We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - nice hotel - small rooms”
Review of Continentale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Continentale
Ranked #35 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Westport, CT
1 review
“Great location - nice hotel - small rooms”
Reviewed 8 October 2009

The hotel was very well located and some rooms had great views. The staff was good and the hotel and rooms were very clean and in good repair. The rooms were on the smaller side and the elevator was also very small. Bathrooms were nice and the shower was of a very good size. Everything was modern.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WPCTResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    230
    47
    9
    14
See reviews for
92
521
32
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire, england
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2009

A lovely hotel with a light bright modern decor. I had a large room - beautifully decorated with a huge bed, great bathroom, tv, cd player, internet connection, walk-in closet. The staff were friendly, professional and always happy to help. The location is brilliant - about ten steps from Ponte Vecchio, a few minutes' walk from the Uffizi gallery and 10-15 minutes' walk from the main train and bus stations - which makes it also convenient for trips elsewhere, e.g. to Pisa and Siena.
Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikki044044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2009

We loved our trip to Italy and the Continentale was our favorite hotel for the whole trip! The location can't be beat and we were able to walk to everything we wanted to see (ie. Uffizi, Accadamia, Pitti etc... The rooms modern feel was a nice relief to come back to after all of the art and architecture of Florence. You felt recharged for the next day. Lots of great places to eat close too. The bed was comfortable and the room was bigger than you might expect. We had room #205 which had a cute little balcony with a view of the river and a small staircase leading up to the bathroom that added some interest to the room itself. The reading room overlooking the ponte vechico was a great place to relax. You can't go wrong with this hotel. Only downside was breakfast was not included in our price.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5LolaBeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

We stayed at this super boutique hotel at the beginning of September. It was perfect for our first visit to Florence as it was very central. In fact it is right by the Ponte Vecchio and the whole town can be covered on foot from here. The room was very contemporary, stunning, super bathroom and very comfy bed. We can recommend room 501. The rooftop bar is a must. The member of staff who was on duty to greet us was exceptional. The only downside maybe is the breakfast. It is 25 euros per person but was on a promotional price at 12 euros while we were there. But even though we only wanted breakfast on one of the two mornings we were told that because it was a promotion we would be charged for both mornings and no budging on that one. We had breakfast nearby but in future will know better to walk further away from the hotel and stop at one of the many little coffee houses and stand at the bar with the locals. In these bars coffee is about 1 euro as opposed to 5 euros near the hotel. Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2009

Loved the Continentale. I have stayed at a few boutique hotels around Italy and the Continentale was a true boutique hotel. The rooms were gorgeous, featured a walk in closet, internet, beautiful sliding door bathroom with a separate rainfall shower and everything was impeccably clean. The hotel featured a rooftop bar and the sister hotel across the street had a lovely outdoor cocktail bar as well. The concierge recommended a modern and delicious nearby restaurant (called Golden View Open Bar.) The location was great, right on the Arno and close enough to walk to all shopping and sightseeing destinations. One downfall - the breakfast was not included and a little expensive.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rbos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2009

Ideal location for exploring Florence. Rooms were very comfortable and well appointed and drinks on the rooftop terrace are a must.

Tips: If you want a coffee and croissant in the local cafes, eat at the bar. If you sit at a table, the cost triples!. Taxis are very expensive (12 Euros for a 3 minute ride to the train station). On the trains, remember to validate your ticket before boarding. Seems there is little sympathy for dum tourists and fines are issued with a smile.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northeast
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2009

The location of this hotel was probably the best[place to be in Florence. The room was a good size with a comfortable bed. Bathroom equally as comfortable. The roof deck bar has great views and great service. The negative on this hotel is the breakfast, and as a result I would never go back. It cost me 25 (apx 35 US) Euros for a bowl of cereal and a cappuccino. When I talked to the man in charged he said he explained the rates on the way in. Basically, if I got the breakfast for all 3 days it would have been 12 Euro a day, otherwise 25! No room for negotiation with this "man".

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baribig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Gallery Hotel Art
Gallery Hotel Art
#38 of 412 in Florence
1,021 reviews
Hotel Lungarno
#13 of 412 in Florence
1,211 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#33 of 412 in Florence
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#48 of 412 in Florence
1,532 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#4 of 412 in Florence
519 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 412 in Florence
2,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continentale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continentale

Property: Continentale
Address: Vicolo dell_Oro 6r, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Florence
#29 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#34 Family Hotel in Florence
#35 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#37 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Continentale 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vibrant and dynamic yet romantic design and luxury hotel in Florence, beautifully evolved in the energy of the 50's. The Hotel Continentale is the place to see and be seen, a catwalk for fashion and desire in the heart of Florence. The elegant and inviting white colors chosen by Florentine architect Michele Bönan evoke harmony, simplicity, and fantasy. Discover refined design and attention to detail throughout this 4 star hotel in Florence near Arno, from handmade leather trunks used as a desk to witty clocks used as a side table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Continentale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continentale Hotel Florence
Continentale Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing