We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury with aView”
Review of Continentale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Continentale
Ranked #43 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level Contributor
117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Luxury with aView”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel is not easy to get to. The centre of Florence is a maze of 1 way streets that even google maps can't cope with. However when we eventually found it, it was worth the search. We had a prestige room overlooking the Ponte Vecchio & the river. The hotel is very modern with the most amazing free wifi I've ever come across. Super fast and free.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, just find out exactly how to get to the hotel before you go , particularly if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biddz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PG C, Responsabile reception at Continentale, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear guest,

thanks so much for your appreciation for our services, design and in particular for the free wifi connection. I deeply understand that moving to Florence is not so easy because of the intricate system of roads. I hope, however, 'that once you reach our hotel you could appreciate the location.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    219
    45
    8
    13
See reviews for
79
482
27
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2014

What a wonderful property. Incredible staff that truly enjoys their work. Great style. The Relax room was perfect for resting tired legs and watching the river of people flowing across the Arno. I thought the location might be noisy but there is excellent soundproofing in the building. The attention to detail is fantastic, including the small laminated running route cards to take with you on a jog.

Room Tip: Corner room-3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 973Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PG C, Responsabile reception at Continentale, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear guest,
thank you very much for the appreciation of the Continental and the staff. We are particularly pleased to hear that we were able to be attentive to details, nuances, and I'm so happy this work arrived to you.
I hope to welcome you as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiku, Hawaii
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This place has a great sense of style. It's clean and modern and swanky. The staff was very helpful and friendly and we just love the fact that it was located in the heart of Florence.

We will definitely be abck!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anna k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PG C, Responsabile reception at Continentale, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Sirs,
let me thank you for your nice and important feedback about your stay in our property.
We are very glad that you enjoed and we hope to have the possibility to host again for your next holiday in florence!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rancho cucamonga, ca
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in October 2012 and it was one of the best times during my 12 night trip in Italy.

We came into the city via the train so we were happy that we could walk to/from the train station easily. We also appreciated being able to walk to many of the sights in the city. It's also walking distance to many great restaurants, gelato shops, and shopping.

Our room was extremely spacious, modern, clean, with amazing bathroom amenities. The only minor issue was we could hear our neighbor singing in the shower VERY CLEARLY but as long as that wasn't going on in the middle of the night we were fine.

The staff was helpful and friendly. We really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely recommend it.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank uscarrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PG C, Responsabile reception at Continentale, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Sirs,
please give us the opportunity to thank you for your important review! We are glad that you was facilitated during your stay for the location of the hotel, actually we are really close to the main attractions of the city and to many facilities.
We apologise for the noise you had from your room's neighbour, next time, if you decide to come again visiting us, we will give us a more private room.
We await for you..
Our best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

A design hotel located in central Florence with all attractions within a 10 minute walk if not couple minutes. We had a very warm welcome and were greeted with an upgrade to an Arno view room right over the ponte vecchio on the 5th floor. Noise levels did not disturb us as we were on a high floor.Rooms are spacious for Florence and the hotel offered us a welcome breakfast offer at €13 per person (half price) which we could use at the Gallery Hotel Art just opposite or the Lungarno Hotel. We enjoyed it more at the Gallery Hotel as it was less crowded and more relaxing. The roof terrace overlooks the Signioria which is quite captivating, however, typical of a hotel bar the prices were around €16 for a non-alcoholic drink.

The staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable which it was.

We would probably stay here again :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beiruteater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PG C, Responsabile reception at Continentale, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Sirs,
let me thank you for your precious review. We would like to let you know that guest's satisfaction is our priority and receiving a positive feedback is our best goal! It was a pleasure for us to give you an upgrade to a view room and we are glad you could enjoy a relaxing drink in our rooftop terrace!
We are anxiuos to have you here again in the future...
Our best regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

All the main sights and attractions of Florence are in a 1km radius of this boutique hotel located at the northern end of Ponte Vecchio. The décor of the hotel is warm and welcoming. Our room was cozy and spacious. The staff was always courteous and helpful. Concierge assisted us with our Chianti tour and more. We were a little surprised when we learned that they don’t serve breakfast at the hotel. However, they said that we can dine in either Gallery Art Hotel (10m from the entrance of the hotel) or Hotel Lungarno (just on the other side of Ponte Vecchio just on the river bank) which turned out to be a great alternative. The continental breakfast had a quite wide and nice selection. The iPad on the elevator was fun: new pictures of people everytime you ride it. There were some minor issues such as elevator breaking down and the daily not being able to connect to the wi-fi (was told because of the number of guests on the terrace trying to connect). However, overall we had a good time at the hotel.

PS: For those who are planning to drive to the hotel. Being located in the "pedestrian" area, the hotel doesn’t offer free parking. They work with a nearby garage which will charge you 35 EUR per day plus 5 EUR for each time you ask for your car.

Room Tip: Street noise may be in issue so ask for a room at a higher floor. You might even want to reconsider...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Can A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PG C, Responsabile reception at Continentale, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Sirs,
first of all let me thank you for your important review. We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to let you know that it was a big honour to host you in our property.
Please, give us the opportunity to apologize for the inconveniences you had with the lift and the wi-fi.
Regarding tha garage, I agree with you that is a little bit expensive the fees you have to pay for the valet service, but unfortunately, being in the real hearth of the city, no space for car is possible here.
Thanking you for the nice experience we had together, we hope to have you here again in the future..
Warmest Regards!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My daughter and I had a wonderfull time in Florence and @ the Continentale. Roof terrace with view on Oltarno and the river Arno is really awesome. The Continentale is a very nice boutique hotel. We cannot rate the quality of the breakfast; we chose to have breakfast near museams and art galleries. Know for sure we will come back :)

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter and higher floots have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anoniemms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PG C, Responsabile reception at Continentale, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Sirs,
first of all let me thank you for your very nice review! Your feedback is always important for us and we are glad to have contributed to make your stay so special.
Our rooftop is so beatuful, but what make it special is you host.
We hope to have you here again in the future...
Our Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Gallery Hotel Art
Gallery Hotel Art
#35 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#32 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#46 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
Hotel Lungarno
#15 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#14 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continentale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continentale

Property: Continentale
Address: Vicolo dell_Oro 6r, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Florence
#31 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#34 Family Hotel in Florence
#35 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#37 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Continentale 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant and dynamic yet romantic design and luxury hotel in Florence, beautifully evolved in the energy of the 50's. The Hotel Continentale is the place to see and be seen, a catwalk for fashion and desire in the heart of Florence. The elegant and inviting white colors chosen by Florentine architect Michele Bönan evoke harmony, simplicity, and fantasy. Discover refined design and attention to detail throughout this 4 star hotel in Florence near Arno, from handmade leather trunks used as a desk to witty clocks used as a side table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Fastbooking, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Continentale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continentale Hotel Florence
Continentale Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing