is great right one the Ponte Vecchio.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr and Mrs C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Hasharon, Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Continentale. The staff are amazing, the rooms are beautiful - well stocked and generously sized - and the roof top bar is the great place in the city to have a drink. The location of this hotel is the best in Florence! saves you from ever really having to get in a taxi, right in the heart of it. The stay at Continentale was a plesur, We would definately return to the Continentale in Florence..

Room Tip: ask for the fifth floor , river front
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PG C, Responsabile reception at Continentale, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you so very much for the positive feedback and wonderful review! I am glad you were able to experience the Sky Lounge roof-top bar and extremely delighted you were pleased with your room! We truly hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Florence!

Piergiorgio Cavallari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We have recently had the pleasure of staying at Continentale. The staff are amazing, the rooms are beautiful - well stocked and generously sized - and the roof top bar is a great place to have a drink. The location saves you from ever really having to get in a taxi, right in the heart of it. The stay at Continentale was a sheer pleasure! Thank you

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PG C, Responsabile reception at Continentale, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
We greatly appreciate the spectacular review and positive feedback! I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel one day soon! Thank you again!

Piergiorgio Cavallari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

We loved it!! The location of this hotel is the best in Florence! The hotel staff was professional & courteous (Especially Francesca and Eduardo). We had a great room. The morning breakfasts were perfect with fresh rolls, cereals & fruits.This was a perfect location for walking the city! We would definately return to Florence.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PG C, Responsabile reception at Continentale, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Thank you for the marvelous review! I’m extremely satisfied to hear my staff provided you with such a professional service, all in a courteous manner, and very glad you enjoyed both the room and the breakfast! We most definitely look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, hopefully in the near future!

Piergiorgio Cavallari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Unable to check in after a long hot days travel as a previous occupant 'was ill' and running late(??)... Offered a smaller room whilst they tried to sort it out but with no guarantees or timeframe and in a very 'couldn't care less' manner. Only when we protested did the house manager step in and try and resolve things. Not a big deal normally but had booked a £400 a night superior room as a surprise .. and bang.. surprise and whole point blown!
Room (finally) was nice, manager had sent up a bottle of Prosecco as an apology.. but the noisiest aircon I have ever experienced in 25 years of hotels.. shower was falling off the wall, and leaked, mould around the floor and housekeeping abandoned wet towels on the bedroom floor that evening...
Location was great and roof terrace was fun but that was about it. Hardly 5 star. The main problem with this kind of 'design' hotel is that they seem largely run for appearance and for the benefit of the cool acting staff. The porter was great, receptionist uselessly ignored us whilst she was on the phone and the manager disappeared as soon as he could. Oh and they don;t mention that the hotel is near on impossible to get to in a car (sat nav cannot find it at all) and when you do it is €35 a night... cash! You can do much better in Florence for a lot less money.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are large but views of the river are through small very deep old windows. No terr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UKTraveller1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PG C, Responsabile reception at Continentale, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for the review. We greatly appreciate the descriptive and informative feedback you have provided us and I apologize for any and all inconveniences you may have experienced during your stay with us. Unfortunatelly, as I underlined when we first meet , due to an unexpected illness of a previous guest we were not able to provide you the room at the proper check-in time. I really sorry and we would like to have the possibility to welcome you as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Having tried to get to the bar the previous night and been informed it was full, we tried again on Sunday night. Our luck was in, but by 7:30 it was already busy and others were being turned away. The drinks were OK rather than spectacular but you go to the Contintentale for the view and ambience rather than anything else. Also, as others have commented the drinks themselves are a little expensive (€27 for a Prosecco and G&T) but that is missing the point.

The staff were very professional (as well as very attractive) but the barman was struggling at times to keep up with the orders so there was some delay. My advice to those who are disappointed about getting seated is to hang around a bit if that is possible. The turnover of clientele is fairly swift and several times we saw a couple turn around disappointed only for seats to become available a few minutes later. It definitely needs to be on your short-list of places to visit when in Florence.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PG C, Responsabile reception at Continentale, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review of our roof-top Sky Lounge Bar! We apologize for any delays in receiving your drinks, as you noticed our professional staff does its best to accommodate and to please everyone. Seeing that you weren’t able to be seated the first night, we are very delighted you decided to come back! Glad you enjoyed it and we hope you come back to experience it again on your next trip to Florence!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Gallery Hotel Art
Gallery Hotel Art
#37 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Hotel Degli Orafi
#32 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#48 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Pitti
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
#19 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continentale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continentale

Property: Continentale
Address: Vicolo dell_Oro 6r, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Florence
#31 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#34 Family Hotel in Florence
#35 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#37 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Continentale 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant and dynamic yet romantic design and luxury hotel in Florence, beautifully evolved in the energy of the 50's. The Hotel Continentale is the place to see and be seen, a catwalk for fashion and desire in the heart of Florence. The elegant and inviting white colors chosen by Florentine architect Michele Bönan evoke harmony, simplicity, and fantasy. Discover refined design and attention to detail throughout this 4 star hotel in Florence near Arno, from handmade leather trunks used as a desk to witty clocks used as a side table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Continentale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continentale Hotel Florence
Continentale Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing