We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in good location”
Review of Hotel Cellai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Cellai
Ranked #85 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire, England
Level Contributor
91 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in good location”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We enjoyed our weekend stay at this Hotel. It's about a 10 minute walk from the station and then you can walk to the Duomo in about 10 minutes. We saw all of the sights of Florence on foot, as it is quite a compact city. We had a standard room on an upper floor facing the road. The double glazing meant there was no noise in the room. The bathroom was a bit small, but to be fair it does say this on the web site and it was perfectly OK. Breakfast was fine, the staff friendly. Overall good value and well located and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian-SK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    256
    90
    46
    14
See reviews for
168
402
40
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ko Samui, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I've spent a couple of days in this wonderful boutique hotel. Everything was perfect. The hotel has a very cozy atmosphere and I had the feeling to be at home even though I actually wasn't... The staff was nice, polite and very helpful. The breakfast was full of mouthwatering things like cakes, croissants and so on it was really great! The bedroom was cozy, clean and like the whole hotel it was really well decorated.
Hoping to come back soon I highly recommend this hote!!!

Room Tip: Very quite, clean and well decorated rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This hotel is an easy 10 minute walk from everything, central train station, market, Duomo, etc...
The hotel itself is exactly what you would expect from a boutique hotel, cute, small and well maintained.
The rooftop patio was a bonus for us after a long day walking and biking around it was nice to relax with a cold drink and read in the quiet of Florence!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EcstaticTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I was booked in to the Cellai for a visit in January 2014 for a business trip to Florence for two nights, and I took two extra nights for pleasure. The hotel is absolutely delightful, with a large number of antiques giving it masses of character. The room was very quiet and also had plenty of character and good facilities. Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The bar in the library which operates as an honesty bar when not staff was a great place to relax with a book. It is the nicest hotel by far in which I have stayed in central Florence. As the booking was made though an institution I assume there was a discount; the price I paid for my extra nights was extremely good value. The hotel will be my first choice in Florence in the future.

Room Tip: My room was at the back and there was no noise at all once the aircond fan was turned off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 112TonyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Very good hotel with nice location. very clean and staff is ok. I liked it very much. In this hotel u really can imagine that u are in 18 century hanks to unusual design in barocco style! My father, aunt, me and my niece liked it

Room Tip: ask baldachinos
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gulzhan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Stay here twice a year during trade shows, and it is always great staying here. Super nice clean quite rooms. Where previous stays at different hotels in Florence always have been a bit of a disappointment, Cellai has never. Also a bit addicted to Shauna's lovely service. She always looks after us perfectly and arranges everything we need, thank you so much Shauna!

Room Tip: Any room really. Stayed in 8 different rooms now, all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrissouren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holt, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This hotel is quite lovely .The Hotel Celiai is a short walk from the Duomo Cathedral,and a few minutes away from the Academia Gallery (with Michelangelo's David). The rooms are spacious and clean. Your day begins with a lovely and fresh breakfast. I cannot speak highly enough about the staff, the service was impeccable. They were genuinely warm and made you feel at home in this charming hotel. One person in particular that was truly exceptional and a true asset, is Shonna who works at the front desk. She is an angel who we will always be grateful to for all she did to help us on our family vacation in Florence . She went beyond the call of duty in helping us, and sent us to some of the best restaurants (we ate at during our entire stay in Italy)and sites in Florence. I am grateful that we stayed at this charming hotel and were fortunate to be so well taken care of . I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichiganMaven417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#47 of 422 in Florence
1,118 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Gallo Palace
Hotel San Gallo Palace
#56 of 422 in Florence
2,104 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#45 of 422 in Florence
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#64 of 422 in Florence
1,604 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#81 of 422 in Florence
823 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel River
Hotel River
#93 of 422 in Florence
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cellai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cellai

Property: Hotel Cellai
Address: Via Ventisette Aprile N. 14, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Florence
#51 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#83 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#101 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cellai 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the comfortable sitting room with fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, ACCOR, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Cellai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cellai Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing