We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend”
Review of Continentale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Continentale
Ranked #32 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Continentale Hotel for a few days on my own before meeting up with my boyfriend. What a wonderful hotel! Great location, literally in a couple of steps and you are on the Ponte Vecchio! So central to everything which meant I could pop in and out during the day to cool down, get wifi or drop off shopping. The hotel itself was beautiful, every detail thought of. Bathrooms were perfection. My favourite part would have to be the terrace rooftop for drinks at sunset! My favourite place in Florence!! Heaven, with great views of Florence, the Duomo and the river Arno. The breakfast was simple but fresh and good quality. Service exceptional. Can't fault this hotel really, my only wish would be that they change the fluero lighting in the lift although it encouraged me to take the stairs more than normal which is never a bad thing! ;)

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico C, Manager at Continentale, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Jessica H,

what a wonderful feedback of yours! On behalf of all the hotel team and myself, we are delighted to hear you could have a wonderful experience with us.
The famous florentine architect Michele Bonan is the man behind the amazing design of our Lungarno Collection. In particular, the material he used for the bathrooms is the Corian. This material combined with his design, our Courtesy Line Tuscan Soul by Salvatore Ferragamo, the stylish furnitre and the gentle wood really make your hotel room a day-dream gateway nestled two steps from Arno River.

Should you need future assistance with your reservation or you are interested in knowing more about our architecture and our other hotels, feel free to write us at continentale@lungarnocollection.com.
Looking forward to hear from you,

best regards
Federico
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (964)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 964 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

We were greater with an immediate upgrade to the penthouse suite.No complaints!
Lovely hand written welcome note and really helpful staff. The hotel is very chic with a great rest room with day beds looking out at the action on the Ponte Vecchio .
A wonderful stay in Florence at a beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Hotel Continentale. The location could not be better. The roof top is fantastic and a great place to retreat for a drink for an hour or in the afternoon. And the view-nothing less than spectacular.

The staff were incredibly friendly and always helpful and the rooms stylish and extremely comfortable. We'd certainly not think twice about staying again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank nb1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico C, Manager at Continentale, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear NB1969,

thank you for sharing your beautiful comment about Hotel Continentale.
I took time to share it with my team. They are excited they could help you in creating a good memory to take back to Australia!
Thank you so much for visiting us and should you plan to come back here at Continentale or in one of our sister property, please feel free to contact us any time at continentale@lungarnocollection.com.

With our warmest regards
Federico
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This is truly a mixed feelings hotel at the maximum. The design and feel of the hotel are just great and something completely different. The rooms are excellent and very well furnished. However, the organization (or I would rather say not) is laughable for a luxurious hotel like this. When you enter the lobby you are confronted with some very distressed fellow hotel guests. The check-in is confusing and disorganized. The elevator can only be entered with the hotel key, but you have to find your own room. Going upstairs you see confused hotel guests wondering around with suitcases. Rooms are mixed up. We ordered a three bed-room room and it was mixed up with our other rooms. Confusion, confusion. This is not worthy of a luxurious hotel of 400 Euro per night +. If you are used too high service in an expensive hotel avoid this one. If you like something else (in a good sense of the word), try it. OK, this is it for the bad part. The good part is the hotel is surprisingly well decorated with a lot of surprises. It just feels great. The beds are wonderful and it is quiet.The location probably the best. You have to see the view from the roof top terras! I mean it is one of the best. Drinks are ridiculously expensive, but the bartender makes a good cocktail. Although the Falwty Tower feeling is too high for this kind of hotel, I would still recommend it, just because it is modern and different and the feeling is great and the roof top bar is just one of the best.

Room Tip: Rooms are more or less the same. Just some advice on getting there by car. This is a disaster. TIP...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HV1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico C, Manager at Continentale, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear HV1963,

I truly regret that you had the feeling of a disorganized stay on your recent visit.
Continentale is a contemporary pleasing hotel, an eclectic design and a boutique atmosphere make our hotel more like a home rather than a traditional hotel.
Indeed you liked the design, but with disappointment we acknowledge that our unconventional welcome desk may not have met your expectations.
We would like to invite to contact us directly should you need further assistance with any future reservations, either at Continentale or in one of our sister properties by Lungarno Collection.
It will be a pleasure to help you design the tailored experience that best fits your expectations of a unique stay in the heart of Florence.

Looking forward to hear back from you,
our warmest regards
Federico
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We were sold on Hotel Continentale as soon as we saw a picture of their rooftop bar, La Terrazza and we were not disappointed. Positioned literally right next to the Ponte Vecchio and within very easy walking distance of virtually every significant site in Florence, this was a stylish and modern boutique hotel. Our room was well appointed and had amazing views of the bridge and down the river and staff were kind, helpful and happy to help us with rental cars and restaurants.

Room Tip: Try for a room a few floors up to avoid any tourist chatter and of course ask for a room overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicolaAlpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federico C, Manager at Continentale, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear NicolaAlpe,

thank you for sharing your feedback in regards to your recent stay at Continentale.
Our team and I, we are delighted to hear you had the chance to enjoy an unforgettable view from the rooftop bar La Terrazza and from your room as well.
Next time should you plan to come to Florence again, please feel free to write us at continental@lungarnocollection.com to make sure you may choose a higher floor.
Hoping to have again the opportunity to let you live another contemporary pleasing experience,

our warmest regards
Federico
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

It's a great place to stay in Florence. You cannot get more central, the rooms are clean and well appointed (ask for river view), very nice roof top bar. Great reception and bar staff. A comment for drivers - GPS navigators of car hire firms misplace the hotel and show the wrong route, so look it up on-line in advance.

Room Tip: River view rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ElenaNiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PG C, Responsabile reception at Continentale, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Sirs,
please let us thank you for your precious review about your stay in our hotel.
We are so glad you have been gratified from your experience you had with us.
We hope, if you come back in Florence, you decide to come and visit us again, it will be a very great pleasure for all our staff..
Our Warmest Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The rooms in this hotel are stunning! Beautiful visually with lovely ammenities, spacious bathrooms and fabulous bed linens and pillows. Just perfect!
The staff at the front desk were always helpful and willing to go above and beyond to accommodate our needs, whether it be dinner reservations or train tickets.
One word of caution, they tend to recommend the very touristic restaurants and forget to mention the little, local, gems.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thebearoness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PG C, Responsabile reception at Continentale, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Sirs,
we thank you so much for your kind review.. it is so important to hear from you you had a great experience with us.
We regret that you had the feeling the desk suggested touristic places to dine, just because one of our first purpose is to address our clients to local restaurants where they can breathe tuscan air..
We hope you will give us a second possibility next time you decide to come in Florence.
Our best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Gallery Hotel Art
Gallery Hotel Art
#40 of 409 in Florence
1,070 reviews
Hotel Lungarno
#11 of 409 in Florence
1,267 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#33 of 409 in Florence
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#5 of 409 in Florence
563 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 409 in Florence
2,858 reviews
Duomo
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continentale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continentale

Address: Vicolo dell_Oro 6r, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Florence
#27 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#34 Family Hotel in Florence
#35 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#37 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £186 - £464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Continentale 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant and dynamic yet romantic design and luxury hotel in Florence, beautifully evolved in the energy of the 50's. The Hotel Continentale is the place to see and be seen, a catwalk for fashion and desire in the heart of Florence. The elegant and inviting white colors chosen by Florentine architect Michele Bönan evoke harmony, simplicity, and fantasy. Discover refined design and attention to detail throughout this 4 star hotel in Florence near Arno, from handmade leather trunks used as a desk to witty clocks used as a side table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Continentale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continentale Hotel Florence
Continentale Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing