We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this place!”
Review of Hotel Cellai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Cellai
Ranked #82 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Perfectly located, quirkily decorated and furnished, comfortable and relaxed hotel which is a feast for the eyes! Nooks, crannies, photos and books galore. And the nicest 'honesty bar' I've seen. Some travel/tourist info on Firenze/Florence in the room(s) would have been helpful but overall I can't wait to return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    252
    88
    44
    13
See reviews for
164
397
38
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We had a great time at Cellai Hotel. Lovely decoration, clean cosy and quite room. Nice sleep. Breakfast is great: lots of good food. The home made cake is excellent. We had american coffee and italian cappuccino. The library is amazing. We also enjoyed the roof top terrace. The staf is nice, helpful and friendly. Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maria c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I liked this hotel when I walked in. I like old and established. Our room was welcoming.The beds were done in white linens, there were hardwood floors, and best of all, lots of light to read by. Art on the walls on every floor, lining every hallway. And for a tired traveler eager to escape the crowded streets, a rooftop terrace that was, even though a little funky, a delight at the end of the day. It has day beds with pillows and it's quiet. Great place for a glass of wine at twilight. It even has an "honesty bar."
But if several ample elevators are important, look elsewhere. The sole elevator holds just four people. It moves quite quickly though.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This is a small hotel in a very good location, close to all beautiful places in the heart of Florence that you are interested to visit. We walked everywhere without ever using public transportation or taxis. The staff is very helpful and breakfast excellent. The double room was clean, though a bit small for two guests. It could also use some upgrading and more attention though. No information was provided in the room and calling the front desk a challenge!

Room Tip: Don't go for the room close to the elevator, This is a popular hotel with many tourists coming a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haideh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budaörs, Pest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The double room was nice, but a little bit small. For two people it would be far too tight.
For one person the price was too high, Next time I would definitely not choose this hotel, but I was tighed to a meeting at the sight.
Courtains are difficult to handle.
Had a number of moquitoes in the night.
The lounges are very nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdrienFonagy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

A myriad of sitting rooms throughout the hotel where guests can gather to talk or read. Beautiful music piped in and an honesty bar with a variety of wines and liquors. The breakfast is delicious and full of healthy as well as decadent choices. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itisjaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Sept 8
Close to all attraction in walking distance. Hotel had some challenges room was like a shoe box, it took two days for hotel to fix shower hose that was to short to fit in its wall holder, in other words I had to hold the shower head while my wife washed her hair, different but fun too. No info in room for guest services and the door needed to be secured a couple of time before locking. Bed was very hard.
Breakfast was simple...and service was a challenge. We often felt like we were bothering them.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoutiqueHotel_Cellai, Owner at Hotel Cellai, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Sir,

We apology for delay in fixing your shower with our usual speed. Getting mantainance on sunday is very difficult in Italy, and expecially in Florence. The shower of your room is now perfectly working.

The size of your room was perfectly described in your reservation as you booked one of the less expensive ones. We only got 3 rooms on this category. Of course all the other rooms have a different size and can be booked adding a little difference.

We look forward seeing you at Cellai Hotel again in order to enjoy a stay in one of our new luxurious suites.

Best regards,

Fiammetta Cellai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#45 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#72 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Rivoli Boutique Hotel
#71 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#47 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#62 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
San Lorenzo
Mercure Firenze Centro
Mercure Firenze Centro
#94 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cellai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cellai

Property: Hotel Cellai
Address: Via Ventisette Aprile N. 14, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Florence
#49 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#83 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#101 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cellai 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the comfortable sitting room with fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, ACCOR, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cellai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cellai Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing