We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, central and freindly!”
Review of Continentale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Continentale
Ranked #32 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed here for a weekend (babymoon) and the staff is very friendly and helpful, the rooms are very clean and nice, the hotel is very centrally located. We had a great experience. Some noisy guests woke us up by talking loud in the corridor one day but that was a minor thing. Sometimes it smelled from the sewer in the receprion ground floor but that seemed to be the same all over Florence.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Brodde W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PG C, Responsabile reception at Continentale, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Sirs,
first of all let us thank you to have choosed our hotel for your stay in Florence.
We are really glad that you were so satisfied about your experience with us and we would like to apologize for the noisy you had coming from next guests and we just want to inform you that for the smell we have now found a solution, so we hope to have the possibilty to host you again in the future to make your next stay PERFECT!
Our best regards!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (964)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 964 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

This hotel is absolutely one of the most cozy, yet sheik places I have every stayed in my travels. Yes, it is a bit awkwardly organized because of the building and surrounding community. However, the rooftop terrace is the best place in the city for an afternoon drink and the iPad in the hotel elevator is a riot!

The atmosphere with all of the contemporary art is unlike anything else you will see in Florence – a very nice contract to the impressionism and history you will experience everywhere else. The service was actively present, gracious and helpful. While it seems everyone in the city has their hand out for gratuity, you will happily compensate these folks if you need their services.

We received a room upgrade to a corner room overlooking the river and we could not have been more pleased with the cleanliness, design and amenities. We did not use the yoga mat or the weights that were provided, but it was cool to have them there. The only drawback (NOT A PROBLEM) is that the restaurant is in the sister hotel across the plaza. It is about 5 strides from door to door and should not impact a decision to stay here or not, but worth mentioning.

The breakfast buffet was plentiful and the meal service staff was exceptional. If you want to stay in one of the nicest hotels in Florence that is located in the absolute PERFECT place and you are willing to pay a little more to have a special experience, this is the place for you. We will be back.

Room Tip: ASk for a room that faces the river. The corner rooms are significantly bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank working_4_next_vaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PG C, Responsabile reception at Continentale, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Dear client,

thank you so much for your kind review! I'm so glad above all that we were able to help you to spend a happy stay at Continentale.
Thank you for your appreciation of the structure, the furnishings and services. As you pointed out so well, the terrace is a special place to spend an afternoon in Florence. Thanks again for the nice words about the atmosphere that reigns at Continentale. Hoping to welcome you again as soon as possible, I greet you cordially

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This is a beautiful property with the best location in the amazing city of Florence. I was in town for 3 nights to celebrate a friend's 40th birthday with 20 of us coming from all over the world. I was given room 408. This looked and felt like a youth hostel room but with Ferregamo bath products. There was literally a single bed tucked to the wall and a small shelf and a stool. That's it. The bathroom was lovely though. I wish they could've moved the bed to the bathroom. I complained about the horrible size of the room. I mean normally even a single room would have a small desk and a place where you can put your bag. After I complained, I was offered to move to a bigger room on my last night. I was also given a night for free and also I didn't pay for minibar. The manager was very understanding and friendly and he was quick to resolve the issue. Breakfast is good and wifi is very good too. So overall beautiful hotel and amazing service. Just make sure you don't get room 408!

Room Tip: Avoid room 408
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ahmedsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PG C, Responsabile reception at Continentale, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Dear client,

thank you for your review and for appreciating the hotel and or services in particular. I think I remember clearly the disappointment you underlined in your review and I am very pleased we were able to prove to you that in that situation we understood you point of view, trying to find the best solution. I hope to have the opportunity - as soon as possible - to show you how important for us are the expectations of our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I've used the roof terrace before but never stayed until a few weeks ago. It was a one night treat booked well in advance and I got a relatively good advance pay in full at time of booking rate. The single room was tiny but immaculate and beautifully planned with a great bathroom. Streetview but excellent electric blinds to cut out noise or light. I slept like a log in my niche single bed. It was fab! Only grumbles - ridiculously expensive mini bar and I feel some sort of basic breakfast (coffee, croissant and juice) would have been a great touch to have been included in price.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanartus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PG C, Responsabile reception at Continentale, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Dear client,
I want to thank you for your appreciation for the Continentale.
I am so pleased that you appreciates our terrace and for your kind words about your great slept. Finally, thanks to the details concerning breakfast and minibar. Please consider that they will be taken into great consideration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Nothing like what we saw on the internet .. TV never worked neither did wifi .. Smelled like sewage .. Our concierge Sylvia was wonderful .. All these problems were not in her hands .. The roof top bar that inspired us to book this hotel was NOT available .. Not good .. Deceptive advertising ..

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lalmirch22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PG C, Responsabile reception at Continentale, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear Sirs,
Such a damn!!! We are so, so, so, sorry!!
First of all we would like to thank you for your review. Your feedback is so important for us. I deeply understand your point of view and we apologize for your inconveniences and hassles you had during your stay.
Concerning wi-fi connection unfortunately the lack was due to a maintenance enforcement of the whole area . Actually at present the situation was solved and Internet is working again. I really regret for your bed experience.
Regarding the rooftop terrace, it was under renovation for the opening of the spring season and we regret so much that you didn’t have the possibility to enjoy this beautiful part of our building. I want to thank you for the nice words dedicated to our conciege.
We really hope you would like to give us another chance - coming back visiting us in Florence. We would like to have the possibility to be close to your expectation!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We were upgraded to a junior suite in the tower section as the related hotel which we had booked was closed for renovation. The staff were lovely and seemed genuinly excited by the upgrade. They were right, HUGE room and ensuite. It felt like living in a spa retreat. The main bed was enclosed in floor to ceiling white floaty curtains. Everything was crisp and clean which made it a soothing rest stop after a few hours of shopping or sight seeing. wifi worked perfectly. Staff and guests were generally stylish. The rooftop bar was closed for winter but the view is amazing and it looks like a fun spot for a nightcap. Our room might have been noisy if the bar was open.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heloiseandtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PG C, Responsabile reception at Continentale, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Sirs,
we really would like to thank you for your review. It is always very important for us to have a feedback from our guests.
We hope you decide to stay again with us in the future and if you come again in summer time you can also enjoy our bar in the rooftop that you liked!!
Our best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Had a fantastic experience at the Hotel Continentale over my New Year! Great location, friendly staff, very functional and comfortable room, great shower & Ferragamo luxury bath products, wonderful views of the Arno River and Ponte Vecchio!
The room wasn't huge but very well laid out and very cosy & romantic. Rooftop bar was only open on New Year's eve but was tremendous. The hotel bar was functioning in the Gallery Art Hotel (no more than 15 meters in front of the Continentale) and what fantastic bar staff and cocktails they have - exceptional! Highly recommend this Ferragamo Group Hotel! Trendy, functional, comfortable and highly enjoyable hotel - walked everywhere from our hotel during the 6 day stay. Highly recommend the Continentale in Florence!

Room Tip: Get River View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MYAGISAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PG C, Responsabile reception at Continentale, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Dear Sirs,
we couldn't be more satisfied about a review than yours.
When we receive this kind of feedback we can really be honored to have contributed to make your stay, that was even more special for the New Year's Eve, a memorable one!
We await to have the pleasure to host you here again in the future!
Our best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Gallery Hotel Art
Gallery Hotel Art
#39 of 409 in Florence
1,070 reviews
Hotel Lungarno
#11 of 409 in Florence
1,269 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#34 of 409 in Florence
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#5 of 409 in Florence
566 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 409 in Florence
2,862 reviews
Duomo
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continentale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continentale

Address: Vicolo dell_Oro 6r, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Florence
#27 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#34 Family Hotel in Florence
#35 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#37 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £184 - £468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Continentale 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant and dynamic yet romantic design and luxury hotel in Florence, beautifully evolved in the energy of the 50's. The Hotel Continentale is the place to see and be seen, a catwalk for fashion and desire in the heart of Florence. The elegant and inviting white colors chosen by Florentine architect Michele Bönan evoke harmony, simplicity, and fantasy. Discover refined design and attention to detail throughout this 4 star hotel in Florence near Arno, from handmade leather trunks used as a desk to witty clocks used as a side table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Fastbooking, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Continentale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continentale Hotel Florence
Continentale Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing