We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel heaven”
Review of Continentale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Continentale
Ranked #42 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Florence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel heaven”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Wonderful location. Wonderful rooms. Wonderful service. We had a great stay and will definitely come back here next time we are in Florence. Now keen to try out other hotels in the group in Europe. Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for really good accommodation in Florence.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kadie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PG C, Responsabile reception at Continentale, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Sirs,

we would like to thank you for your kind review. It is so important for us to receive your feedback..

We hope to host you again in our hotel or maybe in anotherone of our group..

Warmest regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    566
    228
    47
    9
    14
See reviews for
86
503
30
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roslyn, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

I spent 2 nights, here and had an amazing experience! Fresh, delicious, breakfast! Cool decor! Spacious rooms! Clean, new, beautiful hotel! The staff are very helpful, professional, and kind. Everything you could ask for in a hotel! Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing, and wonderful stay! :) :) :)
p.s. LOVE the creative elevators featuring, an iPad (to take selfies of course!) and the other one that includes a cushioned window seat with "windows", and a stool!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PG C, Responsabile reception at Continentale, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Sirs,
we would like to thank you for the time you spend reviewing your experience with us.
To undersatand from you we have contributed to make your holiday in Florence so enjoable is so important for us.
Our first purpose is to feel the client like at home and we hope to have reached this with you.
Maybe we will meet again in the future..
Our warmest regards!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This place is too cute and stylish to be true...the colors, the lighting, the furniture, the attention to details make this place a spot not to miss in Florence. Don't miss taking a picture of you and your friends in the elevator on the iPad built in the wall.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank Ruxandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PG C, Responsabile reception at Continentale, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Sirs,
let me thank you a lot for your very nice review of your experience with us.
It was a great pleasure to host you here and to understand from you you had a great stay with us that's our most important satisfaction.
So, we await again for your next trip in Florence!!
Our warmest regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I have stayed at this hotel and the Gallery Art. The hotel is clean and the staff are nice- not welcoming after check in and out. A lot of texting This time around, I thought the service slipped. The hotel places great emphasis on the rooftop bar.
I was disappointed that they did not have a fitness room, I thought they did went I looked it up. The best part is the location next to the Ponte de Vecchio. Very easy to sight see and return to the room to clean up. I don't know if I would stay here again- I would have to check other reviews.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jactravels1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PG C, Responsabile reception at Continentale, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Sirs,
please accept our regret for your not positive experience with us.
We are really sorry that you had the feeling that no-one takes care of you, trust me our first purpose is that you feel like at home and we have great care of all our guests.
We sincerely hope you will give us in the future the possibilty to show you our standards are not these.
Our best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

OK, I'm late on this review too! We stayed here in very late August 2013 at the end of a long trip around Italy and Greece. What a neat hotel to make the final stop. The hotel itself is very nicely done with a great aesthetic that carries into the room, which was spacious and at the same time both old-world and new world. Very comfortable all around.

Location-wise, this is a great base. While most of the city is easy to cover on foot, the central location of this hotel made it an easy escape back home for a rest when our feet were too sore from "museum walking" or exploring side-alleys. The staff were extremely helpful with restaurant recommendations (a challenge in late August). The rooftop bar gets busy but is definitely a great place to relax and hang out over a Aperol spritz after a long hot day of sightseeing. I thought the hotel was a real treat and the location can't be beat! (Being literally at the entrance to the Ponte Vecchio wasn't bad -- the entrance to the hotel is on the side and so made the hotel feel more removed from the crowds.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tribecaleblon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PG C, Responsabile reception at Continentale, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Sirs,
please let us thank you for your nice review and don't worry if it arrived 1 year later.. As we say: it is never too late!! Especially to learn about a guest feedback!
We are glad to know that was everything ok and comfortable and that you was able to deligh our local food even in a period when I know very well is not very easy to find good restaurants open!
Next August is very close and it will be our great pleasure to have you here again after 1 year! Why not?
Hope to see you soon,
Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level 6 Contributor
378 reviews
362 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 629 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We spent one night here as part of a large overseas wedding group, spread out over all four Ferragamo hotels in the center of Florence: Lungarno, Portrait, Continentale, Gallery Art hotel (in that order of my preference). All four hotels enjoy a quasi-monopolistic position around the Ponte Vecchio. The view from the Continentale's rooftop "La Terrazza" is the best evening location in town. One problem is the slow elevator though. All of the interior design of the Continentale is totally "Design Hotels", similar to the early Ian Schrager hotels in the US. A bit on the sensual, even on the feminine side, maybe. It is also the only hotel in the immediate vicinity with a spa. There is a very "in" bar on the 1st floor with great lounge areas. In fact, there is a dedicated "relax room" with daybeds for everyone: an excellent concept worth copying for other hotels. Our room was immaculate, with a great view on the Ponte Vecchio and the Arno river. Breakfast was only 3-4 stars. I am giving 5 stars overall as the service was outstanding, in general, and in particular, as I managed to leave behind my jacket with my passport, and the hotel was so kind to quickly inform me and to forward it to me by DHL. The wedding was successful too!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrophyCollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PG C, Responsabile reception at Continentale, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Sirs,
we thank you so much for your beautiful review!
We are so glad to know that we didn't disappoint your expectations. We would like to let you know that was a great pleasure for us to host you for the special wedding occasion and that we hope to have you here again in the future..
Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Outstanding hotel right in the center of Firenze and facing the Ponte Veccio. We received an upgrade (although this was our first stay) and because of this we had an amazing view on the Ponte Veccio and the river Arno. Rooms are stylish and extremely well equiped. Twice per day cleaning service including fresh towels and amenities.
Breakfast is cosy and in buffet style but special orders are accepted as well. On the roof there is an very nice and pleasant outdoor bar. Unfortunately sometimes a bid crowed not only by guests of the hotel. This is the only negative observation we can find. Staff is extremely friendly and very service minded. On simple demand they will recommend restaurants and will do the reservations for you always with a big smile.
We truly enjoyed our stay there and THANKS to the entire staff for making our stay unforgetable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PG C, Responsabile reception at Continentale, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Sirs,
please let me thank you for your important review about our hotel. You can't imagine how glad we are to learn you had a pleasant experience with us and we would like to let you know that was our pleasure to give you a free upgrade to a room with view. When this is possible it is something we are delight to do.
Concerning the crowded moments in the terrace, we agree with you, just to be taken in consideration this is very high season in Florence and the situation is everywhere very busy.
We hope to have the possibility to have you here again.
Our warmest regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Gallery Hotel Art
Gallery Hotel Art
#38 of 411 in Florence
1,007 reviews
Hotel Lungarno
#13 of 411 in Florence
1,204 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#32 of 411 in Florence
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#4 of 411 in Florence
513 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#48 of 411 in Florence
1,521 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 411 in Florence
2,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continentale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continentale

Property: Continentale
Address: Vicolo dell_Oro 6r, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Florence
#30 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#34 Family Hotel in Florence
#35 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#37 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Continentale 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant and dynamic yet romantic design and luxury hotel in Florence, beautifully evolved in the energy of the 50's. The Hotel Continentale is the place to see and be seen, a catwalk for fashion and desire in the heart of Florence. The elegant and inviting white colors chosen by Florentine architect Michele Bönan evoke harmony, simplicity, and fantasy. Discover refined design and attention to detail throughout this 4 star hotel in Florence near Arno, from handmade leather trunks used as a desk to witty clocks used as a side table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Continentale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continentale Hotel Florence
Continentale Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing