We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, romantic boutique hotel in the centre of Florence”
Review of Continentale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Continentale
Ranked #42 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect, romantic boutique hotel in the centre of Florence”
Reviewed 19 February 2009

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for a short break over Valentines Day 2009. It is in a very central location, right by the Ponte Vecchio - and some rooms (even the cheapest rooms) have a view out over the Arno river. The public areas have a very relaxed, boutique feel, with interesting art and a real sense of style. The bedrooms match this - modern, quirky decor with Italian flair throughout. One of the best city centre hotels I have ever stayed in. Highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthLondoner1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    566
    228
    47
    9
    14
See reviews for
86
503
30
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2009

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Continentale. Great location, decor and staff.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank tcbinbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2009

This hotel would have to be my favourite in the whole world (and I've stayed at A LOT of hotels!). My husband and I stayed here during a trip to Florence earlier this month.

This is a small boutique hotel which is part of the Lungarno group (owned by the Ferragamo family). The hotel is very centrally located right near the Ponte Vecchio, and from here you can walk to anywhere in the city, paritcularly the galleries and museums.

The room we stayed at was huge and very clean - and BEAUTIFUL. It was not a suite but definitely did not look like a 'classic' (cheapest room) that we booked. The room had a king size bed and was set over 2 levels. The first level is the bedroom and on a mezzanine is the bathroom and changeroom (separate) and balcony with a view of the Arno.

The hotel staff were so friendly and nice. Check-in was a breeze, as was checking out. They happily booked things for us when we asked. And no, we were not charged for this service like other reviewers were.

Our stay at this hotel was absolutely perfect and I would definitely stay here again if I go back to Florence.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank corky_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich / Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2008

This was once again a property that met all my expectations! Very friendly staff, excellent location, great design, roof top garden and views to die for...
We spent a few days in Florence after relaxing a week in the rural Tuscany. What an excellent choice of hotel - exactly what we were looking for, something right in the center of the city with everything in walking distance. I would go there again anytime.
A further positive is the valet parking service that they offer - otherwise parking can be an issue in central Florence.

  • Liked — Staff, design and location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maddog2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippines
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2008

We spent a few nights in the sister property of Continentale in Rome. We were looking forward to our stay since we loved the Portrait suites. Upon checking we were informed that we were upgraded to a bigger room .... it was a great start. Although the room is smaller compared to Portrait suites it made up with the view of the the Arno river and Ponte Vecchio. Location is perfect since most of the sites were nearby.

Im a bit biased with the service since i just came from the other Lungarno property where the service was impeccable. The service at Continentale was a bit cold if not a bit standoffish at times. It was very robotic and lacked the warmth you would expect to receive from a small property.

I would stay here again for the location and the view.

  • Liked — view and location
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank inked_chef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2008

Just back from a romantic week-end getaway to Firenze with my husband. We were very pleased by our choice to stay at the Continentale. The room (503) was a very small Deluxe but with incredible fashion design. The price of €300 per night plus tax was quite alright for what we got. We particularly loved the view over the Arno river and the ponte vecchio (shame there are no balconys in the hotel but in the warmer season - closed from 3 November - the stunning roof top terrace takes care of that). We had 3 days of warm sunny weather and thought it was a shame they had already closed the terrace...

The buffet breakfast was on promotion at €12 instead of €25 per person so we had it. It was a good, standard choice - not exceptional The reception staff was very helpful and always smiling. They helped us with all our requests for restaurant bookings, taxi, etc. The hotel has a sophisticated television system through the internet and we experienced problems. In fact, our TV did not work. at all. This was not a problem for us as we enjoyed the city instead... In any case, the problem was not repairable and we were offered to move to another room at 11pm. We declined because didn't really care about the TV. Nice to offer though.

The hotel is really situated very central, convenient to historical sites, lots of restaurants, shopping area etc, and the view is the best. For a 4 star hotel I was a bit disappointed they only had slippers and no bath robes in the room. This may be something they should look into especially as there is a fitness room and sauna in the basement. Much easier to use if there's a robe to slide into before heading down...

Would we return? Probably. Or we might try one of the other Lungarno hotels , property of the Ferragamo family. We visited the "Lungarno Hotel" across the river - it was also very nice but different - decorated in a more classical, cosy, way. Design freaks should go for the Continentale.

  • Liked — Location, View over the river.
  • Disliked — No bath robes in room.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel0h0lic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2008

Overall this is a great hotel - cutting edge / modern design and one of the most convenient and nice locations you could wish for. However, our stay was marred by a few issues. Firstly, the hotel charges you an additional booking fee (per person!) for any museum reservations they make for you. Given that we were paying close to E300/night I would think that the courtesy/service of making a simple museum booking (which lets face it, involves them making a quick call) would be included. What is more insulting is that they didn't even inform me that they would charge extra for this (had I known, I could easily pick up the phone and do it myself - as I did with another museum anyway - museum people all speak English so language is not an issue). Also, be careful of ironing - they don't give irons (I HATE when hotels do this) and then charge you over E20 to iron 2 basic items. Rip-off! Overall, I cannot fault the style, cleanliness, location. It's a shame about the rest.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Gallery Hotel Art
Gallery Hotel Art
#38 of 411 in Florence
1,007 reviews
Hotel Lungarno
#13 of 411 in Florence
1,204 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#32 of 411 in Florence
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#4 of 411 in Florence
513 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#48 of 411 in Florence
1,521 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 411 in Florence
2,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continentale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continentale

Property: Continentale
Address: Vicolo dell_Oro 6r, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Florence
#30 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#34 Family Hotel in Florence
#35 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#37 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Continentale 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant and dynamic yet romantic design and luxury hotel in Florence, beautifully evolved in the energy of the 50's. The Hotel Continentale is the place to see and be seen, a catwalk for fashion and desire in the heart of Florence. The elegant and inviting white colors chosen by Florentine architect Michele Bönan evoke harmony, simplicity, and fantasy. Discover refined design and attention to detail throughout this 4 star hotel in Florence near Arno, from handmade leather trunks used as a desk to witty clocks used as a side table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Continentale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continentale Hotel Florence
Continentale Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing